DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910
Results 91 to 98 of 98
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: FINALLY! GSM on DROID 4!!! IT WORKS!

  1. Droid Newbie
    instinct's Avatar
    Member #
    309259
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy Nexus
    #91
    Ok, So I just wanted to be clear. I have a friend that has a VZW Droid 4 and wants to switch to T-Mobile. He has already done an OTA update for ICS. Is it possible to switch to T-Mobile? I thought maybe it wasn't at first because the OP said that you needed to be on Gingerbread and then update to the ICS rom, but it looked like after reading more posts, you just needed to be on ICS. So this phone actually have GSM capabilities? Cool.
  2. Junior Droid
    badguy6916's Avatar
    Member #
    806
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    DROID!
    #92
    If i am not mistaken, without a replacement radio from a capable rom from outside verizon it is not possible to use this phone on a domestic gsm carrier. verizon has blocked the capabilities to access US gsm networks, and without edits, which i do not know of any for ICS, you can not unblock the frequencies on the radio. It's sad really, but it's their way of attempting to keep customers. I know we had the same problem on the droid 3, and the only saving grace was a chineese or korean (some asian country's) radio that was flashable. if i am wrong please, feel free to correct me, just throwing in my background to try and help others.
  3. Junior Droid
    heymon79's Avatar
    Member #
    310757
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #93
    Hey there everyone.
    I am a bit of an imbecile when it comes to this kinda stuff... ICS, GSM, LTE etc are things I don't understand.
    Here is my question:

    I live in Canada with Rogers as my service provider. The Motorola Photon Q was my first choice phone, but it has a built in SIM card so cannot be used with service providers other than Sprint. So with that phone off the list, I want the Droid4. Can I just purchase it, put in my Rogers SIM card and use it? Do I need to do anything else and will I be able to use the phone to it's full capacity (no data blocks etc)? Will I be billed fees and do I have to sign up with a service provided (Verizon) to purchase the phone.

    Sorry, again, I'm an idiot about this stuff!
    Thank you!
  4. Droid Newbie
    jeff24216's Avatar
    Member #
    117303
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid X
    #94
    Quote Originally Posted by heymon79 View Post
    Hey there everyone.
    I am a bit of an imbecile when it comes to this kinda stuff... ICS, GSM, LTE etc are things I don't understand.
    Here is my question:

    I live in Canada with Rogers as my service provider. The Motorola Photon Q was my first choice phone, but it has a built in SIM card so cannot be used with service providers other than Sprint. So with that phone off the list, I want the Droid4. Can I just purchase it, put in my Rogers SIM card and use it? Do I need to do anything else and will I be able to use the phone to it's full capacity (no data blocks etc)? Will I be billed fees and do I have to sign up with a service provided (Verizon) to purchase the phone.

    Sorry, again, I'm an idiot about this stuff!
    Thank you!
    I don't know about the Droid 4, I have the Droid Bionic and Verizon Wireless rates are outraegous. I was able to root the phone and did some tweaking and got a SIM for AT&T on GSM and it works! It doesnt seem to have as good signal strength that my iphone had so I am still looking into that.
  5. Junior Droid
    badguy6916's Avatar
    Member #
    806
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    DROID!
    #95
    Quote Originally Posted by jeff24216 View Post
    I don't know about the Droid 4, I have the Droid Bionic and Verizon Wireless rates are outraegous. I was able to root the phone and did some tweaking and got a SIM for AT&T on GSM and it works! It doesnt seem to have as good signal strength that my iphone had so I am still looking into that.
    Can you pass on these tweaks that you did? also, look into Cyanogenmod 10 for the Bionic. It has the tweaks built in to fix the signal strength issues. Theres a setting in the Build.prop (i believe) that changes the signal reading for GSM. It was made into a menu option in CM10.
  6. Droid Newbie
    jeff24216's Avatar
    Member #
    117303
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid X
    #96

    Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by badguy6916 View Post
    Can you pass on these tweaks that you did? also, look into Cyanogenmod 10 for the Bionic. It has the tweaks built in to fix the signal strength issues. Theres a setting in the Build.prop (i believe) that changes the signal reading for GSM. It was made into a menu option in CM10.
    I'll check it out! I know the SIM I had in my iphone worked on GSM out here but I have no service whatsoever on the droid out here, not until I get into town anyway.

