DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: newly flashed

  1. Droid Newbie
    nkoss's Avatar
    Member #
    274429
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #1

    newly flashed

    I am new at this stuff, so be kind....

    I rooted and flashed with Eclipse 3.0. On the first boot to Eclipse, it took an inordinately long time. First question...do you expect the first time to go almost 2 hours??? I was able to get into some sort of recovery menu by pressing BOTH volume controls and the power button, but I was not sure what those menu choices were, but somehow it eventually got into Eclipse.

    I use Android 2.3.4, System 5.9.905 and Kernel 2.6.35.7.

    That's enough for now...thanks
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    useltonm's Avatar
    Member #
    229136
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Bionic
    #2
    The first time you boot into a newly flashed ROM, it takes a while. 2 hours however seems a bit excessive. I know I've had problems with booting into a new ROM when I skip steps. For instance, wiping cache and dalvik cache seems to greatly reduce the time it takes to get past the animation on first boot.

    Did you install bootstrap or safe strap? It makes doing backups really easy if you have 1 of these recoveries installed.
    Last edited by useltonm; 07-22-2012 at 06:52 PM.
  4. Droid Newbie
    nkoss's Avatar
    Member #
    274429
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #3
    Yes, I thought it was a bit excessive, but the good news is that the final result was good. Also, I did indeed first wipe the cache and the Davlik cache.
  5. Droid
    useltonm's Avatar
    Member #
    229136
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Bionic
    #4
    You're much more patient than I am. After about five minutes I go back and rewipe the caches. If that doesn't work I go back and reflash.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 11:08 AM
  2. Newly need help
    By broman77 in forum Cyanogenmod - D2G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-03-2011, 08:32 PM
  3. Newly Rooted, Need Some Help
    By DylC32A in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-12-2011, 01:53 PM
  4. "Roaming Indicator" on newly flashed Ruby 1.1.1
    By jsan2727 in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 11:16 PM
  5. Newly Rooted...now on 2.1
    By born2burn in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 08:20 AM

Search tags for this page

droid bionic

,

how to use a flashed phone for the first time

,

newly flashed

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+