DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Final Answer: Does ICS Break "CDMA Only" Setting In D4

  1. Senior Droid
    Inundated's Avatar
    Member #
    327
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    120
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by hradek422 View Post
    They didn't add it back in. The screenshot in the thread I posted in above, is on ICS version .212, which is pretty much the latest leak out. The CDMA Only was removed.
    Oh, great.

    Can you still get CDMA Only via the internal phone info menu?
  2. Droid
    Dave Lister's Avatar
    Member #
    135831
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    69
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Inundated

    Oh, great.

    Can you still get CDMA Only via the internal phone info menu?
    Read my previous post that's only two before yours.
  3. Senior Droid
    Inundated's Avatar
    Member #
    327
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    120
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #13
    Yeah, I know about that, just worried that THAT would be taken away as well.
  4. Senior Droid
    Inundated's Avatar
    Member #
    327
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    120
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #14
    And now that I'm on the newly released ICS for the D4:

    CDMA Only is indeed gone from the open Mobile Networks menu.

    The app LTE OnOff does work to take you to the internal phone menu, and you can select CDMA auto (PRL) to go into 3G,

    The app Phone Info also works to do the same, but you have to select the Phone Information menu option first. That takes you to the same screen reached directly by LTE OnOff.

    Both apps are free, in the Google Play store last I checked.
  5. Senior Droid
    swc2001's Avatar
    Member #
    251235
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    172
    Liked
    32 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Inundated View Post
    I've been ranting about this in the D4 ICS leak thread...my worry that the ICS update for the Droid 4 will break the ability to go into the Mobile Network Settings menu and turn OFF 4G (CDMA Only). I do this, as many others do, to save battery life when I'm away from a charger or power source for a long time.

    The screenshots in the ICS leak thread show three settings: Global, LTE/CDMA and UMTS/GSM, with no separate option to switch between LTE/CDMA and CDMA Only.

    I think I've figured it out, with help from some friends in another (non-Android-topic) forum.

    It is not necessarily ICS itself that does this. It's the capability to do global roaming, which is apparently bundled into the 4.0.4 update for the Droid 4, the Droid RAZR and the Droid RAZR MAXX (the last two are now released).

    Fortunately, there's a way around it.

    The app LTE OnOff, which is in the Google Play store and says it's for the HTC Thunderbolt, will also work on the D4...and as I've been shown, post-update on the RAZR/RAZR MAXX. (I don't have the ICS leak for the D4.)
    Well using the app lte on off did the trick for me. I just wanted to thank you for posting this it helped me out alot.


    Instead of popping up a direct menu, the LTE OnOff app on the D4/RAZR/RAZR MAXX pops you into the phone's internal phone info screen.

    Scroll down until you can select networks...open the menu and select one of these:

    GSM/CDMA only (PRL) - for 4G/LTE
    CDMA only (PRL) - for 3G

    *** CAREFUL HERE, I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE OTHER OPTIONS DO! *** If your phone stops working because you hit the wrong menu option, select the right one...but I'm not responsible if it doesn't work after this! It should be OK, though.

    After selecting one, just let it flip in a few seconds. That's it!

    On the D4/RAZR/RAZR MAXX, LTE OnOff takes you to the same internal menu as this phone keypad code:

    *#*#4636#*#*

    I hope this helps someone. I asked, and asked, and Google searched, and asked, and it took all that to get to this point.
    Thank you for posting this useful tip. It helped me alot!
  6. Senior Droid
    Inundated's Avatar
    Member #
    327
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northeast Ohio
    Posts
    120
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #16
    Thank you for the kind words and acknowledgement.

    One change: Since the official ICS update hit my D4, the new global radio changed setting BACK to LTE/CDMA as:

    LTE/CDMA/EvDo

    Setting to 3G only is still:

    CDMA auto (PRL)
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. FINAL ANSWER "update not available at this time'
    By expiditer in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-19-2012, 10:03 AM
  2. Final thoughts of decision: "bionic or razr?" the end.
    By bens42608 in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: 12-13-2011, 08:18 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 06:25 PM
  4. How to "Un-remember" a setting answer?
    By ryanc2 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 04:33 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 09:32 AM

Search tags for this page

android 4.0.4 cdma
,
android 4.0.4 disable 4g
,

android 4.0.4 turn off 4g

,
change droid 4 to cdma only
,

droid 4 cdma only

,
droid bionic cdma only
,
droid razr cdma only
,
how change driid bionic cdma
,
how do you turn off 4g on droid 4 on 4.o.4
,
how to change my phone from cdma to gsm droid bionic
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+