DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 138 of 203 FirstFirst ... 3888128136137138139140148188 ... LastLast
Results 1,371 to 1,380 of 2025
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

  1. Junior Droid
    brian67t's Avatar
    Member #
    56042
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Rooted! using UltimDroid 2.5
    So, here is my question... Is there a way to see ALL the apps in Market? I am asking because I have recently rooted (via this thread) and just found out my bank has a "mobile banking" app. That is great and I could really use it, but it doesnt show up in marketplace. I dont know if it is because of having rooted or because I have an old "alltel" plan with verizon, not one of their (much more expensive) plans. Anyway, the app I need is named "Mobile banking for android" and was developed/published by a company named "Firethorn". It is supposedly a "locked app" whatever that means. I figured I would post this here because Motocache1 definately seems to know his stuff and a lot of the other really "squared away" developers and troubleshooters seem to keep tabs on this thread as well. I guess I could restore 2.2.1, and see if I can get the app then, but being a noob to rooting I really dont want to have to do that. Besides, if we can "root" our phones why shouldnt we be able to search ALL of the Google Apps in Marketplace INSTEAD of just the ones "google thinks we might want"?
  2. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    You'll need to modify your build.prop file. There are instructions elsewhere for doing this. Good luck!
  3. Senior Droid
    ypsichick's Avatar
    Member #
    69862
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Western KY and W. Los Angeles 3 miles from the beach @ Santa Monica
    Posts
    113
    Phone
    verizon droid 2.2

    Unhappy rooting Droid 1

    Just tried your procedure and got to the final screen "The install should run to conclusion pretty quickly. When it's done it should look like this. If it does, congratulations, you're done. You're rooted with busybox, SPRecovery, and your FRS is now disabled so you won't revert back to stock recovery the next time you boot the OS. Enjoy!" Then my phone froze, I finally had to force close, pull the usb and pull the battery.

    Phone is still stock, I know because I tried to install Titanium Back Up
    said it was not rooted. How long should I have waited would the phone have rebooted or returned to my desktop?

    Everything said it was finished and complete?
  4. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    When did it freeze?

    when you were in recovery? or when you rebooted after you applied the update.zip?

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  5. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    We got her running in a gtalk chat. It was right after the update.zip install.
  6. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    We got her running in a gtalk chat. It was right after the update.zip install.
    Well excuse me!

    Sent from my A855 using Tapatalk

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  7. Senior Droid
    ypsichick's Avatar
    Member #
    69862
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Western KY and W. Los Angeles 3 miles from the beach @ Santa Monica
    Posts
    113
    Phone
    verizon droid 2.2
    FBA...Droid does...Thanks so much for the assist! Backed out to the reboot and it came back "rooted" if I remember correctly.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. What iDoesn't
    Droid DOES!!'s Avatar
    Member #
    77093
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    47 times
    Phone
    Rezound and Bionic
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    Quote Originally Posted by ypsichick View Post
    FBA...Droid does...Thanks so much for the assist! Backed out to the reboot and it came back "rooted" if I remember correctly.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    We're here to help! FBM is my go to guy when something is needed in recovery
    "If you think you know everything, you can't learn anything." -Robert Morris

    If you like my work or I have helped you out and you would like to help me keep the lights on, it is greatly appreciated!!
    http://bit.ly/ro3alQ
  9. Junior Droid
    edlentz's Avatar
    Member #
    81460
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Motorola Droid

    I can't get update.zip to work

    I followed the procedure to root a Droid1 to the letter, I mounted the SDcard , hit the Allow, highlighted the install update.zip then it couldn't find the file nor another file something like mmc...zip

    I did the whole procedure twice with the same results. I have FRG83D

    Android version 2.2.1

    Did I do something wrong
    Thanks
  10. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    Why did you mount the SD card? And did you rename the file update.zip as specified in the instructions? If you can't find the file and you put it on the root of the SD card then it's missnamed.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 04:34 PM
  2. Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version/Rm
    By ksbell0906 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 04:52 PM
  3. Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version
    By MotoCache1 in forum Rescue Squad Guides
    Replies: 413
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 04:07 PM

Search tags for this page

droid 1 root

,
how to root a droid 1
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1 root
,
root any droid regardless of os
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root regardless droidforums
,

rooting droid 1

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+