DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Can't restore backups or install roms

  1. Master Droid
    elvis_marmaduke's Avatar
    Member #
    69386
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    402
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Exclamation Can't restore backups or install roms

    Okay so I just got a droid 2 a few days ago (coming from my lovely droid 1) and I installed apex on it as soon as I figured how to bootstrap and all that jazz. I went to try a new rom so I created a backup did a data/cache wipe and tried to install, and from that point on I can't install any rims I download, I get some kind of error saying its a bad zip.

    So I go to restore my backup and all of the sudden the md5 doesn't match? My phone got looped somewhere in the process of trying to create a new backup just to see if I could restore it, so I was forced to go back to stock.

    I rerooted my phone and spent hours last night trying to install any custom rom. I even installed fission rom manager and when that reboots my phone to install the zip it says file doesn't exist, so when I reboot to see what's the problem, it seems the file has disappeared, so I tried to copy the file BEFORE I rebooted so if it happens again I can just use the recovery to install it. The one in the fission folder erases itself, and the other one gives me the same error saying it's a bad zip, which im pretty sure they aren't cuz I've downloaded it over 3g and wifi, on my phone and comp, and used winrar to verify package integrity.

    PLEASE HELP! Thanks ahead of time
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    elvis_marmaduke's Avatar
    Member #
    69386
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    402
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Oh yeah, and after that first ordeal with the restore not working, my titanium backup didn't detect any of the backups that I made just before I tried installing.

    And one other thing I noticed, when I go to do a wipe data/cache it says /dev/something I don't remem er exactly what, isn't mounted or won't mount, not sure if it's part of the same issue or not...
    Last edited by elvis_marmaduke; 03-10-2011 at 09:08 AM.
  4. Master Droid
    louy99's Avatar
    Member #
    156951
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    567
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 version 2.3.2
    #3
    Sbf and start over....that's what I would do.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. Master Droid
    louy99's Avatar
    Member #
    156951
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    567
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 version 2.3.2
    #4
    How did you root your phone?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. Master Droid
    elvis_marmaduke's Avatar
    Member #
    69386
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    402
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    I already did sbf my phone back to normal, that's how I unbricked it... the problem was before and after I fixed it...
    And I used the 123 easy root thing that (DOroot.bat) auto pushes the su and busybox stuff and sets permissions

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. Master Droid
    louy99's Avatar
    Member #
    156951
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    567
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 version 2.3.2
    #6
    Maybe try a different way of rooting. Perhaps that is messing things up

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. Master Droid
    elvis_marmaduke's Avatar
    Member #
    69386
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    402
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Well the strange part is I installed apex just fine, no problems after rooting... I guess I can try rooting another way to see if that fixes it... any suggestions?

    it seems like zips and stuff don't work right, the rom zips I download, I can't open with any of my file managers to look inside. And titanium backup doesn't read my previous backups either

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  9. Master Droid
    elvis_marmaduke's Avatar
    Member #
    69386
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    402
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    And my camera doesn't seem to work now either ugh im gonna try to reinstall everything tonight

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. Master Droid
    louy99's Avatar
    Member #
    156951
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    567
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 version 2.3.2
    #9
    Try z4root is the way a lot or D2 owners use. It worked good for me. Try have you tried liberty rom? Here is a link to z4 from my dropbox
    http://db.tt/8Bf57Js

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  11. Droid Sensei
    nerdslogic's Avatar
    Member #
    139756
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    7 times
    Twitter
    Nerdslogic
    Phone
    Android
    #10
    Follow the links in my sig
    Go to work, send your kids to school, follow fashion, act normal, walk on the pavement, watch t.v., save for your old age, obey the law, don't ask questions, and repeat after me.....I am free.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. SD backups lost after Liberty install
    By Mdwannabe in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-25-2011, 12:34 PM
  2. Cant restore backups
    By jpnestel in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 08:34 PM
  3. Question on ROMs and Nandroid backups
    By FC127 in forum Droid 2 Roms
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 05:56 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 06:07 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 09:24 PM

Search tags for this page

can not open nested zip like

,

can not open the nested zip-like

,

cannot open nested zip like file

,

cannot open the nested zip like file

,
cannot restore rom md5 is missing
,

how to open nested zip file in android

,
md5 file missing restore
,

restore droid backup md5 doesn't. match

,
rom manager can't open zip rom
,
rom manager cant reinstall backup
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+