DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: WiFi Questions (Regarding Router)

  1. Droid
    ReyZero's Avatar
    Member #
    104355
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    WiFi Questions (Regarding Router)

    I'm about fed up with the Droid 2's WiFi issues, and the inability to do anything to fix it within itself.

    To anyone NOT having any problems with their WiFi, what router are you using, what type (a,b,g,n) and what security type.

    I'm using a NetGear with WPA-PSK + WPA2-PSK with g & b trying different channels (someone said 6 was weird, whatever) and I'm having no luck.

    I'll get it to work one day after resetting, then after trying to search the android market or the browser it'll say nothing is responding, retry later. I'll check the WiFi and it'll say connected, so I'll turn it off then on again and then it starts to spam on/off/on/off or continue to say it's connected with 0 traffic moving through.

    I'm checking the IP and it's fine, I have my iPhone next to it and it's working like a champ on the WiFi (about the only thing working on it I might add).

    Anyone got some feedback?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    Jeebz88's Avatar
    Member #
    103071
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Droid 2 (Fission 1.2/Nextheme)
    #2
    Mine works fine with my old linksys g router using WEP, but it's hit or miss with the PEAP on my college's network, and I have to manually connect each time when on that network.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  4. Droid
    Polymira's Avatar
    Member #
    7206
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chico, Ca
    Posts
    58
    Twitter
    Polymira
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #3
    I have the same issues on my WRT54GS (running tomato firmware)

    My Droid 1 did the same thing (connected but no data .. not the off on off on thing the D2 does) ... so i'm thinking it's either a moto issue, or Android. But it kills me none the less.
  5. Junior Droid
    HOSTILEkid63's Avatar
    Member #
    26335
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    HTC Incredible 2
    #4
    I am using the linksys WRT54GS with WPA2 w/ AES + TKIP, and am not having any issues with wireless on Moto Droid 1.

    Your problem sounds like a problem with the droid itself, because unless you've got a ton of devices in your home using up IP addresses, it won't have anything to do with the router. Also channel 6 is the default, make sure you stay on either channels 1,6, or 11 otherwise, the Wireless may catch interference from another router, possibly a neighbor. If you're having interference with your neighbor, switch to either channel 1, or 11 and you shouldn't have any more interference.

    I'm not sure how many addresses your router is permitting to your home network either. Do you know if your Netgear router has a limit set as to how many addresses it may give out? Also, if you're getting a 169.254.x.x address, that's an APIPA address, which means your device couldn't locate a DHCP server, which is built in on most home routers.

    Let me know if any of that helps.
  6. Droid
    ReyZero's Avatar
    Member #
    104355
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #5
    No, I do not have the 169.XXX.... address, I learned that the hard way when my iPhone was taught the trick of never getting DHCP from any internet ever. Thus I started doing static IP. My first thought on the wifi problems was to turn the device to a static IP, helped for awhile, then did it's normal thing after a day later.

    There's nothing in the router regarding limits to address, it's just the Droid seems to freak out after a set amount of data passage.

    Phone works fine for awhile, surfing, downloading apps, no problem.
    Then 1 of two things happens
    1) I download an App, it stops at 10%, all internet dies, I have to turn off WiFi and reboot the phone to get any connection at all.
    2) I research on the browser, next page doesn't load, tells me to retry connection, and I have to turn off wifi and reboot the phone.

    It hasn't had a problem since I wrote this thread, but it hasn't been a day yet so we'll see.

    Thanks for all the help so far, it might also be a note that I keep the phone with WiFi on even while it's sleeping. I'm not sure how well the phone handles when it's taken away from the WiFi and then back, but the phone wasn't moved when the problem happened for the X time when I wrote the thread.
  7. Droid
    ReyZero's Avatar
    Member #
    104355
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #6
    Well it did it again. I was downloading 2 updates for my apps' and the first one froze at 89% and now the whole internet died on the phone. It still says I'm connected, and there's no on/off spam, it's just not doing anything. Lovely
  8. Droid
    Xegesis's Avatar
    Member #
    60209
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #7
    I had the same problem. Disable WMM in your router settings.
  9. Droid Ninja
    Redflea's Avatar
    Member #
    5967
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,954
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #8
    My D1 and now D2 would not connect reliably to my home router, no problems w/other routers...have never been able to figure out what is so "special" about my home setup...SMC N router, connects to everything else fine, WPA Personal w/ TKIP-AES, dynamic IP, everything pretty much stock/standard settings, but I can only use wifi for a few minutes...

    It stays connected (or thinks it is) but internet access just stops. Have to turn wifi on/off and then it connects again and works for a little and then stops again.
    Last edited by Redflea; 09-08-2010 at 12:10 PM.
  10. Master Droid
    trook's Avatar
    Member #
    113504
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Posts
    617
    Twitter
    @terryrook
    Phone
    Droid 2- RubiX 2.0.1
    #9

    Question

    I have all the same problems with my d2 on my d-link router. Even my moto backflip was less buggy than this when it came to wifi.
    Hello my name is Terry and I'm a Flash Addict
    Oc'd @ 1391 mhz
  11. Droid
    ReyZero's Avatar
    Member #
    104355
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #10
    After searching around it seems WMM screws up plenty of devices, like Blackberry phones.

    Problem is, can't find it in my Netgear router at all, and although I find patch notes talking about WMM, I can't find it anywhere in any manual. Lovely - Technology is your friend, until it's your enemy...
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi Scan, router not found
    By coggs in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 08:10 AM
  2. New Router and Wifi Provider = no wifi
    By bassman1547 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 09:36 AM
  3. Questions about WiFi Hotspot
    By mparks in forum Droid X Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 04:56 PM
  4. OC and Wifi tether questions
    By kmikey in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 09:50 AM
  5. Droid Wifi causing Verizon Fios router to reboot
    By syntax53 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 08:19 AM

Search tags for this page

android wifi channel width
,

channel width tomato firmware

,
free router for droid2x
,
how to disable wmm vizio
,
how to set up router for droid
,
netgear router wmm
,
netgear router wmm setting
,

tomato channel width

,

tomato firmware channel width

,
tomatousb channel width
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+