DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Verizon Tech Rep Told Me To Root My Phone

  1. Junior Droid
    ncridgerunner's Avatar
    Member #
    86311
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #1

    Verizon Tech Rep Told Me To Root My Phone

    Took my Bionic back to the Verizon store several times due to dropping data. The only way I could get it to re-acquire data was to power off and back on. Toggling airplane mode off and on and other possible solutions didn't work. After not finding any solution the Verizon Tech rep finally told me I should root my phone. That was a real suprise to me! I really haven't given much thought to rooting before so I only began looking at "how to" pages the past couple of days. One question is should I wait for the OTA .904 download or go ahead and root on .902?

    I have been looking at the following instructions that includes safestrap:

    [GUIDE][N00B] Step-By-Step UPDATE/ROOT/SAFESTRAP/ROM/RESTORE Instructions for Droid Bionic (4/14/12) - DROID BIONIC - droidHIVE Forums

    Safestrap sounds very good and I see a lot of are people using it. For those who use or used safestrap would you consider it a good program for a person who is a noob to rooting to use? I have been researching but there is a great deal of info out there and with the ever-changing software and downloads some of it gets dated very quickly.

    Thanks for any assistance!
  2. Master Droid
    sherri's Avatar
    Member #
    281
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    362
    Liked
    14 times
    #2
    Rooting voids all warranty's, so if you are still under the warranty, speak to another Verizon Rep!!!

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk 2
  3. Senior Droid
    AcridGosling's Avatar
    Member #
    248704
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    132
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by sherri View Post
    Rooting voids all warranty's, so if you are still under the warranty, speak to another Verizon Rep!!!

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk 2
    Absolutely. I don't even know why they would suggest it. I would make sure that phone is *cringe* *cough* updated....... yes I said updated...... and call the warranty claim hotline number who may have a solution. 1-866-406-5154 (taken from my charging cable)

    Sent from my DROID2 OTA updated .621, non-rooted 2.3.4 R.I.P. root access
  4. Senior Droid
    Johnnyb's Avatar
    Member #
    60703
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    160
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Root and enjoy the freedom. I'm not familiar with your phone so you may not have all the benefits of others. That's mostly focused around locked boot loaders.

    At the very least a fresh ROM should give you freedom from the bloat-ware and that can improve battery and speed/responsiveness.

    Its simple enough to return your phone to factory specs if you need to. Read more and make a well informed decision. Don't do it (or not do it) based solely on advice. Get educated, weigh your options and make the informed decision.

    You'll do well.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
    Phone: GNex
    ROM: JB Leak
  5. Senior Droid
    AcridGosling's Avatar
    Member #
    248704
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    132
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnnyb View Post
    Root and enjoy the freedom. ........ Don't do it (or not do it) based solely on advice. Get educated, weigh your options and make the informed decision.
    Well said. As you can see by my sig, I miss root very much. But I always had the sbf file on my pc to rsd back onto my phone if I had to do a warranty claim.

    Keep in mind, IN MY OPINION, it is highly unlikely that a rooted phone will fix a data connectivity issue. It sounds more like a hardware fault than software. I don't think a custom rom and root will fix that issue....... I think it needs to be sent back in.

    Sent from my DROID2 OTA updated .621, non-rooted 2.3.4 R.I.P. root access
  6. Droid Sensei
    Dave12308's Avatar
    Member #
    4889
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3,274
    Liked
    209 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #6
    It's not the device, and it's not the fact that it is not rooted. The problem is Verizon's LTE network. In some areas, it is rock solid. In other areas, data issues are rampant. Look in the subforum for ANY LTE device on Verizon, and you will see people having data issues. The LTE network is still a work in progress, and it seems like every time they bring new sites online, new issues crop up.
    aaf709 likes this.
  7. Senior Droid
    AcridGosling's Avatar
    Member #
    248704
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    132
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave12308 View Post
    It's not the device, and it's not the fact that it is not rooted. The problem is Verizon's LTE network. In some areas, it is rock solid. In other areas, data issues are rampant. Look in the subforum for ANY LTE device on Verizon, and you will see people having data issues. The LTE network is still a work in progress, and it seems like every time they bring new sites online, new issues crop up.
    I wasn't even thinking that route. I live near buffalo, ny and we have a very stable LTE network. But we were also one of the test areas before going public. I wonder if theres a custom rom to force just 3g..... that's deffinately out of my knowledge area.

    Sent from my DROID2 OTA updated .621, non-rooted 2.3.4 R.I.P. root access
  8. Nice Guy
    aaf709's Avatar
    Member #
    6126
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    4,181
    Liked
    127 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by AcridGosling View Post
    . I wonder if theres a custom rom to force just 3g..... that's deffinately out of my knowledge area.
    You can do that by going to Menu>Settings>Wireless & network settings>Network mode. Change the setting from CMDA/LTE to CMDA only. I think there's a couple of widgets that'll do that too.

    I live in San Diego, which was one of the first cities to get 4G. I personally have had no data problems whatever the version was. As others have said, it seems unlikely that rooting will solve the data problem. I'm not rooted, but I know that it's useful for many things. I haven't heard of it solving the data issue, though.
  9. Junior Droid
    ncridgerunner's Avatar
    Member #
    86311
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #9
    Lte is not available in my area. I live on top of a hill where I can get a signal. At the bottom of the hill is a dead zone. Every day after I drive through the dead zone my phone will not re-connect to the 3g available in my area. At other times during the day the phone must be powered down and restarted so I suspect I may have temporarily lost signal at some point. It is frustrating to have to keep powering down and up to get back to data.
  10. Droid Newbie
    ArmyMP98's Avatar
    Member #
    262978
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10
    I just rooted my phone, but before rooting, I moved the bloatware to a folder in my app drawer...After rooting, I downloaded root explorer and removed some of the bloatware that was on the phone..forgetting that I had most of them in a separate folder in the app drawer, after I went into root explorer and moved them to the SD card I went back to check if they were gone and they answer is yes, but I still had them in my folder I created before rooting. Now I released them out of the folder and they are back in my app drawer but when I go back to the root explorer under apps they are not in there, they are on the sd card ext where I put them..hope somebody can help that is not to confused on what i did
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 36
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 09:32 AM
  2. Was told Charge is a World phone? T or F
    By Bunyan in forum Samsung Droid Charge
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 11:32 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-31-2010, 07:20 AM
  4. Was told I couldn't cancel my phone order
    By Marckus in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-26-2010, 08:05 AM
  5. Verizon Tech here - ask away!
    By viperboy in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1076
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 12:30 AM

Search tags for this page

1-866-406-5154

,
consequences of rooting bionic
,

how to root my verizon droid bionic

,
how to root verizon droid bionic
,
jailbreak verizon droid bionic
,

root droid bionic verizon

,
root verizon droid
,

root verizon droid bionic

,
root verizon droid x2
,
verizon droid bionic root
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+