DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Root but have HTC Sense?

  1. Junior Droid
    adoboyo's Avatar
    Member #
    138778
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    Root but have HTC Sense?

    Hi, I'm new to Android and I have thought about rooting but I like Sense. I was wondering if I root, will I still be able to use Sense and get the same benefits or is Sense a Rom?

    Also, what should I go with with rooting it?

    Thanks

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  2. Master Droid
    RyanPm40's Avatar
    Member #
    64737
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    549
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    RyanPm40
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    #2
    If you root it, nothing will change. You will just have super user permissions and the ability to use rooted apps. You will still have sense.

    The only way to not have it is to download and install a ROM that does not have it.

    There are many great ROMs out there that still have sense in them, such as SkyRaider, which offers some cool new features to sense, and I virtuous. Those are the only ones I'm currently familiar with, but I'm sure there are others.
  3. Marco Montana's Avatar
    Member #
    133432
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Nashua NH
    Posts
    63
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by adoboyo View Post
    Hi, I'm new to Android and I have thought about rooting but I like Sense. I was wondering if I root, will I still be able to use Sense and get the same benefits or is Sense a Rom?

    Also, what should I go with with rooting it?

    Thanks

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
    I'm rooted but remained stock and I love it I purchased Titanium Backup which allows me to freeze applications from running, So I don't have city id, tweet, and all the other annoying apps running.

    I love it its like having a micro computer in my hand, that I control...
  4. Super Moderator
    enlightened's Avatar
    Member #
    114451
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,076
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    enlightenedlg
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    Premium Member
    #4
    You can install one of the many Sense-based ROMs if you so choose.

    As far as rooting unrevoked is the easiest method. They'll have a method that allows you to root the OTA by the end of the day today or tomorrow so just hang tight until then.
    Visit DF's sister site, http://www.incredibleforum.com, for even more great Incredible tips!
    Useful links:
    * How to Root Your Incredible * How to Unroot Your Incredible * Flashing ROMs Tutorial
  5. Droid
    masully1984's Avatar
    Member #
    129207
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    67
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #5

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Marco Montana View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by adoboyo View Post
    Hi, I'm new to Android and I have thought about rooting but I like Sense. I was wondering if I root, will I still be able to use Sense and get the same benefits or is Sense a Rom?

    Also, what should I go with with rooting it?

    Thanks

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
    I'm rooted but remained stock and I love it I purchased Titanium Backup which allows me to freeze applications from running, So I don't have city id, tweet, and all the other annoying apps running.

    I love it its like having a micro computer in my hand, that I control...
    I deleted all of the bloatware as soon I rooted my phone
  6. Droid Newbie
    Tagged's Avatar
    Member #
    144926
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Charlotte NC USA
    Posts
    4
    Twitter
    BryanMaddex
    Phone
    Incredible
    #6
    if you root do you still get the standard updates?
  7. Junior Droid
    MilesD37's Avatar
    Member #
    143556
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    HTC Imcredible
    #7
    I noticed that when I use a home replacement app like launcher pro, I can't use the standard widgets that came with my phone, (like the people and calendar widgets) if I root, is there a way to use those widgets in other launchers? Or is there a way without rooting?

    Sent from my DINC using the DroidForums App
  8. Droid Newbie
    hiimdh's Avatar
    Member #
    156370
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by MilesD37 View Post
    I noticed that when I use a home replacement app like launcher pro, I can't use the standard widgets that came with my phone, (like the people and calendar widgets) if I root, is there a way to use those widgets in other launchers? Or is there a way without rooting?

    Sent from my DINC using the DroidForums App
    i have the same question.
  9. Junior Droid
    bassmasteraj's Avatar
    Member #
    64773
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    droid incredible
    #9
    How did you delete. The bloat ware
    Quote Originally Posted by masully1984 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Marco Montana View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by adoboyo View Post
    Hi, I'm new to Android and I have thought about rooting but I like Sense. I was wondering if I root, will I still be able to use Sense and get the same benefits or is Sense a Rom?

    Also, what should I go with with rooting it?

    Thanks

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
    I'm rooted but remained stock and I love it I purchased Titanium Backup which allows me to freeze applications from running, So I don't have city id, tweet, and all the other annoying apps running.

    I love it its like having a micro computer in my hand, that I control...
    I deleted all of the bloatware as soon I rooted my phone
  10. Incredible RS
    tweebee's Avatar
    Member #
    127518
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    210
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by hiimdh View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by MilesD37 View Post
    I noticed that when I use a home replacement app like launcher pro, I can't use the standard widgets that came with my phone, (like the people and calendar widgets) if I root, is there a way to use those widgets in other launchers? Or is there a way without rooting?

    Sent from my DINC using the DroidForums App
    i have the same question.
    The standard widgets will only work with HTC Sense launcher and not for alternative launchers such as LauncherPro or ADW Launcher.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Yes I like Sense UI and want it on a D2G.
    By Soucouant61 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 06:25 PM
  2. root and keep sense
    By talkdj in forum Droid Incredible Hacks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 04:38 PM
  3. HTC Sense LWP for non Sense roms [Incredible Only]
    By Rated_R in forum UltimateDroid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 07:47 PM
  4. dont make sense with battery issue and root
    By stabl4life82 in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 11:01 AM
  5. Htc sense ui rom
    By miniboss in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 09:00 PM

Search tags for this page

how to jailbreak an htc sense
,
how to jailbreak htc sense
,
how to root a htc sense
,
how to root an htc sense
,

how to root htc sense

,
htc sense jailbreak
,
htc sense on rooted phone
,

htc sense root

,

jailbreak htc sense

,

root htc sense

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+