DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Tether with a D4

  1. Master Droid
    snowman's Avatar
    Member #
    18151
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tn.
    Posts
    444
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    #1

    Tether with a D4

    I never remember any one mention this I just tried it and works well in process of moving no internet and tried tether , never worked on old D-1
    but works well on D4 why is it not talked about

    I just pluged my phone into the computer with the mini-usb cord from the charger went to settings and turned on
    tether, and the comutter uses the 4G VERY well and cruizes the net probably better then my wirless connection at home
    no app needed the computer runs Win 7 and reconized the phone as a internet connection ---works well for me
    you have to plug in the phone to computer before this option is available
    Do it all now you may not be able to do it later
  2. Droid Newbie
    Mark_Silet's Avatar
    Member #
    257686
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    driod
    #2

    It works?

    I have been looking to upgrade from the original droid, but I have been unwilling thus far to pay for the ability to hotspot to the phone.
  3. Super Moderator
    Quicksilver7714's Avatar
    Member #
    83729
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,423
    Liked
    103 times
    Phone
    D1, X, Tbolt, DC, DB, GNex, S4
    Premium Member
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by snowman View Post
    I never remember any one mention this I just tried it and works well in process of moving no internet and tried tether , never worked on old D-1
    but works well on D4 why is it not talked about

    I just pluged my phone into the computer with the mini-usb cord from the charger went to settings and turned on
    tether, and the comutter uses the 4G VERY well and cruizes the net probably better then my wirless connection at home
    no app needed the computer runs Win 7 and reconized the phone as a internet connection ---works well for me
    you have to plug in the phone to computer before this option is available
    Yes most 4G verizon phones allow a wired tether with out a plan. I used this frequently when I had my Bionic.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
    New to android or just need to brush up on the basics? Abe has every thing you need Here:
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net

    Respect is number 1 in the Forums.

    We are the droid owners
    Resistance is Futile, YOU Will be Assimilated...

  4. Master Droid
    snowman's Avatar
    Member #
    18151
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tn.
    Posts
    444
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    #4
    let me ask this , understand I have the old unlmited data plan still
    but why would you buy a plan and pay extra for what the phone does already (hotspot)
    is it just because some do not have unlimited data?
    Do it all now you may not be able to do it later
  5. Master Droid
    snowman's Avatar
    Member #
    18151
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tn.
    Posts
    444
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_Silet View Post
    I have been looking to upgrade from the original droid, but I have been unwilling thus far to pay for the ability to hotspot to the phone.
    I'm not paying any extra
    Do it all now you may not be able to do it later
  6. Droid
    droidbound's Avatar
    Member #
    58934
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #6
    Tether and hotspot are two different things. With the tether you use the D4 like a modem. Hotspot allows x devices to use your phone like a wireless router.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
    Never stoop to the level of idiots. They will drag you down and beat you with experience.
  7. Junior Droid
    dtalitho's Avatar
    Member #
    149754
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    droid 2 global
    #7
    When I tried to get online on my Droid tablet with my DG2, I went to HotSpot to do it and was told it required a seperate data plan. I just ordered the D4. I think I am reading here that if I tether the D4 to my tablet, I will have internet, w/o addl data plan? Am I correct?
  8. Senior Droid
    Erikbal's Avatar
    Member #
    217173
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    196
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Motorola DROID 3
    #8
    Basically if I understand right, what they are saying is if you turn on the tether mode on your phone and plug it into a computer using the usb cable that's part of your charger the computer will detect the phone as a modem. Now in order to run it on a tablet I think you'd have to do it wirelessly and connect to it like wifi and if that's the case it'd be using it as a mobil hotspot and for that you need a package.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. Master Droid
    snowman's Avatar
    Member #
    18151
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tn.
    Posts
    444
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx HD
    #9
    Erikbal yes thats correct, but you have to plug the cable in before the option is available to turn on tether
    it will be grayed out unless it is plugged in then turn it on , let us know how it works for you.
    also hope you have the old unlimited data plan or it may eat up a lot of data on your package, snowman
    Do it all now you may not be able to do it later
  10. Junior Droid
    dtalitho's Avatar
    Member #
    149754
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    droid 2 global
    #10
    OK, now I see the catch. It must be pluged into the computer to work. I did not read it carefully. When I am at home, I have wifi, why would that be beneficial? Perhaps when I am at work, where there is a computer but no wifi that works.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. USB tether no go, Bluetooth tether works fine???
    By Dunb440 in forum Droid RAZR Hacks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-07-2012, 01:49 PM
  2. Drop 4g/3g on Wireless Tether or Wired Tether.
    By pdub in forum Thunderbolt Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 09:08 AM
  3. Tether capability with android-wifi-tether (Wireless Tether for Root Users)
    By webacoustics in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 458
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 04:37 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 04:49 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 04:39 PM

Search tags for this page

can i tether my droid 4 to pc for internet access?

,

d4 tether

,

d4 tethering

,

droid 4 tether

,

foxfi droid4

,

foxfi wii download

,
has anyone got caught with foxfi
,

how to foxfi tether to wii

,

how to tether droid 4 phone

,

how to use droid4 as modem

,

tether droid 4

,

tethering d4 to computer

,

tethering droid 4

,

usb tethering option greyed out

,

will foxfi trigger tethering verizon

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+