DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Data Manager missing in System Settings menu

  1. Junior Droid
    Inexplicable's Avatar
    Member #
    311146
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Twitter
    @Inexplicable_1
    Phone
    Droid4
    #1

    Data Manager missing in System Settings menu

    I'm dismayed to see so many posts on the DROID4... What in hell is going on? It's overall a great phone, but it seems there are so many bugs!

    My problem: I lose 4G or 3G connection a lot - especially when trying to navigate Facebook or a web page. It just hangs up, and I'm in an area with great coverage in Boston... Hell - I work in the "Innovation District" where there are cell repeaters attached to an old smoke stack an 1/8 of a mile away - in view from my desk!

    So, I have been poking around on forums, and one suggested to adjust my Data settings. Guess what? My "Data Manager" menu item is missing in my System Settings.

    Argh!!!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    outsid0r's Avatar
    Member #
    265180
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    185
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    outsid0r
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #2
    under system settings... its called data usage... helps to know what your looking for in ICS
  4. Junior Droid
    Inexplicable's Avatar
    Member #
    311146
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Twitter
    @Inexplicable_1
    Phone
    Droid4
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by outsid0r View Post
    under system settings... its called data usage... helps to know what your looking for in ICS
    OK, so my first post on here and I get a derisive response from someone with a superiority complex. Great.

    I had easily already found my Data Usage link. However, it seems that since the forced push a few months back to the new Android software update (or redo actually) there are some wierd things happening.

    When I go to "Data Usage", I'm simply looking at a usage chart and a list of apps and how much data they used. I no longer have a setting that allows me to limit data usage unless I'm on wifi, or another setting for allowing global roaming. I used to be able to change these settings. I can no longer find where to get to these settings.

    The update to the DROID4 OS sucks loudly.

    Here is my MENU list:

    Wireless & Networks
    Airplane Mode
    Wi-Fi
    Bluetooth
    Tehrering & Mobile Hotspot
    Data Usage
    More...
    - VPN
    - Mobile Networks

    Device
    Sound
    Display
    Storage
    Battery
    Apps

    Personal
    Accounts & Sync
    Backup Assistant PLus
    Device Setup
    Location Services
    Security
    Language & Input
    Privacy

    System
    Date & Time
    Printer Settings
    Accessibility
    Developer Options
    About Phone



    So that's it. There is no Data Manager setting anymore. I might be out to lunch, but I can't find any settings which allow me to adjust the way data is used or limited any more. This is all in an attempt to tweak a setting or two in hopes of finding out why my phone keeps having such a hard time staying connected to the internet.
  5. Senior Droid
    outsid0r's Avatar
    Member #
    265180
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    185
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    outsid0r
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #4
    i apologize for how my comment was worded. Once in data usage there is an option to set mobile data limit where if you slide the orage and yellow lines up or down they help you set your limits.
  6. Junior Droid
    Inexplicable's Avatar
    Member #
    311146
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Twitter
    @Inexplicable_1
    Phone
    Droid4
    #5
    I'm familiar with those slider bars. In the previous interation of the OS, we used to be able to set check boxes for whether or not data intensive programs would only run when in a WiFi zone. In addition, Global Roaming - another data setting, is missing (unless I just haven't been able to find it. I still don't understand why Motorola/Verizon figured that all we Droid4 users needed a new interface where everything was all switched around and the intuitive nature of things reorganized, as if to challenge us to stay interested long enough for another version to come out.
  7. Senior Droid
    outsid0r's Avatar
    Member #
    265180
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    185
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    outsid0r
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #6
    Motorola/Verizon did not change the interface, ICS was created by Google and motorola only skins it. they only can do so much customization.
  8. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Inexplicable
    I'm familiar with those slider bars. In the previous interation of the OS, we used to be able to set check boxes for whether or not data intensive programs would only run when in a WiFi zone. In addition, Global Roaming - another data setting, is missing (unless I just haven't been able to find it. I still don't understand why Motorola/Verizon figured that all we Droid4 users needed a new interface where everything was all switched around and the intuitive nature of things reorganized, as if to challenge us to stay interested long enough for another version to come out.
    I agree, it can be confusing. Even after months since ICS, I still find myself looking for settings where they once were and some are just plain buried. I really like ICS and the new UI. It is much more efficient in how it uses its resources but I still get frustrated at times.

