DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Stuck at Safestrap; Can't boot into phone

  1. Junior Droid
    shanshor's Avatar
    Member #
    240179
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #1

    Exclamation Stuck at Safestrap; Can't boot into phone

    Hey guys, I am a complete noob at this. But i didn't see how i could screw up just installing safestrap v1.06. I installed the apk from my downloads, installed recovery (though it didn't show that it was installed, so i did it AGAIN, and it still didn't change).

    When booting up, it went straight from the Motorola splash screen to Safestrap. I never gave me the 10 seconds to press "menu" to boot to safestrap. Nor can i find any way to boot into my phone. I made a backup in non-safe mode, and copied it to my computer just in case.

    What can i do? I'm not opposed to completely wiping my phone, if that will help.

    I know I'm new, but PLEASE help. I was forced to activate my old Pre + until this is resolved!

    Thanks guys
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Theme Developer
    vbhokiefan's Avatar
    Member #
    43560
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    VA Beach VA
    Posts
    939
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    vbhokiefan
    Phone
    OG / D3 / S3 / ?
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    Where exactly is your phone stuck? Do you get the Safestrap "Android Boot Menu" screen? Or did it actually go into Clockwork Mode Recovery screen? If it is the former, does pressing the menu key not work? If it is the latter, do you have a ROM on your internal SD card you can flash or can you restore the backup? Also, if it is in CWR check the top of the menu to make sure safe mode is enabled.

    Don't lose hope, you can always SBF the phone back to stock, if need be.
    TEAM MAVERICK FTW
  4. Junior Droid
    shanshor's Avatar
    Member #
    240179
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #3
    I boot straight into safestrap recovery. I could try flashing my backup, though I will need to look up exactly how to do it. Also, from what I've read, it doesn't look like flashing a rom deletes safestrap; it still would come up?

    And could you post some clear instructions for SBF? Ive only heard of it. Thanks!
  5. Theme Developer
    vbhokiefan's Avatar
    Member #
    43560
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    VA Beach VA
    Posts
    939
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    vbhokiefan
    Phone
    OG / D3 / S3 / ?
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    Don't know that I've heard of it booting right in. Maybe Hashcode or Guidot can weigh in on that.

    Once you're in recovery, scroll down to backup and restore -- choose that, go to restore -- choose that, go to internal/external and choose where your file is-- choose that, then choose the backup you created and let it do its thing.

    (BTW, does it say at the top that safe system is enabled?

    If it comes down to it, the SBF instructions are here
    TEAM MAVERICK FTW
  6. Theme Developer
    vbhokiefan's Avatar
    Member #
    43560
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    VA Beach VA
    Posts
    939
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    vbhokiefan
    Phone
    OG / D3 / S3 / ?
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #5
    Couple other thoughts.....

    I hate to ask, but you aren't holding the phone so that your finger is over the menu button?

    What ROM were you on when you flashed Safestrap?

    Did you enable Safestrap? See previous question about seeing if it is enabled.
    TEAM MAVERICK FTW
  7. Junior Droid
    shanshor's Avatar
    Member #
    240179
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #6
    Thanks so much for all of the help guys; I'll try to answer the questions

    No, Safe mode is not enabled, nor was it when i made my backup. I didn't turn it on because it said that turning on safe mode can't be undone, so it just left it off.

    No, my finger was not over the menu button on boot.

    I am running the stock rom, rooted of course.
  8. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #7
    So, when you use the reboot option in Clockwork, it just brings you back to the clockwork menu?

    What version of clockwork does it say on the bottom right side?

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #8
    Did you have D3bootstrap installed before? Or just rooted no custom recovery?

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  10. Junior Droid
    shanshor's Avatar
    Member #
    240179
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #9
    It says safestrap recovery 1.06

    No safestrap was the only thing I installed
  11. Junior Droid
    shanshor's Avatar
    Member #
    240179
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #10
    And for SBF, I run that on my computer, right? And will it work on a Mac?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Phone Stuck in an infinite boot loop. PLEASE HELP!
    By litetaker in forum Droid X2 Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-07-2011, 04:47 PM
  2. Phone stuck on boot screen
    By zooyork200 in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2011, 09:43 PM
  3. Phone stuck on boot logo, NEED HELP!
    By jocko1 in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 06:30 AM
  4. Phone Stuck in boot loop
    By usmcbagley in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2010, 06:14 PM
  5. Phone will not boot - stuck at Motorola screen - Please help!
    By Crone in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-24-2010, 05:53 PM

Search tags for this page

boot loop safe strap menu
,
bp tools safestrap
,

droid x2 safe mode stuck

,

how to enable safestrap

,

motorola xt862 locked on startup screen

,

safestrap not booting

,

safestrap press menu button boot loop

,

safestrap stuck in recovery

,
safestrap won't boot to bp tools
,
safestrap wont boot into recovery
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+