DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: My Bionic is rooted...Do I need Safestrap?

  1. Junior Droid
    WLSITGuy's Avatar
    Member #
    299820
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Bionic
    #1

    My Bionic is rooted...Do I need Safestrap?

    I have rooted my phone and installed safestrap. However, I am running out of space with the Stock OS and Eclipse both running. Can I use a backup software like Titanium or the like, wipe the phone completely, Flash the phone with Eclipse only and just go about my day? Or do I need Safestrap?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. lm2
    lm2 is offline
    Senior Droid
    lm2's Avatar
    Member #
    238995
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    165
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #2
    Your question is confusing. It sounds as if you should instead be asking whether it's OK to get rid of the stock ROM and go only with eclipse. But instead you are asking if you can get rid of safestrap. Can you clarify what you mean?
    justin82 likes this.
  4. Junior Droid
    WLSITGuy's Avatar
    Member #
    299820
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Bionic
    #3

    Re: My Bionic is rooted...Do I need Safestrap?

    Quote Originally Posted by lm2 View Post
    Your question is confusing. It sounds as if you should instead be asking whether it's OK to get rid of the stock ROM and go only with eclipse. But instead you are asking if you can get rid of safestrap. Can you clarify what you mean?
    Actually, I meant both. Can I eliminate the Safestrap and flash it with Eclipse only?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  5. Master Droid
    rocketsaucev2's Avatar
    Member #
    243728
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    350
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #4

    Re: My Bionic is rooted...Do I need Safestrap?

    I am also confused as to exactly what you mean

    Safestrap allows you to boot between multiple roms. It is needed to run eclipse. That said, your storage in the newer versions (3 and up) is determined when creating rom slots. So one slot shouldn't affect another's, other than the phones global storage, obviously.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
  6. Junior Droid
    WLSITGuy's Avatar
    Member #
    299820
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Bionic
    #5

    Re: My Bionic is rooted...Do I need Safestrap?

    What I am asking is do I need Safestrap at all? Can I load a ROM on the phone without Safestrap?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  7. Master Droid
    rocketsaucev2's Avatar
    Member #
    243728
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    350
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #6

    Re: My Bionic is rooted...Do I need Safestrap?

    Safestrap is indeed needed. 3.11 is the newest. You can find it here on DROID forums. It really has become an amazing tool for trying any and every rom you want.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
    lm2 likes this.
  8. Junior Droid
    WLSITGuy's Avatar
    Member #
    299820
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Bionic
    #7
    Just to be clear I cannot put any ROM on my phone without Safestrap? Is the BIONIC that different from other phones that people can flash a ROM on?
  9. Master Droid
    rocketsaucev2's Avatar
    Member #
    243728
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    350
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #8
    Because the bionic has a locked bootloader. Safe strap makes flashing roms pretty easy and we are very lucky to have such a useful tool
  10. Master Droid
    rocketsaucev2's Avatar
    Member #
    243728
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    350
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #9
    There is also bootstrap, but in have zero experience plus eclipse is tested and recommended for use with safe strap
  11. Senior Droid
    Silvernirvash's Avatar
    Member #
    111740
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    where everyone else lives i guess?
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    Droid Bionic D-1 is retired
    #10
    No matter what phone you have a customer recovery is required to install a custom ROM. Every android phone has it's own custom recovery so yes safe strap is required.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [HACKS] Safestrap Guide for Bionic
    By guidot in forum Droid Bionic Hacks
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 07-21-2013, 05:34 PM
  2. iCS'd, rooted, safestrap... now what?
    By dmlp60 in forum Droid 4 General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 08:37 PM
  3. Bionic Safestrap Help Please!
    By mrgreennnn in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-03-2012, 12:12 AM
  4. Safestrap Bionic Quit Working
    By vbn in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2012, 08:40 PM
  5. Safestrap for Bionic?
    By Stelv in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 10:20 PM

Search tags for this page

bionic page plus safestrap
,

do i meed to install safestrap before rooting my droid

,
do i need bionic
,
droid bionic safestrap limit 3gb
,
my rooted bionic will not update with safestrap
,
on my droid bionic safestrap
,
recovery mode on rooted bionic
,
safestrap bionic
,
safestrap motorola droid bionic xt875
,
too many files on rooted bionic
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+