DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 112
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: [HOW-TO] Use Safestrap (backup and flash) (WIP)

  1. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #51
    Quote Originally Posted by cvhovey View Post
    I decided to go ahead and use "Flash Verizon DROID 3 OTA 5.6.890 to phone_psouza4", re-root, and now doing a clean stock non-safe backup. Dunno what else that back-door install of MonsterROM might have done, so this way I'm at a totally clean slate ... and now a successfully completed and verified non-safe backup. Starting to get the hang of Safestrap. And feel better with a stock safety net, too!
    Great! I hope the guide is helping. Let me know if there's something I can improve.

    Sent from my Safestrapped, Rooted, ROM'd XT862
    gadgetrants likes this.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  2. Senior Droid
    eap369's Avatar
    Member #
    1371
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    southern cali
    Posts
    111
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    bionic
    #52
    hi i have an issue going on with safestrap. ive been using it easy for a few days now but i tried switching back to safety mode enabled. the error message comes out saying error while swithching to safe mode while its backing up, i then try restarting my phone and it stays in the bootloop, i also tried uninstaling safestrap and it still does not completely come off. any ideas on how to make it work??
  3. Droid Newbie
    anor013's Avatar
    Member #
    240476
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    XT862
    #53
    Pretty new to all this, but I think I followed your guides correctly. The first time I go to reboot after flashing a rom, it sends me into a bootloop; after waiting the ten seconds of the safestrap prompt I get a black screen and then after a few seconds it restarts and does it again. I've tried a couple roms (hashcode's cm7 and liberty), cleared the data and reflashed a few times, but without success. Any ideas?

    Also, it wouldn't matter than I'm still way back on 5.5.959 right?


    -AN
  4. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #54
    It might be because of the radio. All the new roms are off .890 so you would need to update to that first on the stock side...(non-safe). Which you'd have to uninstall safestrap, unroot, apply the signed VZW OTA to .890. Then re root, install safestrap and go.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  5. Master Droid
    DroidXDoes4G's Avatar
    Member #
    199139
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    952
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DROOOOID 3
    #55
    OK, so am I getting this right?

    1. You backup your stock ROM, or a stable custom ROM that you want to go back to if something went wrong.

    2. You go into Safe Mode to flash ROMS, and if something bad happens, you can go into Non-Safe mode and restore?
    HTC Incredible>Droid2>DroidX>HTC Thunderbolt>Back to Droid X>Droid 3>Prime?

    Sent from either my Droid 3 using DroidForums or my laptop using Chrome.


  6. Master Droid
    DroidXDoes4G's Avatar
    Member #
    199139
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    952
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DROOOOID 3
    #56
    OK I reread the thread and I get it now.
    HTC Incredible>Droid2>DroidX>HTC Thunderbolt>Back to Droid X>Droid 3>Prime?

    Sent from either my Droid 3 using DroidForums or my laptop using Chrome.


  7. Master Droid
    DroidXDoes4G's Avatar
    Member #
    199139
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    952
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DROOOOID 3
    #57
    If my Backup is a gingerbread ROM, can I restore it from an ICS ROM?
    HTC Incredible>Droid2>DroidX>HTC Thunderbolt>Back to Droid X>Droid 3>Prime?

    Sent from either my Droid 3 using DroidForums or my laptop using Chrome.


  8. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #58
    Quote Originally Posted by DroidXDoes4G View Post
    If my Backup is a gingerbread ROM, can I restore it from an ICS ROM?
    Yes. And you can restore a safe backup as well as a non safe. You just have to be in the correct mode to do so.

    Sent from my rooted, ROM'd, and Safestrapped XT862

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Senior Droid
    acoers's Avatar
    Member #
    213652
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    240
    Phone
    Droid 3, Rooted,Steel Droid V3
    #59
    Well i got safestrap installed now and am on steel droid. But i noticed there is a steel droid safe strap version. Should i have that version now?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #60
    As long as its working, there shouldn't be an issue.

    Safestrap works with almost every rom now without the developer making a specific safestrap version.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2013, 08:50 PM
  2. [HACKS] [HOW-TO] Install Safestrap and Create a Backup
    By guidot in forum Droid 3 Hacks
    Replies: 152
    Last Post: 02-20-2013, 08:55 AM
  3. Backup/Restore Question - Titanium Backup - z4root
    By injektilo in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 07:45 AM
  4. Backup assistant not taking password after loading a backup
    By ILikeWaffles in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2010, 03:38 PM
  5. uh-oh..how can i flash my backup?
    By ocholoco in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 01:51 PM

Search tags for this page

how to flash using safestrap
,

how to use safestrap

,
how to use safestrap 3
,
how to use safestrap recovery
,
safestrap
,
safestrap droid 3
,
safestrap galaxy nexus
,
using safestrap
,
where does safestrap save backups
,
where does safestrap store backups
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+