DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: WIFi to Network data issues.

  1. Master Droid
    Tonik's Avatar
    Member #
    222676
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    540
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    #1

    WIFi to Network data issues.

    I can't really say when this started as I have never used WiFil much. But I have pretty weak data signal in my office so I finally got around to hooking my Bionic up to the wireless. The issue is when I leave the office and head home. No matter how I do it I have to fight to get back on VZ's network for data. It is all the usual symptoms of the old 'data drop'. Airplane mode won't fix it, I have to toggle CMDA/LTE to get it to reconnect. Does not matter if I turn WiFi off as I leave, or if I leave it on.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    johnm93359's Avatar
    Member #
    256042
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Tonik View Post
    I can't really say when this started as I have never used WiFil much. But I have pretty weak data signal in my office so I finally got around to hooking my Bionic up to the wireless. The issue is when I leave the office and head home. No matter how I do it I have to fight to get back on VZ's network for data. It is all the usual symptoms of the old 'data drop'. Airplane mode won't fix it, I have to toggle CMDA/LTE to get it to reconnect. Does not matter if I turn WiFi off as I leave, or if I leave it on.
    I have the same issue with my Droid 4. After traveling over 10 miles, I finally I noticed I was registering 4G in a somewhat rural area. I turned off the 4G (while stationary... Already arrived at my destination before I could use navigation). In about 2 minutes, I was connected.
  4. Droid Newbie
    Doggod10's Avatar
    Member #
    257230
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Bionic
    #3

    Droid Bionic 3 or 4?

    My company is going to upgrade my Blackberry to a Bionic 3 or 4. Can someone tell me which one is better? I see online line that there is some problems with the phone toggling between 3g and 4g. I don't have 4g as of now in my area but may have it within the next 6 months. Is there a big differnce between the two and are there any other problems I should know about? Thanks.
  5. Master Droid
    gsDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    10845
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    513
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #4
    Did you mean a Droid 3 or Droid 4? There is only one Bionic.
  6. Droid Newbie
    Doggod10's Avatar
    Member #
    257230
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Bionic
    #5
    Since I'm learning from the Master, I stand corrected. All I know is what they asked me at the home office. They asked, "Which Droid? Bionic, 3 or 4?" Now that I know that my home office doesn't know what they are doing, I'm glad I came here to asked questions. Can you tell me please what the difference is between the Droid 3 and 4? Which one would you pick and there any big issues I should be aware of? I rely heavily on my phone for work, I need a good one.
  7. Master Droid
    Tonik's Avatar
    Member #
    222676
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    540
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    #6
    Sounds like they are giving you three choices. A bionic, or a Droid 3 or a Droid 4. Take the 4 if you want a slide out keyboard if not take the bionic. Personally I don't miss the keyboard and prefer the bionic. Hit a VZ store and check them out. No big issues with either one. Take the one you like the most.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. Master Droid
    gsDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    10845
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    513
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #7
    +1 Good advice given by Tonik.
  9. Junior Droid
    markn455's Avatar
    Member #
    3188
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ball Ground, GA
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    This seems to be a regular problem with the Bionic. The last OTA update was suppose to address the issue. For me, it only made it happen less often. Motorola says in their site to turnoff the phone and leave it off for a minimum of a minute once per day. I call BS on that one. These phones do not run on Windows!

    Anyway, get use to the data connective issues on Droid when moving from WiFi to Cellular Data. I don't recall if I had the problem on my Droid 1 but I have seen the issue on the Droid 3 and the Bionic. Anyone else?



    Quote Originally Posted by Tonik View Post
    I can't really say when this started as I have never used WiFil much. But I have pretty weak data signal in my office so I finally got around to hooking my Bionic up to the wireless. The issue is when I leave the office and head home. No matter how I do it I have to fight to get back on VZ's network for data. It is all the usual symptoms of the old 'data drop'. Airplane mode won't fix it, I have to toggle CMDA/LTE to get it to reconnect. Does not matter if I turn WiFi off as I leave, or if I leave it on.
  10. Master Droid
    Tonik's Avatar
    Member #
    222676
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    540
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    #9
    Thanks. Minor issues like this I can handle now that I know it isn't just me.

    Insert witty sig here.
  11. Senior Droid
    geekabilly's Avatar
    Member #
    13455
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    154
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Razr HD & Bionic
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by markn455 View Post
    This seems to be a regular problem with the Bionic. The last OTA update was suppose to address the issue. For me, it only made it happen less often. Motorola says in their site to turnoff the phone and leave it off for a minimum of a minute once per day. I call BS on that one. These phones do not run on Windows!

    Anyway, get use to the data connective issues on Droid when moving from WiFi to Cellular Data. I don't recall if I had the problem on my Droid 1 but I have seen the issue on the Droid 3 and the Bionic. Anyone else?
    Wi-Fi shift to 3G is absolutely a Bionic issue -- NP 3G to WiFi -- never happened on my Droid 1 or Thunderbolt, does not happen on my wife's Razr.

    I need to reboot to bring it up if it 3G doesn't come on -- I notice that if I have the 3G icon with the WiFi icon, the transition is fine -- but if no 3G icon with WiFi on, I will need to reboot the phone to get 3G link when I leave the house.

    3G - 4G - 3G handoffs are fine.

    Maybe the .904 update will help, although it is not mentinoed in the changelog, apparently there are new radios included.
    Bionic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. add wifi network
    By sawtooth in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2011, 10:41 AM
  2. Verizon data network down?
    By Brick2Droid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 05:38 PM
  3. Data Network - turning off and on?
    By Boxxy in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2011, 07:51 AM
  4. Can't get to the Japanese Data network
    By RuckMonkey in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 01:07 AM
  5. Droid X wifi connection crashing home wifi network. help!
    By bluflax in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 09:26 PM

Search tags for this page

bionic data issues
,

bionic wifi problems

,
droid bionic data drop wifi issue
,

droid bionic data issues

,

droid bionic wifi issues

,

droid bionic wifi problem

,

droid bionic wifi problems

,
droid bionic won't pick up wifi signal
,
droid incredible 2 wifi transition issues
,
droid wifi data drops 2 minutes
,
help with network data signal
,
why i get low sygnol on my androi bionic
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+