DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: I Have Got To Get ICS Off My Droid 4

  1. Droid Newbie
    CherryBrigand's Avatar
    Member #
    282774
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    I Have Got To Get ICS Off My Droid 4

    ICS has basically ruined the phone for me as all of the aps that I use regularly (alarm clock, browser, rocket player,etc) have been modified or broken in some fashion. Even the interface is just poor.

    I'm brand new to the idea of flashing my phone and I looked in the [HOW TO] Restore your Motorola Droid 4 (XT894) to stock [Windows Only] thread, but it clearly says not applicable to ICS.

    I'm desperate to roll the phone back to the previous OS, but am not sure what I'm looking for to do it.

    Please help.

    Thanks so much and forgive me if this is the wrong forum.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer
    tcrews's Avatar
    Member #
    31907
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    1,353
    Liked
    64 times
    Twitter
    SnkBitten
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 4
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    You can't. There is no going back period.

    Have you tried Factory Resetting your device and setting it back up now that ICS is on it? That corrects a LOT of issues most people have with the in place upgrade. The UI is much better, the browser is better, pretty much everything is better so perhaps a Factory Reset would help you out.
    Tom Crews
    SnkBitten - http://android.snkbitten.com/ (OG Droid)
    Motorola Droid, Droid 2, Droid 3 and Droid 4 (all + Root)
    Motorola X DevEd KK 4.4 + Root
    Google Nexus 10 KK 4.4.2 + Root

  4. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #3
    Welcome to DroidForums CherryBrigand. Unfortunately, it is impossible to go back to gingerbread. Like tcrews mentioned, doing a factory data reset will solve at least 90% of your problems. See this thread for help with backing up your texts, call logs, etc.

    Getting the most success upgrading to ICS from GB

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  5. Developer
    jsnweitzel's Avatar
    Member #
    252429
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    540
    Liked
    117 times
    Twitter
    XjsnweitzelX
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #4
    Does this mean that there is a market for GB Droid 4's! HaHa

    ICS is a big improvement over GB once you get used to it. If you are having trouble a data reset should help and then be sure you update those apps.
  6. Senior Droid
    BaSHa's Avatar
    Member #
    268139
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    14 times
    Phone
    MaXX
    #5
    I felt the exact same way when ICS hit my RAZR. My phone went from something I loved to use, to something that was a chore to use. I finally did three FDR's back to back and installed the .215 leak. This made a huge improvement, it is at least useable now.

    Quote Originally Posted by jsnweitzel View Post
    ICS is a big improvement over GB once you get used to it.
    While some people have had a good experience others have not. For me it wasn't a matter of "getting use to it" it was a matter of my phone becoming very buggy and quirky. For example; your cursor shouldn't jump all over the place while trying to type, my Max battery should last longer than 2 hour screen times, my phone should vibrate when it is on vibrate and many other things that aren't something to "get use to" these are bugs/defects that should not have been there.
  7. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #6
    BaSHa, did the FDR's fix those problems because a new fdr should have fixed all those things. I think the biggest fault of Motorola/Verizon is not making people aware that an fdr should be done. In past major os upgrades, (eclair to froyo, froyo to GB), you knew that an fdr was important and necessary. And if I remember correctly, one of those upgrades did an fdr as part of the upgrade. It is absurd for Motorola/Verizon to think that such a major os change would not require an fdr.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  8. Developer
    jsnweitzel's Avatar
    Member #
    252429
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    540
    Liked
    117 times
    Twitter
    XjsnweitzelX
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #7
    I think moto put out the razr ota before it was ready. ICS as an OS is an improvement over GB. Don't blame a buggy build on it being the os.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  9. Droid Ninja
    drew96dawg's Avatar
    Member #
    258491
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mobile Al
    Posts
    1,113
    Liked
    81 times
    Phone
    Samsung galaxy note 2
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by TisMyDroid View Post
    BaSHa, did the FDR's fix those problems because a new fdr should have fixed all those things. I think the biggest fault of Motorola/Verizon is not making people aware that an fdr should be done. In past major os upgrades, (eclair to froyo, froyo to GB), you knew that an fdr was important and necessary. And if I remember correctly, one of those upgrades did an fdr as part of the upgrade. It is absurd for Motorola/Verizon to think that such a major os change would not require an fdr.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
    I've come to learn that vzw and many many other big corporations don't care about the consumer as long as we pay our bills they don't care at all.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
  10. Senior Droid
    BaSHa's Avatar
    Member #
    268139
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    14 times
    Phone
    MaXX
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by TisMyDroid View Post
    BaSHa, did the FDR's fix those problems because a new fdr should have fixed all those things. I think the biggest fault of Motorola/Verizon is not making people aware that an fdr should be done. In past major os upgrades, (eclair to froyo, froyo to GB), you knew that an fdr was important and necessary. And if I remember correctly, one of those upgrades did an fdr as part of the upgrade. It is absurd for Motorola/Verizon to think that such a major os change would not require an fdr.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
    It helped all of those problems, but wouldn't say it it's fixed completely. I can usually kill the battery on my Maxx with about 6 hours of screen time.

    The cursor still randomly jumps when trying to type (like this post here). I haven't tried to see if it vibrates now or not.

    I have been on .215 for about 4 days now, I did clear the cache after installing .215 (via recovery menu) but haven't done a FDR yet.

    I guess I'm not out of anything but some more time to do another couple of FDRs.


    Jsn I'm not trying to blame anything. ICS might be fabulous on the SIII or some of the other devices, but that doesn't change the fact that ICS has some issues on the device that I dropped $300 bucks for. The device I paid for worked extremely well, unlike the one that I now fight with on a daily basis.
  11. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #10
    If you still have a problem with cursor jumping after you do an fdr, then I would say it is a hardware problem because an fdr should fix that.

    For your battery, make sure you are not on global data... go to settings --->more... (under data usage) ---> mobile networks ---> network mode ---> select LTE/CDMA. If you are in a weak 4g area then LTE mode will drain battery very fast. You will want to put it in 3g only mode. Install LTE on/off from play store for a quick way to do that.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

bionic ics

,
droid 4 ics issues
,

droid 4 ics problems

,

droid bionic ics

,

droid4 ics issues

,

i have a droid 4 when will i get ics

,

ics for droid 4 broke my email

,
ics for thunderbolt
,
should i get ics for my droid 4
,

should i root my droid4 with ics

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+