DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: fix ics on droid 4

  1. Droid
    dhaynes's Avatar
    Member #
    248541
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Stratosphere
    #1

    fix ics on droid 4

    I don't know if anyone else is have as many problems with ICS as I am but I'm bout to freaking go crazy with this **** over heating, bottery life worse than it was, apps force closing all the time, and the every day hard resets cuz the phone freezes up this is stupid

    Sent from my DROID4
  2. Master Droid
    mattjenn's Avatar
    Member #
    255515
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    283
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    GNEX - Droid Bionic - Droid 4
    #2
    I haven't had any issues with mine at all I actually get better battery life then I did on GB
  3. Droid
    dhaynes's Avatar
    Member #
    248541
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Samsung Stratosphere
    #3
    I dont understand what the problem is then

    Sent from my DROID4
  4. Master Droid
    mattjenn's Avatar
    Member #
    255515
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    283
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    GNEX - Droid Bionic - Droid 4
    #4
    Have you done factory reset I know it sucks but my DROIDX had alot of issues when I got GB update and reset fixed alot of it. Also some handsets take updates different yours might need to be replaced if they continue but I would try reset 1st cause if you get replacement chances are it will be a preowned phone and those have more issues then not it took my wife 4 replacements to get one to work right.
  5. Droid Ninja
    orangechoochoo's Avatar
    Member #
    251223
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    On a caboose
    Posts
    1,110
    Liked
    51 times
    Phone
    Droid 2, 3, 4, & DNA
    #5
    Yup, do a factory reset. If that doesn't help then SBF ICS. It's obviously a software problem since you didn't have any problems on GB, so factory reset and/or SBF should clear up the problems.
  6. Junior Droid
    droiduh's Avatar
    Member #
    285780
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Garden State
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Moto Droid 4
    #6
    I had ICS downloaded and installed within 45 minutes. Since then, I don't have a problem with ICS on Droid 4. Battery life is better. Apps loading/running better too. In fact, the phone used to overheat on gingerbread (2.3.X) and now it doesn't. I'm liking the ICS version a lot.

    PS- I have not rooted or made changes to the phone.
  7. Junior Droid
    MaDMaS's Avatar
    Member #
    114757
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Droid 4 From OG Droid
    #7

    Do you have set CPU or some other CPU program controlling the clock speed?

    2 things that I have noticed.

    1) The Ram Usage of ICS is significantly higher than gingerbread was. Meaning it takes fewer apps running in the background to bog down the system. I have installed an app called ram booster that automatically kills the unneeded background tasks as needed when system memory say has anything less than 150MB free. that has kept my Droid 4 from locking up while the screen is on.

    2) I have noticed that my phone would freeze alot when the screen was turned off. I was running set cpu and would clock the CPU down to 300 Mhz (hotplug governor). With gingerbread this was never an issue. But im finding that with set cpu at 300 when the screen is off the phone will not wake back up. So I changed the governor to ondemand and the Mhz to 800. So far it hasnt frozen asleep since. That was about 2 days ago.

    So id say if you have a cpu clocking app installed try to play around with the screen off profile settings.
    Hope this helps some.
  8. Droid Ninja
    orangechoochoo's Avatar
    Member #
    251223
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    On a caboose
    Posts
    1,110
    Liked
    51 times
    Phone
    Droid 2, 3, 4, & DNA
    #8
    I have SetCPU using Hotplug with 300 min and have never had a problem with it. I'm also undervolted too.
  9. Junior Droid
    MaDMaS's Avatar
    Member #
    114757
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Droid 4 From OG Droid
    #9

    correction

    Quote Originally Posted by orangechoochoo View Post
    I have SetCPU using Hotplug with 300 min and have never had a problem with it. I'm also undervolted too.
    I forgot to mention that I was running 300 min 300 Max. I am now running 300 min 600 Max. And again I went from hot plug to on demand. Like I said so far so good for me. Fingers crossed. No more freezing/ screen won't turn on.
  10. Droid
    sangelopez's Avatar
    Member #
    217898
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #10
    Have any of you noticed that when you open a new text message (pressing the plus button on top right on stock messaging app) and there is a blank field to put the desired contact name to text the virtual keyboard doesnt come up you have to click it manually unlike in GB it would come up automatically. This is very frustrating. Any ideas or somthing in the setting that might prevent it from opening automatically. Thanks
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

droid 4 ics battery
,

droid 4 ics battery life fix

,
droid 4 ics fix
,
droid 4 ics fixes
,
droid 4 ics force close issue
,
droid 4 ics issue
,
droid 4 ics issues
,

droid 4 ics problems

,
droid bionic ics
,
droid4 ics issues
,
fix my droid 4 from ics
,
ics droid 4 battery life
,
ics fixes droid 4
,
problems with ics droid 4
,
speed up droid4 ics
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+