DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: So... new OTA is rolling out

  1. Droid Ninja
    wooddale's Avatar
    Member #
    98988
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Il & Wi
    Posts
    1,771
    Liked
    29 times
    Twitter
    benuti1
    Phone
    Bionic, Note2, Razr HD MAX X
    #21
    Quote Originally Posted by safety View Post
    I am using liberty v2 gold right now after the update. Here were my steps:

    1. Nandroid backup liberty v2 gold
    2. Fastboot to stock recovery
    3. Root and forever root
    4. OTA update
    5. Restore liberty from backup after data and dalvik wipe through CWM Exactly

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
    Exactly
  2. Junior Droid
    shakyone's Avatar
    Member #
    241144
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Bionic
    #22

    Not exactly, wooddale

    Quote Originally Posted by wooddale View Post
    Exactly
    So I had a CWM backup of Liberty3 v2.0 available on my SD card. I had my rooted stock 893 running.

    I tried what you suggested. I cannot "Wipe Data" in CWM. The options are that I can either "Wipe Data/Factory Reset" or "format Data partition." I opted to format the partition. I also formatted Cache, and wiped Dalvik, as suggested. After installing the Backup of Liberty3 v2.0, it reverted back to 886.

    I am back to installing my rooted 893 backup. I'm hoping it restores the 893 firmware.

    Shakyone
  3. Master Droid
    wilboy's Avatar
    Member #
    114301
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    684
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #23
    Quote Originally Posted by shakyone View Post
    So I had a CWM backup of Liberty3 v2.0 available on my SD card. I had my rooted stock 893 running.

    I tried what you suggested. I cannot "Wipe Data" in CWM. The options are that I can either "Wipe Data/Factory Reset" or "format Data partition." I opted to format the partition. I also formatted Cache, and wiped Dalvik, as suggested. After installing the Backup of Liberty3 v2.0, it reverted back to 886.

    I am back to installing my rooted 893 backup. I'm hoping it restores the 893 firmware.

    Shakyone
    You can downgrade the webtop and baseband but not the kernel because of the locked bootloader.
    If you already flashed 5.893,you have had the same kernel like 7.893,reason why you keep on failing.
    Last edited by wilboy; 12-16-2011 at 06:11 AM.
    Who needs Brain if you've got Battery!?
    RETIRED FROM: BLACKBERRY-D1 and D2G
    NEW TOY: DROID BIONIC


    (BIONIC)Tips to make Battery life Longer!
  4. Junior Droid
    shakyone's Avatar
    Member #
    241144
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Bionic
    #24

    How do I fix it?

    I appreciate the information. Is there anything we can do to prevent the downgrade?

    I like many others, want a Liberty3 v2.0 ROM with the more stable connection of 893. Do we have to wait for a Liberty3 update?

    I am not knowledgeable enough to know what sequence of steps will get me there. Just knowledgeable enough to be stupid with my own phone.
  5. Master Droid
    wilboy's Avatar
    Member #
    114301
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    684
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #25
    have you tried installing your backup liberty3 2.0 from an old liberty?There's no need to wipe anything if your going to install the backup that already on your bionic using bootstrap.
    Who needs Brain if you've got Battery!?
    RETIRED FROM: BLACKBERRY-D1 and D2G
    NEW TOY: DROID BIONIC


    (BIONIC)Tips to make Battery life Longer!
  6. Junior Droid
    shakyone's Avatar
    Member #
    241144
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Bionic
    #26

    I tried that...

    Quote Originally Posted by wilboy View Post
    have you tried installing your backup liberty3 2.0 from an old liberty?There's no need to wipe anything if your going to install the backup that already on your bionic using bootstrap.
    I did do just that.

    I will try without the wipe I guess. I am worried it will hit a snag.

    Does anyone know what partition the 893 portion is installed to?
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 176
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 06:58 PM
  2. OTA rolling out!
    By rdgxray in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 130
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 02:23 PM
  3. Replies: 389
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 02:38 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 08:19 AM

Search tags for this page

block bionic ota liberty
,
is there an update to liberty 3
,
latest ota bionic liberty
,

liberty rom bionic

,

new bionic data backuo

,

new bionic ota

,

new bionic roms

,

ota on liberty bionic

,

rezound stuck in boot loop ota

,

why wont the ota bionic update work

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+