    I'm on a Razr M, so some things may be a little different but hopefully it will help point you in the right direction...

    1. “ we used to be able to set check boxes for whether or not data intensive programs would only run when in a WiFi zone." In settings, go to “Data usage" then go to the menu (upper right). Enable “show WiFi usage." Click on the WiFi tab and you can click on each of the programs listed and then check “restrict background data." Edit: actually, under the “Mobile" tab, you can click on each of these programs to do the same exact thing.

    2. “Global Roaming - another data setting, is missing..." In settings, select “more..." (under data usage) ---> mobile networks ---> network mode ---> select LTE/CDMA (you will maintain a better connection if the phone is only searching for 3g or 4g, rather than searching additional numerous gsm networks).

    3. “I still don't understand why Motorola/Verizon figured that all we Droid4 users needed a new interface." It doesn't really matter if it's Motorola/Verizon or Google (Motorola and Google are basically the same these days anyway), this change has frustrated many. You are not the only one. I personally like the change and it does make better usage of resources and dual core. One of the biggest faults of the ICS release is that it should have required a factory data reset...because the change is so drastic and such a completely different OS, that it has wreaked havoc with many conflicts between the old GB settings and new ICS...whereas an fdr forces a very smooth working phone and fixes any problems.

    Hope this helps some.
    Last edited by TisMyDroid; 11-23-2012 at 05:43 AM.
  9. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #8
    The other nice thing is when you click inn each of the programs listed under the Mobile or WiFi tab, you can see exactly how much background data that program it's using. For instance, my Facebook uses very little foreground data (because I check it once a day, maybe) but uses tons more background data. This is a perfect example of a program to restrict background data....which I just did.

    Data Manager missing in System Settings menu-forumrunner_20121123_075245.png
  10. Master Droid
    NeoPhoenixTE's Avatar
    Member #
    150611
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    259
    Liked
    73 times
    Twitter
    NeoPhoenixTE
    Phone
    Droid 4 (Maserati) - CM10.1.2
    #9
    Gotta love the menu key. Opens all kinds of awesome stuff up. Just sucks that newer phones have done away with it. :P

    Looks like if you want to restrict background data, you do have to set a mobile data limit first.

    It's a bit roundabout, but it looks like you can still restrict stuff in the ICS interface. Just got all moved around. This thread actually made me go digging around and I learned all kinds of neat stuff! Whenever my unlimited data plan is pried from my contract's cold dead hands, I'll have to put this features to work.
  11. Master Droid
    GotnFX's Avatar
    Member #
    7488
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    728
    Liked
    92 times
    Phone
    Motorola RAZR MAXX
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by TisMyDroid

    1. “ we used to be able to set check boxes for whether or not data intensive programs would only run when in a WiFi zone." In settings, go to “Data usage" then go to the menu (upper right). Enable “show WiFi usage." Click on the WiFi tab and you can click on each of the programs listed and then check “restrict background data." Edit: actually, under the “Mobile" tab, you can click on each of these programs to do the same exact thing.
    Was just about to post why am I am getting a "restricted background data" warning when I searched and came across this post. Checked under data usage and set mobile data limit was checked...I don't recall ever doing this since I still have unlimited data..oh well. Glad I searched first...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. where is the USB debugging in the settings menu?
    By quickster88 in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2014, 01:27 AM
  2. Settings Menu
    By bmkdroid in forum Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 06:57 PM
  3. Menu > Settings ??? No longer there!! Help??
    By joekel101010 in forum HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 04:50 PM
  4. Battery & Data Manager Settings
    By Patriotvirus in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 01:55 AM
  5. Settings Menu
    By stuigi in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 10:49 AM

Search tags for this page

android data usage settings missing
,
battery & data manager missing
,

battery and data manager disappeared

,
can't find battery manager on droid bionic
,

data manager settings

,
droid 4 data manager
,
droid razor data manager
,
galaxy nexus system settings missing batter manaherr
,
my phone doesn't have data manager anymore
,
my quick link for mobile data disappeated
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+