DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 6 of 203 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 56 106 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 2025
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

  1. Chief Droid Scientist
    MotoCache1's Avatar
    Member #
    83203
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    530
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    A855 / MB810
    #51
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    I've heard a few back-channel reports that this is working better than the original SPRecovery SBF did for some people who tried it when they were running 2.1. VERY good job, MotoCache!
    Cool! The one thing that I really like about it is that, on my machine, it takes like 15 seconds from the time I press "Start" to the time the phone reboots. Man, you gotta be ready for that...
    Droid 1 - the "unbrickable" droid.
    FRG22D - stock, rooted, ChevyNo1 LV 1.1GHz kernel, SetCPU 2.0.2, Superuser 2.3.6.1

    Droid X, Droid 2, Droid 2 Global (Band Unlocked), Droid Pro Global (Band Unlocked)

    Recommended reading for newbies: How to ask questions the smart way
  2. Droid Newbie
    giant mechanical brain's Avatar
    Member #
    109133
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #52
    So I am using XP and when I run RSDLite it can never find my phone even after setting it to first come first serve setting. What am I doing wrong?

    edit: figured it out, I am a moron and never installed the drivers....
    Last edited by giant mechanical brain; 08-25-2010 at 12:59 AM.
  3. Master Droid
    ShowTime's Avatar
    Member #
    31398
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    534
    Phone
    Has that newly rooted smell...
    #53
    Nice work Moto! Now comes the challenge of not getting fired at work tomorrow when I spend the entire day messing around with roms and themes and and and.....
  4. Junior Droid
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    60638
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    15
    Phone
    Droid
    #54
    I have gone through every write-up that I have run across and and still running into the same issue. Prior to the Verizon attempt at upgrading to 2.2, I was happily running BB 0.4 ROM with no issues. I even upgraded the ROM a couple of times to later versions.

    Although I would occasionally get the message for the 2.2 upgrade, I would ignore it. Recently, I decided I wanted to change my ROM to Frozen Yogurt, and started attempted to get into the bootloader menu re-powering while pressing X. All that did we constantly keep displaying the M logo, but would not boot. Once I let go of X, then it booted just fine into BB 0.4

    I then decided to do the SPRecover mode using the files that I listed on the first page of this thread. I am running Windows 7 virtualized under Virtualbox. I have checked to make sure that RSD has administrative rights. Everytime I attempt to load SPRecover, it seem to start correctly, until it is time to do the re-enumeration at which point it fails.

    I am not a Windows person, so maybe I don't have the admin rights set correctly? Cuold someone give me a pointer on what I might be doing wrong? Just trying to get to another ROM before the turn of the year.

    Thanks
  5. Banned
    gavron's Avatar
    Member #
    32757
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    555
    Phone
    VZW Moto Droid + N900 ;)
    #55
    Flash SPrecovery from console.

    Flash a real ROM (not any VZW OTA ROM).

    Enjoy.

    E
  6. Master Droid
    crspang's Avatar
    Member #
    16040
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    692
    Phone
    DROID
    #56
    Quote Originally Posted by giant mechanical brain View Post
    So I am using XP and when I run RSDLite it can never find my phone even after setting it to first come first serve setting. What am I doing wrong?

    edit: figured it out, I am a moron and never installed the drivers....

    HaHa I did the exact same thing! I was dumbfounded for an hour while I searched for a solution, then I went back and read the directions line by line. Doh!
  7. Junior Droid
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    60638
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    15
    Phone
    Droid
    #57
    I am not sure if that message was to me, but now time for an update. There is a reason why one virtualizes Windows. It is because no one should waste a decent machine on a problem OS.

    Switching over to my handy ubuntu box, in a matter of seconds, SPRecovery was loaded on my phone. The issue came up with I attempted to load MotoCache's update.zip. It failed saying I was blocked from updating. When I REBOOTED, I was back to a very vanilla Bugless Beast 0.4. Keep in mind that I wiped user and cache data. Tried this several time and realized I am stuck with BB 0.4. Thank goodness for a nandroid backup.

    So how does one do an update without being blocked? Afterall, FY or Chevy is calling my name!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. Chief Droid Scientist
    MotoCache1's Avatar
    Member #
    83203
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    530
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    A855 / MB810
    #58
    Quote Originally Posted by kcallis View Post
    I am not sure if that message was to me, but now time for an update. There is a reason why one virtualizes Windows. It is because no one should waste a decent machine on a problem OS.

    Switching over to my handy ubuntu box, in a matter of seconds, SPRecovery was loaded on my phone. The issue came up with I attempted to load MotoCache's update.zip. It failed saying I was blocked from updating. When I REBOOTED, I was back to a very vanilla Bugless Beast 0.4. Keep in mind that I wiped user and cache data. Tried this several time and realized I am stuck with BB 0.4. Thank goodness for a nandroid backup.

    So how does one do an update without being blocked? Afterall, FY or Chevy is calling my name!
    Fortunately, you are quite close and it sounds like you're just missing a simple step.

    But, before I tell you what to do, did you use sbf_flash on your Ubuntu box? Just curious as I've not used it yet and if that's what you used, it's good to know it actually works.

    The only "blocked" I can think of that you'd get in SPRecovery would be if you skipped this step:
    15. Now highlight "Allow update.zip Installation" and choose it. [It will appear to do nothing -- that's normal. If you're unsure if you clicked it or not, choose it twice, it won't hurt.]
    As far as what you had after rebooting, if all you did was flash SPRecovery, and your rooting install didn't go, then nothing else changed on your phone that would affect your BB.

    Let me know (on both counts -- if the above fixes you and if you used sbf_flash).
    Droid 1 - the "unbrickable" droid.
    FRG22D - stock, rooted, ChevyNo1 LV 1.1GHz kernel, SetCPU 2.0.2, Superuser 2.3.6.1

    Droid X, Droid 2, Droid 2 Global (Band Unlocked), Droid Pro Global (Band Unlocked)

    Recommended reading for newbies: How to ask questions the smart way
  9. Banned
    gavron's Avatar
    Member #
    32757
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    555
    Phone
    VZW Moto Droid + N900 ;)
    #59
    sbf_flash doesn't work on my 64-bit Ubuntu box. It "error 16"s twice and fails to detect the phone.

    I don't have any 32-bit installations to test with...

    E
  10. Chief Droid Scientist
    MotoCache1's Avatar
    Member #
    83203
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    530
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    A855 / MB810
    #60
    Quote Originally Posted by gavron View Post
    sbf_flash doesn't work on my 64-bit Ubuntu box. It "error 16"s twice and fails to detect the phone.

    I don't have any 32-bit installations to test with...
    You guys are just going to make me get off my butt and build a Ubuntu VM to play with aren't you? I need to do it anyway so I have a place to run the ARM cross compiler to compile kernels and such. Sigh.
    Droid 1 - the "unbrickable" droid.
    FRG22D - stock, rooted, ChevyNo1 LV 1.1GHz kernel, SetCPU 2.0.2, Superuser 2.3.6.1

    Droid X, Droid 2, Droid 2 Global (Band Unlocked), Droid Pro Global (Band Unlocked)

    Recommended reading for newbies: How to ask questions the smart way
Page 6 of 203 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 56 106 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 04:34 PM
  2. Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version/Rm
    By ksbell0906 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 04:52 PM
  3. Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version
    By MotoCache1 in forum Rescue Squad Guides
    Replies: 413
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 04:07 PM

Search tags for this page

droid 1 root

,
how to root a droid 1
,

how to root droid 1

,
how to root droid1
,
motocache1 root
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root regardless droidforums
,

rooting droid 1

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+