DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 98
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: FINALLY! GSM on DROID 4!!! IT WORKS!

  1. Droid
    Germanguy's Avatar
    Member #
    182644
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #61
    Quote Originally Posted by myfishbear View Post
    got gsm patches on my rom links work someone on xda tried em
    Where are your ROM links, please?
    I am confused, actually. Is there a different GSM patch other than the one listed in the OP of this thread? Because ICS leaks for the D4 enable global mode by default using the same 8 byte string in RF_BC_CONFIG_I as the patch listed in the OP.
    Last edited by Germanguy; 08-02-2012 at 08:20 AM.
  2. Developer
    myfishbear's Avatar
    Member #
    166160
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    Posts
    1,289
    Liked
    124 times
    Twitter
    myfishbear
    Phone
    Droid 1, 4, DNA
    DroidForums.net Developer
  3. Junior Droid
    eraser310's Avatar
    Member #
    277691
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx (XT912)
    #63
    Just to be clear, this just unlocks the GSM bands, right? It doesn't mess with the CDMA or LTE radios, right? (I can still use it on Verizon)


    Still no dice.
    Let me just run through all of the settings to make sure I have them correct:
    -MA: MDM 6x00
    -USB: PST USB Driver
    -NV Access: 1877

    The drivers are installed, I am also running the program in comparability mode for Windows XP.

    I set my phone to camera mode, w/ USB debugging on.

    If all of those things are correct, how come I keep getting a no device dectected error? (The box in the upper right hand corner is red).
    Last edited by eraser310; 08-02-2012 at 10:58 AM.
  4. Droid
    Germanguy's Avatar
    Member #
    182644
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #64
    Quote Originally Posted by eraser310 View Post
    Just to be clear, this just unlocks the GSM bands, right? It doesn't mess with the CDMA or LTE radios, right? (I can still use it on Verizon)


    Still no dice.
    Let me just run through all of the settings to make sure I have them correct:
    -MA: MDM 6x00
    -USB: PST USB Driver
    -NV Access: 1877

    The drivers are installed, I am also running the program in comparability mode for Windows XP.

    I set my phone to camera mode, w/ USB debugging on.

    If all of those things are correct, how come I keep getting a no device dectected error? (The box in the upper right hand corner is red).
    If you are on ICS, there is no need to do the Radiocomm patch. GSM abroad bands are enabled out of the box.
  5. Junior Droid
    eraser310's Avatar
    Member #
    277691
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx (XT912)
    #65
    I was thinking for domestic US usage. Does this method not work for that?
  6. Droid
    Germanguy's Avatar
    Member #
    182644
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #66
    Quote Originally Posted by eraser310 View Post
    I was thinking for domestic US usage. Does this method not work for that?
    Nope. Myfishbear has a GSM patch listed in his eclipse ROM thread. It is from Olegfusion and contains prop file edits as well as a different apn config file for overseas. Might give that one a try. Have not tried it myself.
  7. Master Droid
    Big D's Avatar
    Member #
    3531
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    541
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #67
    ok Going to London next week.

    Just to confirm. I land in london, walk into a Vodaphone or the like and buy a sim card. Am I buying a pre-paid sim card? I'll be there for about 3 weeks.

    Never done this before and wondering what it'll be like. I assume, with the new sim card in, I'll have a local number? Until I reinstall my current Verizon number.

    Thanks gang.
  8. Junior Droid
    eraser310's Avatar
    Member #
    277691
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx (XT912)
    #68
    Assuming GSM is active, yes. It is the same as getting a prepaid SIM here. You will have a local number and when you return to the US, just remove the SIM card and Verizon should work again.
  9. Junior Droid
    MidnightLight's Avatar
    Member #
    251339
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #69
    Anyone else getting the following message on their phones with a foreign GSM SIM card and the ICS leak?

    "This SIM card is from an unknown source"

    The GSM voice functionality still seems to work fine (haven't tried data yet), so the message seems harmless. But it'd be nice to get rid of it.
  10. Droid Newbie
    calebu2's Avatar
    Member #
    255127
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #70
    Phone working great with vodafone UK sim in uk and france. A few observations:

    1) needed to get the APN info before data would work with vodafone UK because it didn't know it.
    2) GB works fine with the hacks to make it work. Didnt want to mess with ICS as it was still too preliminary when i had to make the decision.
    3) cannot find a number format that works universally: 01144 doesnt work with a vodafone sim card, 0 only works in the UK, +44 doesnt work in the UK and messes with google voice (until you disable it) in france. Hopefully this functionality is improved with ICS as it is a step backwards relative to blackberry.
    4) poor reception in rural areas with GSM. Might be a strict roaming policy.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Finally netflix works d2g
    By 473x15 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 11:50 AM
  2. Bluetooth Keyboard (HID) works. Finally.
    By CLShade in forum Droid 3 Accessories
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2011, 04:35 PM
  3. finally got my droid
    By i own a droid in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-30-2010, 12:37 PM
  4. The Droid let me down - Finally
    By 2001400ex in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 08:43 PM
  5. I finally got my Droid!
    By footdoctorhoward in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 06:31 AM

Search tags for this page

droid 4 gsm

,
droid 4 gsm unlock
,
droid 4 gsm unlocked
,
droid 4 unlocked
,
droid 4 unlocked gsm
,
droid4 gsm
,

motorola droid 4 gsm

,
motorola droid 4 unlocked gsm
,
unlock droid 4
,
unlock droid 4 for gsm
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+