DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Can't Root JB?

  1. SylenThunder's Avatar
    Member #
    260154
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    32
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #1

    Can't Root JB?

    OK, so here I am with my Droid4. It's been rooted since about a week after I got it with GB on it. Got the OTA update to ICS and the phone retained root without any issues. Just recently got JB OTA, and I lost root. Well, partially, some things acted fine when they needed root access, others didn't. SO I poked around a bit, and most of the tools tell me it's not rooted anymore.

    So I do some research, make sure Motorola Device Manager has me updated with the latest driver, get the Razr root exploit, and attempt to re-root my phone. It's no go. I have USB Debugging on, it's set to MTP mode, and everything should be ready to rock and roll.

    But it's not rockin' and a rollin'. Here's what I get.
    Code:
    [*][*] Motorola Razr ICS Root Exploit (Windows version)[*] by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)[*][*] Before continuing, ensure USB debugging is enabled, that you[*] have the latest Motorola drivers installed, and that your phone[*] is connected via USB.[*][*] Press enter to root your phone...
    Press any key to continue . . .[*][*] Waiting for device...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    And there it will sit, for hours and hours. Not doing anything.

    I tried with another release, and this is what I get...
    Code:
    [*][*] Razr Blade: Motorola Droid Razr 4.1 Root Exploit (Windows version)[*] by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)[*][*] Thanks to p3droid for assistance in testing.[*][*] Note: this will not work on Razr HD, Razr M, etc.[*][*] Before continuing, ensure USB debugging is enabled, that you[*] have the latest Motorola drivers installed, and that your phone[*] is connected via USB.[*][*] Please carefully follow any instructions provided in the exploit.[*][*] Press enter to root your phone...[*][*] Waiting for device...
    Again, it just sits there.

    Now the second release, came with about 400MB of other stuff (ROM's ect.) and drivers. Well supposedly drivers. And if I google the drivers, I get many web pages toting this file as the latest driver...
    Motorola_End_User_Driver_Installation_5.9.0_64bit. msi

    Unfortunately, trying to actually run it doesn't work because it goes looking for Motorola_Mobile_Drivers_64bit.msi in some temp folder that doesn't exist.

    Finally, here's the data from my phone. (I think.)
    System Version: 98.72.18.xt894.Verizon.en.US
    Android Version 4.1.2
    And of course, it's a Droid 4
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. sikassdrummer's Avatar
    Member #
    342202
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    OK, so here I am with my Droid4. It's been rooted since about a week after I got it with GB on it. Got the OTA update to ICS and the phone retained root without any issues. Just recently got JB OTA, and I lost root. Well, partially, some things acted fine when they needed root access, others didn't. SO I poked around a bit, and most of the tools tell me it's not rooted anymore.

    So I do some research, make sure Motorola Device Manager has me updated with the latest driver, get the Razr root exploit, and attempt to re-root my phone. It's no go. I have USB Debugging on, it's set to MTP mode, and everything should be ready to rock and roll.

    But it's not rockin' and a rollin'. Here's what I get.
    Code:
    [*][*] Motorola Razr ICS Root Exploit (Windows version)[*] by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)[*][*] Before continuing, ensure USB debugging is enabled, that you[*] have the latest Motorola drivers installed, and that your phone[*] is connected via USB.[*][*] Press enter to root your phone...
    Press any key to continue . . .[*][*] Waiting for device...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    And there it will sit, for hours and hours. Not doing anything.

    I tried with another release, and this is what I get...
    Code:
    [*][*] Razr Blade: Motorola Droid Razr 4.1 Root Exploit (Windows version)[*] by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)[*][*] Thanks to p3droid for assistance in testing.[*][*] Note: this will not work on Razr HD, Razr M, etc.[*][*] Before continuing, ensure USB debugging is enabled, that you[*] have the latest Motorola drivers installed, and that your phone[*] is connected via USB.[*][*] Please carefully follow any instructions provided in the exploit.[*][*] Press enter to root your phone...[*][*] Waiting for device...
    Again, it just sits there.

    Now the second release, came with about 400MB of other stuff (ROM's ect.) and drivers. Well supposedly drivers. And if I google the drivers, I get many web pages toting this file as the latest driver...
    Motorola_End_User_Driver_Installation_5.9.0_64bit. msi

    Unfortunately, trying to actually run it doesn't work because it goes looking for Motorola_Mobile_Drivers_64bit.msi in some temp folder that doesn't exist.

    Finally, here's the data from my phone. (I think.)
    System Version: 98.72.18.xt894.Verizon.en.US
    Android Version 4.1.2
    And of course, it's a Droid 4

    ok so every one uses razorblade it doesn't work now iam trying droid 4 utilities but still can not root either but heres some info
    There is a great tutorial on how to upgrade the droid 4 to JellyBean and have a working Pageplus config. The Fastboot JellyBean files for the D4 are released so now it will be no problem to recover the phone if there are complications on the way.

    Credit Goes to snoop1979 on howardforums with his method on getting the Droid RAZR/MAXX to work with Pageplus on JellyBean. The same steps can apply to the droid 4. The only difference is the SBF file you use on the Droid 4. The one on his tutorial is ONLY for the Droid RAZR/MAXX. Using it on the Droid 4 will just instantly brick the phone. Below is a link to his amazing tutorial.

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...NG-on-PagePlus

    The link below is the correct SBF file to use with RSD LITE for the DROID 4

    Droid-Developers SBF

    Happy Flashing, and Good Luck,
    jeanr464
  4. sikassdrummer's Avatar
    Member #
    342202
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #3
    There is a great tutorial on how to upgrade the droid 4 to JellyBean and have a working Pageplus config. The Fastboot JellyBean files for the D4 are released so now it will be no problem to recover the phone if there are complications on the way.

