DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: OTA / Unroot D3?

  1. Master Droid
    Bullitt6996's Avatar
    Member #
    81503
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Lameville, USA
    Posts
    285
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    D3 Mav 4.0
    #1

    OTA / Unroot D3?

    I was wondering how many, if any, people who have rooted D3's have been unrooted by the soak test? I'm wondering what will happen to my Droid 3 when the update goes out, whether it'll brick me or reset to factory or what? Any thoughts guys?
    Long live the "D"

    D3-Maverick 4.0 witta hotspot hack!
    XOOM-Black ICE
    D2G-Liquid- retired
    D1-Project Elite-retired
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    havocc's Avatar
    Member #
    170011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    droid 2
    #2
    my rooted d2 just fails and re downloads the update over and over again..... not that big of a deal just unroot, update, reroot.... *pushes the "that was easy button*
  4. Master Droid
    Bullitt6996's Avatar
    Member #
    81503
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Lameville, USA
    Posts
    285
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    D3 Mav 4.0
    #3
    Thats what i beleive is going to be needed. How hard was it to unroot our little gadgety friend?

    Sent from my DROID3
    Long live the "D"

    D3-Maverick 4.0 witta hotspot hack!
    XOOM-Black ICE
    D2G-Liquid- retired
    D1-Project Elite-retired
  5. google.me.bruh's Avatar
    Member #
    224183
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    54
    Twitter
    @GOOGLE_ME_BRUH
    Phone
    Rooted Droid 3 "]
    #4
    you can use the 1click root to unroot your phone as well. Just look for it over at rootzwiki
  6. Droid
    btonetbone's Avatar
    Member #
    35762
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    I received the update OTA on Monday, and it successfully updated me while I was still rooted. I did have to restore all of my system apps, though. The one bugger that was left in .bak form after running Psouza's script was fota.apk. I had to manually change it from "fota.apk.bak" to "fota.apk" in Root Explorer, but then it worked perfectly.

    After the update, I no longer had root access. I simply re-rooted, and all was well in the world.
  7. Master Droid
    aggiechase37's Avatar
    Member #
    19345
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    335
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    chasemanhattan3
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #6
    I just did the update that was over on droid-life. It's appears to be the same version number. After I updated I used the version 7 one click from xda, and I can't seem to get root back. Any ideas? I've ran it twice now, and none of my root apps appear to be able to get superuser permissions. I'm panicking! Help!!!
  8. Senior Droid
    acoers's Avatar
    Member #
    213652
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    240
    Phone
    Droid 3, Rooted,Steel Droid V3
    #7
    I use petes motorola tool to reroot after I did the the update and it worked for me. Here the link.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1258599
    Last edited by acoers; 09-27-2011 at 08:30 PM.
  9. Master Droid
    aggiechase37's Avatar
    Member #
    19345
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    335
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    chasemanhattan3
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #8
    Even weirder is that superuser is installed, and can't seem to be uninstalled. I'll try Pete's method here in a little while and hopefully that works. Thanks for the tip. Will report back later. Let us pray!

    Edit: Bloatfreezer doesn't seem to be in the market. I thought maybe uninstalling the root apps and installing them again would fix things, but it didn't. Anyone else NOT seeing bloatfreezer in the market? What kind of madness is this?

    Edit again: ok I'm back in business. That Root method worked. Back in business. Bloatfreezer still not in market for some reason. But I went ahead and bought jrummy's App Manager in the market and froze all the garbage. So I'm a happy camper again!
    Last edited by aggiechase37; 09-27-2011 at 10:00 PM.
  10. Master Droid
    aggiechase37's Avatar
    Member #
    19345
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    335
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    chasemanhattan3
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #9
    Also, after the update, swype is about as broken as I've ever seen it. Hopefully a couple reboots fixes it...

    Anyone else having issues with swype?

    Edit: Still having issues with Swype after the update. Done a couple reboots, still not even close to operational...
    Last edited by aggiechase37; 09-27-2011 at 10:02 PM.
  11. Droid
    DeadDroid3's Avatar
    Member #
    220706
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    44
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #10
    Check language option. It set mine to spanish and I had to set it manually back to english in settings.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Root Unroot Root UnRoot ARRRGGHH!!
    By awsolot in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 10:31 PM
  2. Unroot D1
    By jamba7 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-16-2011, 05:17 AM
  3. Should i unroot
    By David522 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-15-2011, 12:07 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 11:31 AM
  5. How to Unroot 2.1?
    By brandegy in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 06:50 PM

Search tags for this page

android camera is unable to initialize
,

droid 3 camera is unable to initialize

,

droid 3 camera unable to initialize

,

droid 3 front camera unable to initialize

,

droid 3 unroot

,
droid x2 camera is unable to initialize
,
droid x2 camera unable to initialize
,
how to unroot droid 3
,
how to unroot droid 3?
,
manual unroot droid 3
,
motorola droid 3 camera unable to initialize
,
my droid 3 tells me my front camera is unable to initialize
,

unroot droid 3

,
what does camera cannot initialize mean on my droid 3
,
what does camera is unable to initialize mean on a droid x
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+