DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Is there a way to tell what recovery I'm running?

  1. Junior Droid
    Gemedet's Avatar
    Member #
    94138
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    East Bumble****
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #1

    Is there a way to tell what recovery I'm running?

    And is there a way to tell what "bootstrapper" i have installed? I keep reading on how I should use SafeStrap but I keep seeing warning for having two recoveries installed and two bootstrappers and I don't want to mess my phone. Any help please? How do I uninstall a recovery or bootstrapper?
  2. Master Droid
    jkliving92's Avatar
    Member #
    230459
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    268
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid bionic
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Gemedet View Post
    And is there a way to tell what "bootstrapper" i have installed? I keep reading on how I should use SafeStrap but I keep seeing warning for having two recoveries installed and two bootstrappers and I don't want to mess my phone. Any help please? How do I uninstall a recovery or bootstrapper?
    It doesn't mess your phone up to have to bootstraps. Some custom roms have their own bootstrap built in with no issues with safe strap. If you're using safe strap however and then flash using bootstrap you'll lose safe strap and anything you flashed with it. Also bootstrap shows up like any other application so you can unstable it in Manage Applications. Safe strap you uninstall inside the app. I've used safe strap a few times.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    The ROMinator

    rooted and rommed:
    droid bionic(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x2, samsung infuse 4G, samsung captivate, samsung galaxy s2 skyrocket, samsung galaxy 10.1 LTE
  3. Master Droid
    jkliving92's Avatar
    Member #
    230459
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    268
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid bionic
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by jkliving92 View Post
    It doesn't mess your phone up to have bootstrap installed as well as safe strap. Some custom roms have their own bootstrap built in with no issues with safe strap. If you're using safe strap however and then flash using bootstrap you'll lose safe strap and anything you flashed with it. Also bootstrap shows up like any other application so you can unstable it in Manage Applications. Safe strap you uninstall inside the app. I've used safe strap a few times.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    The ROMinator

    rooted and rommed:
    droid bionic(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x2, samsung infuse 4G, samsung captivate, samsung galaxy s2 skyrocket, samsung galaxy 10.1 LTE
  4. Junior Droid
    Gemedet's Avatar
    Member #
    94138
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    East Bumble****
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by jkliving92 View Post
    It doesn't mess your phone up to have to bootstraps. Some custom roms have their own bootstrap built in with no issues with safe strap. If you're using safe strap however and then flash using bootstrap you'll lose safe strap and anything you flashed with it. Also bootstrap shows up like any other application so you can unstable it in Manage Applications. Safe strap you uninstall inside the app. I've used safe strap a few times.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    So do I need safestrap? Is there any real advantage to having it now that I'm rooted, have a recovery and have flashed a couple ROMs? Am I not safe for not having SafeStrap?! I was reading the instructions on how to install it from hashcodes site and it just seems really sketchy to try it without knowing what's actually installed already. According to my phone I have no bootstrapper currently installed, I assumed it was removed when I flashed a ROM?
  5. Master Droid
    jkliving92's Avatar
    Member #
    230459
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    268
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid bionic
    #5
    The only difference between safestrap and bootstrap is you can dual boot. Say you wanted to try dhackers ics rom which is still in alpha stage, you want to use SafeStrap so you switch to your original rom easily and vice versa. Make sure you have plenty of space on your sd card though because to switch roms it makes backups of each so you can go back and forth. If you run out of room it won't disabled or enable safe mode. If you just want to flash roms like normal use bootstrap.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    The ROMinator

    rooted and rommed:
    droid bionic(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x2, samsung infuse 4G, samsung captivate, samsung galaxy s2 skyrocket, samsung galaxy 10.1 LTE
  6. Master Droid
    jkliving92's Avatar
    Member #
    230459
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    268
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid bionic
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by jkliving92 View Post
    The only difference between safestrap and bootstrap is you can dual boot. Say you wanted to try dhackers ics rom which is still in alpha stage, you want to use SafeStrap so you switch to your original rom easily and vice versa. Make sure you have plenty of space on your sd card though because to switch roms it makes backups of each so you can go back and forth. If you run out of room it won't disabled or enable safe mode. If you just want to flash roms like normal use bootstrap. And since you have to wipe everything when flashing you'll need to install bootstrap again.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    The ROMinator

    rooted and rommed:
    droid bionic(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x2, samsung infuse 4G, samsung captivate, samsung galaxy s2 skyrocket, samsung galaxy 10.1 LTE
  7. Junior Droid
    Gemedet's Avatar
    Member #
    94138
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    East Bumble****
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #7
    Why I want to use safestrap for dhackers ics rom? Couldn't I just make a backup of my currently installed ROM and then flash? The only reason I ask is because I'm currently running CM9 ICS Alpha # 2.
  8. Master Droid
    jkliving92's Avatar
    Member #
    230459
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    268
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid bionic
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Gemedet View Post
    Why I want to use safestrap for dhackers ics rom? Couldn't I just make a backup of my currently installed ROM and then flash? The only reason I ask is because I'm currently running CM9 ICS Alpha # 2.
    It's for any rom that you want to dual boot with. Yes you can do that. SafeStrap just does it for you.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    The ROMinator

    rooted and rommed:
    droid bionic(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x2, samsung infuse 4G, samsung captivate, samsung galaxy s2 skyrocket, samsung galaxy 10.1 LTE
  9. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #9
    Safestrap is more than dual boot IMO.

    It makes the phone pretty flash durable. Some people have reported trouble flashing new ICS Alpha ROMs with tweaked bootstrap.

    I sound like a broken record, but when you flash a ROM you are doing it completely independent of the stock image in the "non-safe" location.

    Plus it has a splash screen on boot, to boot into recovery. Not much better than that.

    Sent from my rooted, safestrapped, and ROM'd XT862

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  10. Master Droid
    jkliving92's Avatar
    Member #
    230459
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    268
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid bionic
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by guidot View Post
    Safestrap is more than dual boot IMO.

    It makes the phone pretty flash durable. Some people have reported trouble flashing new ICS Alpha ROMs with tweaked bootstrap.

    I sound like a broken record, but when you flash a ROM you are doing it completely independent of the stock image in the "non-safe" location.

    Plus it has a splash screen on boot, to boot into recovery. Not much better than that.

    Sent from my rooted, safestrapped, and ROM'd XT862
    Thanks for explaining it more indepth.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    The ROMinator

    rooted and rommed:
    droid bionic(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x(overclocked 1.2GHz), droid x2, samsung infuse 4G, samsung captivate, samsung galaxy s2 skyrocket, samsung galaxy 10.1 LTE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery *CDMA Edition* (Final Version)
    By BL4Z3D247 in forum Galaxy Nexus Development
    Replies: 139
    Last Post: 06-07-2012, 03:04 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-05-2011, 12:34 PM
  3. Replies: 140
    Last Post: 04-19-2011, 04:07 PM
  4. Replies: 1043
    Last Post: 02-17-2011, 05:33 AM
  5. Can't boot into recovery. Running jrummy Froyo.
    By Superman in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 01:29 PM

Search tags for this page

android check recovery version

,

check android recovery version

,
check recovery android
,
how to check android recovery version
,
how to check recovery android
,
how to check recovery version
,

how to check recovery version android

,

how to check stock recovery version

,
what recovery am i using
,
what recovery am i using android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+