DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 140

Thread: No 4G / 3G or network connection after waking PLEASE HELP

  1. Master Droid
    DessoThumbs's Avatar
    Member #
    28389
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    943
    Liked
    35 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    #1

    Question No 4G / 3G or network connection after waking PLEASE HELP

    Just wondering if this is a known issue. Stopping/Restarting Wifi seems to help (others say Airplane Mode on then off helps as well).

    Possible firmware fix in the future??

    TIA
    DessoThumbs
    ........Stock S4.........
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    csphokie's Avatar
    Member #
    23966
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by DessoThumbs View Post
    Just wondering if this is a known issue. Stopping/Restarting Wifi seems to help (others say Airplane Mode on then off helps as well).

    Possible firmware fix in the future??

    TIA

    I actually had the same thing happen to me today. I have no answers for you. Left Charlotte (4g) to drive up to BFE Virginia (3g). When I get to Virginia I have NO data at all. Tried toggling airplane, battery pull and anything else I could think of.

    Went to the Verizon store after work, they did the same things with no luck. Next step is replacement from what they say. Having bought it from Costco I have to go there to exchange it (assuming they have any in stock).

    Did talk to a Verizon guy on the phone and he was saying there was already a firmware update scheduled for october. And I wasn't the first one to report the data issue, there was actually a note in the system about the issue, but no real solution. Hopefully something good comes of this, pretty irritating!
  4. Senior Droid
    stevo95's Avatar
    Member #
    13553
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    181
    Phone
    Bionic
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by csphokie View Post
    I actually had the same thing happen to me today. I have no answers for you. Left Charlotte (4g) to drive up to BFE Virginia (3g). When I get to Virginia I have NO data at all. Tried toggling airplane, battery pull and anything else I could think of.

    Went to the Verizon store after work, they did the same things with no luck. Next step is replacement from what they say. Having bought it from Costco I have to go there to exchange it (assuming they have any in stock).

    Did talk to a Verizon guy on the phone and he was saying there was already a firmware update scheduled for october. And I wasn't the first one to report the data issue, there was actually a note in the system about the issue, but no real solution. Hopefully something good comes of this, pretty irritating!
    Darnit, sounds like the exact same issue I had today. Weird thing is that it was fine in San Francisco and fine at home. In between the two though on the way there and back I had the data problems. Never had these problems with my OG Droid on the same route.
  5. Droid
    csphokie's Avatar
    Member #
    23966
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #4
    Did your 3g ever come back when you got home? I'm still in VA in a town that has 3g and they can't bring it back.
  6. Master Droid
    DessoThumbs's Avatar
    Member #
    28389
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    943
    Liked
    35 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by csphokie View Post
    Did your 3g ever come back when you got home? I'm still in VA in a town that has 3g and they can't bring it back.
    Yeah I can always get it back by selecting CDMA only in settings and then turning on airplane mode and then airplane mode on. I'm thinking maybe we have such a spotty/poor 4g signal at the house, but my phones is still trying to connect to it.

    BIG OL' PITA. Hoe a firmware upgrade addresses this.
    DessoThumbs
    ........Stock S4.........
  7. Master Droid
    DessoThumbs's Avatar
    Member #
    28389
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    943
    Liked
    35 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by csphokie View Post
    I actually had the same thing happen to me today. I have no answers for you. Left Charlotte (4g) to drive up to BFE Virginia (3g). When I get to Virginia I have NO data at all. Tried toggling airplane, battery pull and anything else I could think of.

    Went to the Verizon store after work, they did the same things with no luck. Next step is replacement from what they say. Having bought it from Costco I have to go there to exchange it (assuming they have any in stock).

    Did talk to a Verizon guy on the phone and he was saying there was already a firmware update scheduled for october. And I wasn't the first one to report the data issue, there was actually a note in the system about the issue, but no real solution. Hopefully something good comes of this, pretty irritating!
    I'm in Monroe, so I'm close to you. I'm probably getting a much worse 4g signal as well.
    DessoThumbs
    ........Stock S4.........
  8. Senior Droid
    soccerdude6227's Avatar
    Member #
    19789
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    114
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #7
    Do you guys have the maximum battery saver option selected in the battery profiles menu? That is designed to turn off network when idle. That could be the problem I'm not sure though.
  9. Senior Droid
    stevo95's Avatar
    Member #
    13553
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    181
    Phone
    Bionic
    #8
    Nope, one of the things I double checked. It is still in night saver mode.
  10. Droid
    csphokie's Avatar
    Member #
    23966
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerdude6227 View Post
    Do you guys have the maximum battery saver option selected in the battery profiles menu? That is designed to turn off network when idle. That could be the problem I'm not sure though.
    Yeah, I just figured MY issue out. Not sure if it was the same as the other guys, but mine is tad embarassing (A little less embarrassing considering 3 people at VZW didn't catch it either). Thanks to the quoted text above I looked in Battery Saver. Mine was set properly; however, when in the menu I notice the Data Delivery option. What do you know, within that menu is a check box for 'Data enabled'. Never been in that menu before, but mine was unchecked. Checked it, and now I have 3g again. Hope this helps someone out there. Wish VZW trained their techs (phone and stores) to look in that menu too! I made sure to tell the phone tech how I fixed it so they could have it documented in case another idiot like me called in w/ that problem.
  11. Junior Droid
    SSandro25's Avatar
    Member #
    223397
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #10
    Having same issue. Just shows bars but no 3g/4g, can't make a call or access web unless i turn on wifi. If i didn't own a charge in the past i would say it was due to spotty coverage at my house but never had a problem with my charge. I checked all the settings everything is fine it just goes from working fine to not. cut and dry Some of the methods mentioned above get it going again but i really don't feel i or we should be trying tricks on a brand new $300 unit to get it to work as it should. Does anyone really feel this is an update fix? Has anyone thought about returning their units?
Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. network connection issues
    By ilikepie in forum Motorola Droid 3
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2011, 03:05 PM
  2. No network connection - please help...
    By Universal in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2011, 08:39 PM
  3. Dial up network connection
    By pocrobs in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 07:39 PM
  4. Loosing Network Connection
    By b00st4ddicted in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 07:08 AM
  5. No Network Connection:
    By HarleyDad09 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 08:49 PM

Search tags for this page

droid bionic 4g not working
,
droid bionic internet after idle
,

droid bionic network connection

,
droid bionic no network
,
droid bionic troubleshooting network connection
,
fix lost network connection on page plus 4g
,
hard reset is not helping phone with network connection issu
,
how to connect droid bionic to network printer
,
no 4g mms service not working droid bionic
,

page plus lost all data connectivity

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+