DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Freeing up some RAM?

  1. Master Droid
    warped1987's Avatar
    Member #
    179103
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Posts
    410
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #1

    Freeing up some RAM?

    Hi, my names Ricky, and I'm a Droidaholic...

    hhhhiiiiii ricky

    Anyways, I was wondering what I can do to get some of my RAM back.

    (newb(ish) here)

    Currently, in Applications>Running Services list at the bottom it says:

    Other: 143MB in 14 ***Then a little yellow space*** Avail: 82MB+72MB in 14

    Not sure what any of that means, it changes all the time, but I am wanting (hoping) to free up some space for the GB OTA that's coming out real soom, cuz I hear it's over 100MB of RAM and that's looking to set me back

    Any help?

    Thanks
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    silverfang77's Avatar
    Member #
    134412
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    882
    Liked
    42 times
    Twitter
    silverfang1977
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 4
    #2
    The best way to free up RAM is to uninstall apps you don't use.

    Tappin' and talkin' with Tappatalk
    Samsung Galaxy S4 VRUDMI1 with Jelly Bean 4.3
  4. Droid Sensei
    ldopa's Avatar
    Member #
    156616
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,743
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    shunyata31
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    Two word. Fast reboot!

    It's an app from the market, trust me it's not how it sounds and it frees up tons of ram and its not a task killer

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8-Gingercomb Juiced
    Ldopa
  5. Junior Droid
    mattb16teg's Avatar
    Member #
    204986
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #4
    Removing apps will only work for those that are currently running a process or monitoring something that will be using that RAM.
    From my understanding of the Droid OS, it will terminate such processes as needed to keep a sufficient amount of RAM available.


    Why do you think you need to free up memory? Is it just because the colorful display or are you seeing programs running slowly, etc?

    Generally a reboot will clear out some running services and programs that you previously used.
  6. Droid Sensei
    ldopa's Avatar
    Member #
    156616
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,743
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    shunyata31
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #5
    Try the app fast reboot (it reboots all apps and processes, without actually rebooting) just try it. I bet it speeds up your phone.

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8-Gingercomb Juiced
    Ldopa
  7. Master Droid
    warped1987's Avatar
    Member #
    179103
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Posts
    410
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    Well because when I am playing my games, Restaurant Story, Bakery Story, Pets Live, Farm Story, iMobsters, etc I switch from one to the next and my CPU hits 100% so quick, and they start running really slow, I have to go into my task manager and end everything I don't even know how many times a day.

    I've removed a LOT of apps, I just kept the ones I use on a regular basis now. I don't know a lot about RAM and all that but I figured I haven't downloaded that much stuff, and I think my phone has 512MB RAM, so why does it show I have so few MB left?

    Just confused here and would like my phone to run a little smoother when gaming, and want to make sure I have plenty of room for the GB OTA.
  8. Master Droid
    warped1987's Avatar
    Member #
    179103
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Posts
    410
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Or even just being on a website, like this, from my phone for about a minute I will get a CPU message, because all the damn crap in the background is loading up when I don't want it to. Things I don't want to freeze with Bloat Freezer, like gmail and stuff like that. I have my phone un-rooted right now to wait for the GB OTA
  9. Master Droid
    warped1987's Avatar
    Member #
    179103
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Posts
    410
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #8
    ok wow, that Fast Reboot app was amazing, lol. Downloaded it, put it on my home screen, didn't realize the second I opened it it did everything for me, lol, and it said it free'd up like over 100MB of RAM. Thank you dude, now to see how long before that RAM gets used back up, lol

    Do you know how much RAM the D2G comes with?
  10. Droid Sensei
    ldopa's Avatar
    Member #
    156616
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    4,743
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    shunyata31
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #9
    I'm glad you got it. I was gonna give up on ya because i posted twice for you to get it. I use it 4 to 5 times a day (not as much since liberty gb)
    Not sure how much ram the d2g has. My d2 has 512 i believe.

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8-Gingercomb Juiced
    Ldopa
  11. Master Droid
    d4dEf@c@'s Avatar
    Member #
    200046
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    638
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Tweaked Stock Bionic
    #10
    I use AutoKiller Memory manager (not a task killer). it allows you to tweak the internal memory processes and it operates on the fly. it several presets. On my old ally I would have to set it to ultimate to keep it fluent, but i usually run it on strict with my D2. Consistently runs with 80-120 MB free, but can be set to keep more memory avail. Though tying up memory is not actually a bad thing. In android it allows your programs to load quicker and more fluently.
    Veritas vos Liberabit

    K.C. Cole
    Android Ninja

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. freeing up space
    By atomicrm in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 09:19 AM
  2. Freeing up memory
    By Supertom in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 12:43 PM
  3. Killing Apps & Freeing up Memory
    By milimar in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 10:53 AM
  4. Problem Freeing Up Space In /system
    By phaze3131 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 07:14 AM

Search tags for this page

clear ram droid x
,
clear ram on android
,
free up memory on htc thunderbolt
,
how to clear memory on droid x2
,
how to clear memory on htc thunderbolt
,

how to clear ram on android

,
how to clear ram on droid x2
,
how to clear ram on htc thunderbolt
,

how to clear up ram on android

,
how to free up ram on htc thunderbolt
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+