DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By themib
  • 1 Post By themib

Thread: Hard Reset before installing new ROM?

  1. Droid
    Jenny5's Avatar
    Member #
    109811
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    motorola droid 4
    #1

    Hard Reset before installing new ROM?

    My phone is running like crap and I want to start fresh with it. I've also decided to try a 3rd party ROM.
    Do I need to do a Hard Reset or something else, or will it be a clean slate as part of the ROM install?
    Thanks
  2. Droid Ninja
    themib's Avatar
    Member #
    177165
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,409
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Droid X, 2, 2G, X2, D3, D4
    #2
    edit:if you use safe strap, you do not have to wipe data, to install a rom
    but it is a good idea to backup data before installing a ROM

    for call log, and texts, look at sms backup +
    make sure your contacts are backed up,

    root with motofail
    back up apps with titanium backup pro

    install safe strap 3, watch how-to video
    use ss3 to install ROMs

    see my list, for links
    sd_shadow's list of links for Droid FAQs, SBF, Rooting, ROMs.... https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...0UWIlXLWA/edit
    Last edited by themib; 02-03-2013 at 05:46 PM.
    Jenny5 likes this.
    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - sites.google.com

    Always in motion is the future
  3. Droid Ninja
    themib's Avatar
    Member #
    177165
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,409
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Droid X, 2, 2G, X2, D3, D4
    #3
    sorry if you use safe strap, you do not have to wipe data, to install a rom
    but it is a good idea to backup data before installing a ROM
    Jenny5 likes this.
    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - sites.google.com

    Always in motion is the future
  4. Droid
    Jenny5's Avatar
    Member #
    109811
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    motorola droid 4
    #4
    Thank you for the clarification.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Hard reset=factory reset?
    By Jaeger in forum Droid RAZR
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2011, 08:18 PM
  2. factory reset/ hard reset help
    By captnawesome in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 05:42 PM
  3. factory reset/hard reset not working
    By captnawesome in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-27-2011, 11:15 AM
  4. Droid freezes during factory reset & hard reset
    By cboling99 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 04:48 AM
  5. Difference Between Factory Reset And Hard Reset?
    By NVash in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 10:37 AM

Search tags for this page

always factory reset before new rom

,
android reset rom
,
droid 3 hard reset
,
factory reset android before new rom
,

factory reset rom android

,
hard reset rom
,
is a factory wipe needed to install new rom on android
,

rom hard junior

,
showing the newest rom hard reset
,
what do i need to wipe when installing a rom 2013
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+