DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Root or Not to Root that is the question

1. Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid3

Root or Not to Root that is the question

I am New to all things android and am trying to learn as much as possible. I am undecided on whether to root or not and would like to ask the community what the ups and downs are. I LOVE tinkering and getting inside
    things to see how they work(regularly void warranties) and making them my own but with Very Limited(NO)funds if I brick my phone I am hosed!!
    I have customized the Droid3 to where I like it so far and if I do root will it all be lost? Is it easy to convert back to stock? Am I treading where I don't belong in trying to own my phone as much as possible?
    If I posted in the wrong place I apologize and if this is a stupid set of questions I am sorry.
    Thank you in advance for anything advice,tips,tricks, etc.
    madness takes its toll
    please have exact change

3. Master Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    I am with you. The main reason I would root would be to get a wireless hotspot but I believe you can do this with PDAnet without rooting so my top reason is gone. My second would be to remove bloatware but I don't think you can do that simply by rooting and there are other things needed that are not available yet. I'd probably be just doing it for tinkering sake which is not a good reason given the risk.
  4. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Droid 3 and Droid X2