DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Reboot to power menu?

  1. Droid
    SPerry's Avatar
    Member #
    111474
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    76
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #1

    Reboot to power menu?

    Droid 3 deodexed 5.6.890 XT862

    How can I add reboot to the power menu without flashing a ROM?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #2
    There are a few apps that do that, but to add it to the power menu, you'd have to add it to the ROM, deodexed stock, yourself.

    Sent from my Safestrapped, Rooted, ROM'd XT862

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Senior Droid
    firefighterguy's Avatar
    Member #
    184108
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    145
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    ...And how would someone go about doing that? I have a Bionic I would love to do that to. Or pay someone to do that for me...
    ____________________
    ( "King of the 'Self-Edit'" )
    Irony. Its what's for dinner.
  5. Droid
    SPerry's Avatar
    Member #
    111474
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    76
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by firefighterguy View Post
    ...And how would someone go about doing that? I have a Bionic I would love to do that to. Or pay someone to do that for me...
    Me too. I did some research but never found anything like a guide I could follow.
  6. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #5
    You need to do some compiling.

    Best thing to do is flash a rom imo.

    Sent from my rooted, ROM'd, and Safestrapped XT862

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  7. Senior Droid
    firefighterguy's Avatar
    Member #
    184108
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    145
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    Lets say someone wants to stay stock for now, and wants to add the reboot option in the power menu without flashing a ROM after a nand b/u, how would one go aboit it? I mean if a ROM can have it baked in, certainly we could bake it in our stock ROM... lol

    ____________________
    "King of the 'Self-Edit'"

    "Patriotism is supporting your Country at all times. And your government only when it deserves it" --Mark Twain
    ____________________
    ( "King of the 'Self-Edit'" )
    Irony. Its what's for dinner.
  8. Saik0Shinigami's Avatar
    Member #
    219422
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    78
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola XT862 (Droid 3)
    #7
    It's not stock the moment you add the reboot option. It will fail OTA updates due to the change and I believe you have to deodex the rom to do it, so it will fail OTA anyway, might as well try a Rom since it's the easier answer then developing a Rom with a single additional feature. It's not just adding a line of code or something so simple. There's a process and development to it.

    -Saik0
  9. Senior Droid
    firefighterguy's Avatar
    Member #
    184108
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    145
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #8
    Good points. Thank you.

    Can an average punk like me start doing ROM's without knowledge of coding, etc? My guess is it would be a bit over my head. Lmao!

    ____________________
    "King Of The Self-Edit"

    ____________________
    "Patriotism is supporting your Country at all times. And your government only when it deserves it" --Mark Twain

    ____________________
    I say 'Merry Christmas'
    ____________________
    ( "King of the 'Self-Edit'" )
    Irony. Its what's for dinner.
  10. Developer
    cush2push's Avatar
    Member #
    92037
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    682
    Liked
    39 times
    Twitter
    @cush2push
    Phone
    Liquid Nexus v1
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by firefighterguy View Post
    Good points. Thank you.

    Can an average punk like me start doing ROM's without knowledge of coding, etc? My guess is it would be a bit over my head. Lmao!

    ____________________
    "King Of The Self-Edit"

    ____________________
    "Patriotism is supporting your Country at all times. And your government only when it deserves it" --Mark Twain

    ____________________
    I say 'Merry Christmas'
    Yes on the job training is how i got started

    Sent from a fascinating ice cream shop

    Galaxy Nexus
    JellyBean









Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Reboot Option on Power Menu
    By FinchDroid in forum Droid X Roms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 11:50 AM
  2. [HOW TO] Add reboot to power menu
    By droidxchat in forum Droid X Roms
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 07-13-2011, 06:43 PM
  3. How to add Reboot option in power off menu?
    By AngDroid in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 08:15 AM
  4. Modify Power Off Menu
    By mkraffert in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 01:42 AM

Search tags for this page

add reboot in power menu
,
add reboot in power menu mt15i
,
add restart to android menu
,
hoe to add reboot to my android power menu
,
how add restart android
,
how to add reboot android power menu
,

how to add reboot to android power menu

,
how to add reboot to nexus menu
,

how to add reboot to power menu

,
reboot menu android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+