DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Running a JB ROM WITHOUT using Safestrap 3.11 romslots.

  1. Droid
    Bense's Avatar
    Member #
    162511
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    67
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid2Global
    #1

    Running a JB ROM WITHOUT using Safestrap 3.11 romslots.

    EDIT: THIS MAY NOT BE ACCURATE, I'M RE-TESTING THIS...

    This is for those of you whom have updated your phones from ICS to the JellyBean OTA, that are interested in running a modified JB ROM without using Safestrap 3.11 rom-slots.

    Why might you be interested in this?
    • Filesystem performance of a rom-slots are degraded. Due to the fact that your /system , /data filesystems are mounted as loopback images on top of a vfat (linux's fat16/fat32 'driver') filesystem on your emmc (internal 'sdcard'). It is simply too slow for my liking.
    • ~2GB of freed up space on our emmc (internal sdcard)

    Here's all you gotta do. Assuming that you're already on stock JB, and that you're already rooted.
    1. Install Safestrap 2.11
    2. reboot into safestrap 2.11, do a backup of your stock system.
    3. switch over to the safe side.
    4. install Myfishbear's D4HD for JB, or D4 JB eclipse.
    5. install either ICS_User_Kexec_patch_CDMA.zip (or use the correspond GSM patch if needed.)
    6. REBOOT!
    My nerd rage meter has reached DEFCON level 5


    <3 Myfishbear
    Last edited by Bense; 03-27-2013 at 07:25 PM.
    While droidforums gets to know me, here's the experience that I am here to offer: linux enthusiast for 9 years / tech support for a RDBMS for a few years / former honda-tech.com knowledge article creation and site moderator / senior [student] in mechanical engineering
  2. Droid
    K1ick's Avatar
    Member #
    265255
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #2
    So wait, does this allow us to install a Jelly Bean ROM over our current stock system? And would this support CM10.1?
  3. Droid
    Bense's Avatar
    Member #
    162511
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    67
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid2Global
    #3
    EDIT: I may have made a mistake somewhere on this....
    While droidforums gets to know me, here's the experience that I am here to offer: linux enthusiast for 9 years / tech support for a RDBMS for a few years / former honda-tech.com knowledge article creation and site moderator / senior [student] in mechanical engineering

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-13-2012, 09:48 AM
  2. Safestrap is stuck on the safestrap logo screen. Won't load into CWM
    By diversmitty in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 10:43 PM
  3. Running Gummy/ Cyogen 9 running 4.03 Major Bluetooth issues
    By jickracer007 in forum Droid Bionic Hacks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-03-2012, 02:47 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-21-2012, 11:18 PM
  5. Replies: 1043
    Last Post: 02-17-2011, 05:33 AM

Search tags for this page

after zip file roms are installed. do i reboot without turni
,

can i install safestrap 2.11 on jb

,
copy safestrap romto different slot
,

install rom using safestrap

,
installed rom without safestrap
,
installing droid razr jb rom through safestrap
,

safestrap 3.11

,

safestrap 3.11 error 4

,

stock jb safestrap 3.11

,
using safestrap
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+