    So here is how I got my Droid to work on GSM, Im waiting for the straighttalk SIM but figured out how to add APN settings to

    The Droid:Bionic can do CMDA/4LTE and GSM/HSPA+ [IMAGE INTENSIVE] - Droid Bionic - RootzWiki


    Once you complete these steps go to the phone dialer and dial *#*#4636#*#*
    Go to phone information, scroll to 'Set preferred network type' and select either GSM preferred or WCDMA preferred (this one would probably work best).

    You should get a signal on GSM now, so to get the right APN settings for MMS and web to work heres how to add apn settings

    Go to phone dialer and dial '##program', hit send or call. The password is 6 '0's. (EX 000000)

    Go to option 13 for APN settings, select APN Config Edit

    From here you should have the option to add new APN's
  7. Droid Newbie
    instinct's Avatar
    Member #
    309259
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy Nexus
    #97
    Quote Originally Posted by jeff24216 View Post
    I'll check it out! I know the SIM I had in my iphone worked on GSM out here but I have no service whatsoever on the droid out here, not until I get into town anyway.

    So here is how I got my Droid to work on GSM, Im waiting for the straighttalk SIM but figured out how to add APN settings to

    The Droid:Bionic can do CMDA/4LTE and GSM/HSPA+ [IMAGE INTENSIVE] - Droid Bionic - RootzWiki


    Once you complete these steps go to the phone dialer and dial *#*#4636#*#*
    Go to phone information, scroll to 'Set preferred network type' and select either GSM preferred or WCDMA preferred (this one would probably work best).

    You should get a signal on GSM now, so to get the right APN settings for MMS and web to work heres how to add apn settings

    Go to phone dialer and dial '##program', hit send or call. The password is 6 '0's. (EX 000000)

    Go to option 13 for APN settings, select APN Config Edit

    From here you should have the option to add new APN's
    So, my question remains if it's possible to do this once upgraded to ICS, if not, is it possible to downgrade back to GB through a Rom and re-do it that way?
  8. Junior Droid
    pm2gonzales's Avatar
    Member #
    262223
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #98
    I just got this phone, I'm on Rogers Canada network, I have a GSM signal and it shows the connection and network I'm connected to as well as phone number. I can send text messages, but I can't receive them. Although sometimes, takes like 15min or longer and then I get them. I can make phone calls, but I cannot receive them. Anyone go through a similar situation and have a remedy?

    Also, I'm on ICS 4.04, .217, running Eclipse ROM. Although I had the same issue on stock ICS. To give more detail, when I call my phone from the house phone, there is like 20 seconds of nothing and then it goes to voice mail.
Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Finally netflix works d2g
    By 473x15 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 11:50 AM
  2. Bluetooth Keyboard (HID) works. Finally.
    By CLShade in forum Droid 3 Accessories
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2011, 04:35 PM
  3. finally got my droid
    By i own a droid in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-30-2010, 12:37 PM
  4. The Droid let me down - Finally
    By 2001400ex in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 08:43 PM
  5. I finally got my Droid!
    By footdoctorhoward in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 06:31 AM

Search tags for this page

droid 4 gsm

,
droid 4 gsm unlock
,
droid 4 gsm unlocked
,
droid 4 unlocked
,
droid 4 unlocked gsm
,
droid4 gsm
,

motorola droid 4 gsm

,
motorola droid 4 unlocked gsm
,
unlock droid 4
,
unlock droid 4 for gsm
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+