DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Is anyone teying to root Droid 3?

  1. Droid Newbie
    lzy0702's Avatar
    Member #
    212479
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Is anyone teying to root Droid 3?

    I couldn't find anything useful about it.
    It is said that Photon 4G has been rooted.
    Last edited by lzy0702; 08-17-2011 at 09:57 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Fr33dom's Avatar
    Member #
    183366
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    547
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    GN2 Stock
    #2
    The "phaton 4g" is not the D3--rooting one phone does not necessarily lead directly to rooting the next. I'm not sure where you are looking for information concerning rooting the D3, there are threads all over the place. Perhaps you are asking the question with the expectation that root had been achieved and so are looking past all the posts shamelessly begging for root and the threads that say its close. Your expectation is however unfounded and the fact that you have not found a thread on how to root the D3 does indeed mean it hasn't been rooted.
  4. DF News Team/Mod
    Malvado's Avatar
    Member #
    1437
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,027
    Liked
    65 times
    Twitter
    @juliothestar
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    Premium Member
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr33dom View Post
    The "phaton 4g" is not the D3--rooting one phone does not necessarily lead directly to rooting the next. I'm not sure where you are looking for information concerning rooting the D3, there are threads all over the place. Perhaps you are asking the question with the expectation that root had been achieved and so are looking past all the posts shamelessly begging for root and the threads that say its close. Your expectation is however unfounded and the fact that you have not found a thread on how to root the D3 does indeed mean it hasn't been rooted.
    Come one be a little nicer. Lol...But to answer his question, NO! There are devs like Woody that are hard at work trying to root this bad boy.

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
  5. Droid Newbie
    lzy0702's Avatar
    Member #
    212479
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    I said that because Photon start to sell later than Droid 3, but ...
  6. Droid Ninja
    pyro6128's Avatar
    Member #
    23817
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,525
    Liked
    29 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #5
    The photon is a different phone though, so its irrelevant whether or not it has been rooted. But yea, if you head on over to xda there is a large thread going on where they are trying different methods non stop to try and root this bad boy. The problem is there isnt anything to report since all of the methods keep failing, which is why its all kept in a single thread. I can see how it would be easy to miss though
  7. Droid
    imnotmikal's Avatar
    Member #
    208621
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    49
    Twitter
    TheFoodly
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3, LG Ally
    #6
    Nope, of course not. Why would someone do a silly thing like that?

    StormDroid Co-Webmaster
    Motorola DROID 3 | Debloated
    LG Ally | StormDroid/OverStocked | OC @806Mhz
    Viewsonic gTablet | Stock [For Sale]
    Donate

  8. Master Droid
    666ogre666's Avatar
    Member #
    41110
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    585
    Liked
    9 times
    Twitter
    Gil_Smash
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    The photon is very similar in hardware so its not too crazy too think one might lead to the other.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
    Rom: SteelDroid Nexus 1.0
    Theme: Stock
    Kernel: franco.Kernel Nightly
    Launcher: Nova
  9. Droid
    CLShade's Avatar
    Member #
    80925
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    69
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 3, uh.... stock. (sigh)
    #8
    ^^^^

    Except that it kinda is crazy to think that. At least with the way Android is. :shrug: Its one of the most aggravating things about Android for me.

    From a ~reasonable~ person's point of view it shouldn't be that hard. If you can root one device you should be able to root another with the same OS. But Android devices are each ~way~ more unique under the hood than is reasonable. As it turns out the D3 was purposefully made very difficult to root. The same hardware delivered to a different carrier might have an unlocked bootloader and, therefore, rooted in short order.

    To answer the question: as has been stated already there are people working on rooting it but they are having no luck. Moto has stated that it will release an update that unlocks the bootloader later this year. That would make things MUCH easier... but it isn't certain to happen. If root is a priority for you and the existing hacks don't serve all your needs... you might want to pass on the D3 for now.
  10. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #9
    There are many people working on this.

    An SBF (chinese) was released and was not helpful in rooting this either. If you want to read more about it, there is an extensive thread on XDA regarding people trying different things.

    Again, this will take time with a locked and signed bootloader. Unless Moto comes around, it could be a while.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  11. Droid
    javipoo's Avatar
    Member #
    190705
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    moto droid 1
    #10
    What's up with the moto-promise of unlocking the bootloader?
    They have a good track record of promises, after all, the XOOM did get 4g as promised.
    OG Droid - Liquid Smooth Roms
    Droid2 Liberty Froyo-->Liberty GB-->TBH Triple threat Back to Stock Froyo 2.2
    Sent from my Droid 3-->Waiting for root.

    do you love anime? Sailor moon? Ranma?
    http://smeadows.deviantart.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 280
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 12:43 PM
  2. Droid 2 root keeps failing PLEASE HELP ROOT NOOB HERE!
    By Insidious in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 04:19 PM
  3. Droid 2 root keeps failing PLEASE HELP ROOT NOOB HERE!
    By Insidious in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 01:06 PM
  4. Need some direction with Easy Root, one-click root for DROID 1
    By Mzamora10 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 07:27 PM
  5. Wanting to root. But wheres the one click root for droid to make it easier?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 10:13 PM

Search tags for this page

anybody root droid 3
,
can u root droid 3
,
can you root a droid 3
,
can you root droid 3
,

droid 3 root

,
moto droid 3 root
,

motorola droid 3 root

,

root droid 3

,

root droid3

,
root motorola droid 3
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+