DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: need a nandroid backup

  1. Droid Newbie
    yulbright's Avatar
    Member #
    122172
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #1

    Exclamation need a nandroid backup

    The other day, my phone was stuck in a reboot loop, during which I made a nandroid backup so I can start trying to fix it by doing a factory reset or whatever.

    That didn't work so today I went to a Verizon Store where the technician couldn't fix it either, so he gave me a new replacement.

    Then, thinking I can get all my contacts and media back from my old phone, i restored the nandroid backup i made from when my old phone was stuck in a reboot loop, and now the new phone is doing the same thing!

    Before I go back to that VZW store and get this one replaced again, i'd like to try a new nandroid backup img. Does anyone have a nandroid backup img they can send me so that I can atleast boot it up and get my phone to work again?

    i found the backfiles located in my phone in the sdcard in a folder called clockworkmod > backups

    Your help will be much appreciated.
  2. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #2
    So, you were stuck in a boot loop, and you made a nandroid backup WHILE you were stuck in the boot loop?
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  3. Droid Newbie
    yulbright's Avatar
    Member #
    122172
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #3
    yep, that's what happened. Guess I'm going back to the verizon store today
  4. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #4
    No, you need to wipe your phone, and reinstall your ROM. A nandroid is a "snapshot" of your phones system, at the time the nandriod is made. So, if you were stuck in a boot loop, and made a nandriod backup of the system while your phone is boot looping, it is going to throw every phone you put that nandriod on into a boot loop.
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  5. Master Droid
    shocka2430's Avatar
    Member #
    49305
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    530
    #5
    Have u tried rsd lite to flash the frg22d sbf and fix it? Simple none smart question, why would you make a backup while in a bootloop when you haver to figure something is wrong.

    Sent from my Incognito Droid using Tapatalk
    follow me on twitter @shocka2430
  6. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #6
    When you installed clockwork, were you prompted to make a nandriod backup, and did you?
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  7. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by shocka2430 View Post
    Have u tried rsd lite to flash the frg22d sbf and fix it? Simple none smart question, why would you make a backup while in a bootloop when you haver to figure something is wrong.

    Sent from my Incognito Droid using Tapatalk
    shocka, I just saw he owns an incredible, flashing a sbf wont help.

    yulbright, I am going to report this thread and have it moved to the rescue squad for help. I THINK you can flash the RUU and get your phone back, but Im not really familiar with the DInc.
    Last edited by Bob Dammit; 09-28-2010 at 02:20 AM.
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  8. Master Droid
    shocka2430's Avatar
    Member #
    49305
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    530
    #8
    Well that sux. Hopefully they give him a new one

    Sent from my Incognito Droid using Tapatalk
    follow me on twitter @shocka2430
  9. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #9
    It is still fixable, but it's out of my league. I can help with a driod or an eris, not sure with the Inc.
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  10. Droid Newbie
    yulbright's Avatar
    Member #
    122172
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Dammit View Post
    No, you need to wipe your phone, and reinstall your ROM. A nandroid is a "snapshot" of your phones system, at the time the nandriod is made. So, if you were stuck in a boot loop, and made a nandriod backup of the system while your phone is boot looping, it is going to throw every phone you put that nandriod on into a boot loop.
    I was able to install a new rom. Learned something new today. Thanks bob!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Nandroid backup issue: Nandroid exited with status 34
    By gnome_sayin in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 02:59 AM
  2. Nandroid backup How to???
    By Prerunnerseth in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 08:38 AM
  3. Need nandroid backup help.
    By kdizzi3 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 06:18 PM
  4. nandroid backup help!!!
    By jazzydrumer85 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2010, 05:59 AM
  5. Can't Backup With Nandroid!
    By Jatisogi in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 06:02 PM

Search tags for this page

htc incredible 2 restored nanoid backup now no service

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+