DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Insert SD card?

  1. Senior Droid
    andreah1's Avatar
    Member #
    251360
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #1

    Insert SD card?

    Probably stupid question but just got a replacement Bionic, everything has been going slow but sure but now just tried to take a picture with the camera and it says to insert sd card? I have one in there...it worked fine in the other Bionic? Anything I can do? The thought of that card being dead makes me want to be dead...lots of info saved on there.
  2. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by andreah1 View Post
    Probably stupid question but just got a replacement Bionic, everything has been going slow but sure but now just tried to take a picture with the camera and it says to insert sd card? I have one in there...it worked fine in the other Bionic? Anything I can do? The thought of that card being dead makes me want to be dead...lots of info saved on there.
    Try connecting to computer and see if the card is recognized. Also, try removing and reinserting the card in the phone. If the computer recognizes the card, but the phone will not then backup the card to the computer and reformat the card.

    Good luck.

    ETA: in fact just removing battery and rebooting phone may help.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  3. Senior Droid
    andreah1's Avatar
    Member #
    251360
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #3
    Thanks, I'll give it a try when I get home (at work now), I tried removing and reinserting, nothing. Oh man, I'm gonna be SO upset. This stupid Bionic (and the one before it) has been nothing but problems from the start.
    p.s. - it's also saying internal storage not available.....
    Last edited by andreah1; 11-05-2012 at 08:53 AM.
  4. Nice Guy
    aaf709's Avatar
    Member #
    6126
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    4,181
    Liked
    127 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #4
    I suggest having the phone format the card, rather than the computer. It will create a new LOST.DIR so you don't have to move that back. Funny, when I did that it changed the name of the card (according to the computer) from "Removable Drive" to "MOT," same name as the internal card.
  5. Senior Droid
    andreah1's Avatar
    Member #
    251360
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #5
    I'm praying I don't have to do any formating, I just looked at the pictures on there on Saturday and now all of a sudden it doesn't work? And it says internal memory not available? I hate technology sometimes!
  6. Senior Droid
    andreah1's Avatar
    Member #
    251360
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #6
    update - battery pull worked....think there's a glitch there though? Should I maybe back up pics then reformat? Or not worry.....
  7. Master Droid
    sst45jeff's Avatar
    Member #
    11302
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    315
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by andreah1 View Post
    update - battery pull worked....think there's a glitch there though? Should I maybe back up pics then reformat? Or not worry.....
    I always back up my photos. unless you don't care if you lose them.
    As far as reformat probably not necessary. People forget that these phones are computers now & every once In a while they need to be turned off & re booted.

    Even though it is probably fine I personally would just back up the card & re-format because it is not a big deal to do & I am kind of anal that way.
    If you have not completely set the phone up yet. I would also do a FDR from the settings menu since this has shown to correct a lot of issues that crop up later that people did not even know they had.
    Just get the FDR out of the way now instead of after you get the phone just the way you like it & realize there is another issue.
  8. Senior Droid
    andreah1's Avatar
    Member #
    251360
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #8
    I just went on the phone to do something and it says no sd card inserted. What the heck is going on? Is there something wrong here? I mean, yes, there is but I'm confused! The pictures were just there! And yes, the phone is all completely set up again so no way in heck I'm doing a fdr. I sat in Wendy's with free wifi for an hour downloading apps, not doing that again. Should I call VZW?
  9. Senior Droid
    andreah1's Avatar
    Member #
    251360
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #9
    Ok, I think I've figured this out....lol....I have the phone connected to my work computer by usb to charge (because the battery lasts like a whopping hour at a time) and I disconnected it to do something and noticed the pictures were back! So, is there some strange little thing going on inside that little phone brain that you can't access the card when it's plugged in for charging (at least to a computer)? Weird.
  10. Nice Guy
    aaf709's Avatar
    Member #
    6126
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    4,181
    Liked
    127 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by andreah1 View Post
    Ok, I think I've figured this out....lol....I have the phone connected to my work computer by usb to charge (because the battery lasts like a whopping hour at a time) and I disconnected it to do something and noticed the pictures were back! So, is there some strange little thing going on inside that little phone brain that you can't access the card when it's plugged in for charging (at least to a computer)? Weird.
    Yeah, under ICS the default is the Mass Storage Device which "disconnects" the SD card from the phone so it can be accessed by the PC. Also when the card is ejected from the PC it takes a little bit for the phone to access the card. You can have both the PC and the phone see the same card at the same time, but you have to be rooted.

    What I do is use a regular wall charger so I don't have to connect it to my work computer.
    Last edited by aaf709; 11-05-2012 at 01:30 PM.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Insert sim card
    By magman in forum Motorola Droid X2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 11:50 AM
  2. "Please insert an SD card before using the camera"?
    By Gags1892 in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 04:29 PM
  3. "SD Card removed. Insert another one."
    By Allnicksgone in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 08:33 AM
  4. camera says insert sd card all of a sudden
    By tsherard in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 09:31 PM
  5. app or way to insert a contact into an sms?
    By naturalhorsetrim in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 11:58 AM

Search tags for this page

droid incredible 2 please insert sd card

,

htc please insert sd card

,
my phone says insert a sd card
,
no sd card inserted
,

phone says insert sd card

,

phone says no sd card

,

please insert sd card

,
please insert sd card before using camera android
,

please insert sd card droid incredible 2

,
why is my phone saying please insert an sd card?
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+