DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Droid 4 GPS Problem

  1. Droid Newbie
    violinman22's Avatar
    Member #
    251252
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #1

    Droid 4 GPS Problem

    I just picked up my new DROID 4 and have an issue. The standalone GPS does not seem to be functioning. When I turn it on, Google Maps fails to pinpoint my position. It says instead "location services not available." If I turn on the Google or Verizon location services I can get my location within about a 500 foot radius but this isn't particularly helpful. Is this a known issue? Should I be worried that I got a defective product? Looking forward to your responses.
  2. Master Droid
    snowman's Avatar
    Member #
    18151
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tn.
    Posts
    444
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    #2
    I know on the D-1 you had to have a connection to a cell tower to get GPs functions started then after acquiring GPS signal it would run on GPS signal alone only for a while say your in a bad cell area but you had to start out with the phone cell signal on , not sure yet if this is still the way it is on the D-4
    Do it all now you may not be able to do it later
  3. Master Droid
    snowman's Avatar
    Member #
    18151
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tn.
    Posts
    444
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    #3
    something may be going on at Google right now I just tried maps and navigation and neither is working either way
    airplane on or off with GPS antenna on ?
    Do it all now you may not be able to do it later
  4. Master Droid
    Fr33dom's Avatar
    Member #
    183366
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    547
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    GN2 Stock
    #4
    No you never needed a connection to get GPS to function. You need a connection to get the maps. Get GPS Status from the market and it should show you how many satellites it sees. If it doesn't see any, you can try Menu, Tools, Manage A-GPS state, Reset. Then do the same but select Download instead of reset.
  5. Droid Newbie
    violinman22's Avatar
    Member #
    251252
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #5
    I tried restarting and different combos of location services, no luck. I also installed GPS Status and cleared and downloaded the A-GPS data, I don't know what you mean by "sees satellites" but the compass is working fairly well. I'm stuck guys, any opinions on whether this is hardware or software?
  6. Senior Droid
    tdpolo26's Avatar
    Member #
    51779
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    amherst ny
    Posts
    225
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    motorola droid 4
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by violinman22 View Post
    I tried restarting and different combos of location services, no luck. I also installed GPS Status and cleared and downloaded the A-GPS data, I don't know what you mean by "sees satellites" but the compass is working fairly well. I'm stuck guys, any opinions on whether this is hardware or software?

    actually over the summer there was a 3 day period where no google gps's were working turned out it was solar flares disrupting sattelites now i dont know where u live but there could be a problem with the sattelites watching over you but who knows. I hear florida has a ton of trouble with gps. BTW i live in ny mine works great
    motorola t605 install

    proud motorola droid owner, droid 2 global owner, droid 4 owner
  7. Droid Ninja
    Snow02's Avatar
    Member #
    159755
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,343
    Liked
    27 times
    Phone
    Droid X
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by violinman22 View Post
    I tried restarting and different combos of location services, no luck. I also installed GPS Status and cleared and downloaded the A-GPS data, I don't know what you mean by "sees satellites" but the compass is working fairly well. I'm stuck guys, any opinions on whether this is hardware or software?
    Obviously, you need to be outside or next to a window to pick up gps sats.

    In the gps status app, the green dots are satellites, and it shows how many you're locked on to on the right-middle portion of the screen (10/11 in this screenshot).
  8. Master Droid
    Kack's Avatar
    Member #
    36338
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    Posts
    762
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #8
    My gps Works fine. have you tried putting it on wifi the pinpointing and then going back to 4g and trying it then?

  9. Droid Newbie
    violinman22's Avatar
    Member #
    251252
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #9
    Indeed the wifi had been the problem. I hadn't used it at all since purchasing the phone but once I did, then activated all three location services at the same time, the GPS went live. After this initial pinpointing with everything enabled I could turn all of but the standalone and it worked fine.

    Thanks a lot guys!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2011, 06:09 PM
  2. Droid 2 SBF Problem/Recovery Problem
    By Sakker in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 12:35 AM
  3. Droid X- Is anyone else having this problem???
    By Mally91 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 10:46 PM
  4. HELP! Droid X Problem on top of problem
    By xzdarkstarzx in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-26-2011, 12:45 PM
  5. droid 2 problem
    By zadam123 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-29-2010, 06:02 PM

Search tags for this page

droid 4 gps

,
droid 4 gps issues
,

droid 4 gps not working

,
droid 4 gps problem
,
droid 4 gps problems
,

droid 4 problems

,
enable gps on droid 4
,
gps not working on droid 4
,
how to enable gps on droid 4
,
problems with droid 4
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+