DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: can we install razor roms?

  1. Droid Ninja
    93fuelslut's Avatar
    Member #
    206679
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    lexington sc
    Posts
    1,170
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    your moms
    #1

    can we install razor roms?

    Look Here For All Available Roms - DroidRzr.com

    Razor is the same as d4 except the keyboard... so what would happen if we install a razor rom?.
    They just have soooo much compared to us
  2. Droid Ninja
    orangechoochoo's Avatar
    Member #
    251223
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    On a caboose
    Posts
    1,110
    Liked
    51 times
    Phone
    Droid 2, 3, 4, & DNA
    #2
    They have different types of screens (AMOLED v TFT) and the Razr screen is bigger. The rom may load but I don't know if the screen will work.
  3. Senior Droid
    moccor's Avatar
    Member #
    153942
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    185
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    Well with SS3's ease of us and multiple slots, it would be easy to test. I don't think anything bad can happen, Bionic, Razr and D4 are all the same Exact SS3 right?
  4. Droid Ninja
    93fuelslut's Avatar
    Member #
    206679
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    lexington sc
    Posts
    1,170
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    your moms
    #4
    Well.......somebody give it a shot
  5. Droid Ninja
    orangechoochoo's Avatar
    Member #
    251223
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    On a caboose
    Posts
    1,110
    Liked
    51 times
    Phone
    Droid 2, 3, 4, & DNA
    #5
    On SS3, when you swap roms does the data transfer over (if I send a text on Eclipse and swap to AOKP will the text message show on AOKP)?
  6. Droid Ninja
    93fuelslut's Avatar
    Member #
    206679
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    lexington sc
    Posts
    1,170
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    your moms
    #6
    This phone isnt rooted......so i believe that doesnt work
  7. Master Droid
    kenji91's Avatar
    Member #
    262812
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    458
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by orangechoochoo View Post
    On SS3, when you swap roms does the data transfer over (if I send a text on Eclipse and swap to AOKP will the text message show on AOKP)?
    I'm not sure of the answer to your question, but for SMS, I now use SMS Backup & Restore. That's the exact name, but there are similarly named others out there. It backs up all SMS to an XML file that you can restore when you switch ROMs. It's much faster than using TiBu or any other SMS backup apps that I know of.
    GuitarSkater likes this.
    Eclipse JB 1.1.1
    LiquidSmooth JB 2.3.7
  8. Droid Ninja
    orangechoochoo's Avatar
    Member #
    251223
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    On a caboose
    Posts
    1,110
    Liked
    51 times
    Phone
    Droid 2, 3, 4, & DNA
    #8
    I was hoping user data (call list, sms, etc.) would transfer across all roms.
  9. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #9
    I would strongly frown upon flashing the ROM for a Droid RAZR into a D4 or vice versa, and for that matter the ROM from ANY phone onto ANY other, unless you are absolutely sure the Kernel is compatible. They are NOT the same phone, no matter if they seemingly act the same. The D4 has a keyboard and that means a whole section of the Kernel devoted to managing the digital feedback from that keyboard. Not to mention the architecture of the motherboard is different. Sure it may have the same processor and memory and even the same GPU, but that's where the similarities end.

    Think of it this way...

    We can make an Android phone look, feel and operate just like an Apple iPhone (except perhaps the snappy GUI of the Apple iPhone due to its highly integrated OS and hardware), and perhaps even vice versa, but that doesn't mean that you can flash an OS 10 on to a Droid RAZR, nor can you flash a Android 4.01 onto the Apple iPhone.

    Droid 4 motherboard (click to enlarge):

    can we install razor roms?-droid-4.jpg
    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Motor...eardown/7759/2

    Droid RAZR motherboard (click to enlarge):
    can we install razor roms?-droid-razr.jpg
    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Motor...eardown/7048/3

    Images courtesy of ifixit.com
    Last edited by FoxKat; 11-19-2012 at 05:56 PM.
    RideZeLitenin likes this.

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  10. Master Droid
    ws6formula350's Avatar
    Member #
    193245
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    330
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    DROID4
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by orangechoochoo View Post
    On SS3, when you swap roms does the data transfer over (if I send a text on Eclipse and swap to AOKP will the text message show on AOKP)?
    No, it won't. Gotta backup and restore with something.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Cant Install and ROMS
    By yRego in forum Droid RAZR Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2012, 12:37 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-19-2011, 03:29 AM
  3. Need Help Can't install roms, Failed FBS install
    By wyzzerdd in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 06:55 PM
  4. to install custom roms, or not to install...
    By debrad0307 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 06:14 AM
  5. Is it possible to install 2 roms at once?
    By phatkat66 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 12:56 PM

Search tags for this page

android phone motherboard

,
android rom flash
,

does all roms for razors work for all

,

droid 4

,

droid 4 motherboard

,
fast razor rom
,

iphone 4 motherboard

,

razr m teardown

,

razr mainboard

,

razr motherboard

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+