    Credit Goes to snoop1979 on howardforums with his method on getting the Droid RAZR/MAXX to work with Pageplus on JellyBean. The same steps can apply to the droid 4. The only difference is the SBF file you use on the Droid 4. The one on his tutorial is ONLY for the Droid RAZR/MAXX. Using it on the Droid 4 will just instantly brick the phone. Below is a link to his amazing tutorial.

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...NG-on-PagePlus

    The link below is the correct SBF file to use with RSD LITE for the DROID 4

    Droid-Developers SBF

    Happy Flashing, and Good Luck,
    jeanr464
  5. Droid
    New Daddy's Avatar
    Member #
    8148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #4
    Are you on Verizon Wireless? I am, and I can't root my Droid 4.. Really frustrating..

    Folks, please!!! Help us root Verizon Droid 4!
  6. Master Droid
    GigaJake's Avatar
    Member #
    228336
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    437
    Liked
    83 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #5
    Sounds like you've taken the right steps. The OP in the following post has links to usb drivers as well as the Razr Blade utility:
    The Complete Jellybean Thread

    They worked for me and I'm also using a 64 bit OS. Make sure usb debugging is on, yada yada yada. I was able to root my phone while on mass storage mode. Clear your smart actions data to ensure it gets set up properly when you reach that step in the utility.

    It's a little screwy and may take a few tries, but this utility will root the D4 on the JB update, I'm speaking from experience here.

    Good luck!

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  7. Droid
    New Daddy's Avatar
    Member #
    8148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by GigaJake View Post
    Sounds like you've taken the right steps. The OP in the following post has links to usb drivers as well as the Razr Blade utility:
    The Complete Jellybean Thread

    They worked for me and I'm also using a 64 bit OS. Make sure usb debugging is on, yada yada yada. I was able to root my phone while on mass storage mode. Clear your smart actions data to ensure it gets set up properly when you reach that step in the utility.

    It's a little screwy and may take a few tries, but this utility will root the D4 on the JB update, I'm speaking from experience here.

    Good luck!

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
    I've followed every step in the first post of that thread.
    Are you sure it should work for Verizon phones too?
    The following thread seems to indicate that Verizon phones may be unrootable.
    new model droid 4 otb running 4.1.2 jb no root ? - Android Forums
  8. Junior Droid
    BoingoInsanity's Avatar
    Member #
    220138
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    15
    Twitter
    BoingoInsanity
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #7
    I rooted my D4 OTA 4.1.2 on Verizon last week, had a bit of trouble at first, perhaps try running *adb devices* to see if it sees your phone, that seems to be where it's hanging up. Also make sure you use an official Moto cable, like the one that comes with the charger, I tried to root my D3 awhile back with some random cable and had a problem similar to what you describe, when I broke down and went back for the legit cable everything was fine...
    Droid 2 Rooted (Liberty Rom 3 v2) (retired)
    Droid 3 Rooted (Liberty Rom 3 v2)
    Droid 4 Rooted (Stock OTA 4.1.2, CyanogenMod 10.1, trying for Ubuntu Touch)
  9. Droid
    New Daddy's Avatar
    Member #
    8148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by BoingoInsanity View Post
    I rooted my D4 OTA 4.1.2 on Verizon last week, had a bit of trouble at first, perhaps try running *adb devices* to see if it sees your phone, that seems to be where it's hanging up.
    Can you explain what * adb devices * is? I have no idea..
  10. sikassdrummer's Avatar
    Member #
    342202
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    droid 4
    #9

    adb reply

    Quote Originally Posted by New Daddy View Post
    Can you explain what * adb devices * is? I have no idea..
    It stands for "Android Debug Bridge" ,and I am guessing your question relates to checkinc debugging under developer options to root the phone {also I recoment allow from out side sources ,staw awake and allow mock locations }
    if that's not what you were asking let me know .
  11. Junior Droid
    BoingoInsanity's Avatar
    Member #
    220138
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    15
    Twitter
    BoingoInsanity
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #10
    I assume you are using Windows, if you go into the folder you downloaded with the root exploit, you can right click in the window and choose *Open Command Terminal* or similar wording, and then type "adb devices" without the quotes into the dos box, and then press enter. It will search for phones connected to your computer, if it finds your phone you will see something like "List of devices attached 015AB41613016013 device". If it is just blank after "List of devices attached" than try to switch between MTP and Mass Storage mode in the notification bar of the phone, and try again. Once it shows up, you know you have a good connection and can try to root again. If you can't get it to show your device, the exploit obviously won't work, so it is a good first step to try.
    Droid 2 Rooted (Liberty Rom 3 v2) (retired)
    Droid 3 Rooted (Liberty Rom 3 v2)
    Droid 4 Rooted (Stock OTA 4.1.2, CyanogenMod 10.1, trying for Ubuntu Touch)
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 12:52 PM
  2. Droid Bionic Wont Root Using Petes Motorola Root Tools
    By iTz_I3urn in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-28-2011, 02:21 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 07:45 PM
  4. HELP- Petes one click root only acomplished partial root-ROOT ISSUE
    By C3P0 in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 06:35 PM

Search tags for this page

bionic 4.1.2 root

,
cannot root droid 4 with jb
,
droid 4 jb 4.1.2 root utility
,
droid bionic 4.1.2 root
,

how to root droid bionic 4.1.2

,

root bionic 4.1.2

,

root bionic jb

,

root droid bionic 4.1.2

,
root droid bionic jb
,
root jb 4.1.2 bionic
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+