DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Resetting to factory defaults

  1. Droid Newbie
    somorgannsays's Avatar
    Member #
    141548
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    Resetting to factory defaults

    If I want to delete my gmail account from my Droid2 it tells me "This account is required by some applications. You can only remove it by resetting the phone to factory defaults (which deletes all your personal data). You do that in the Settings application, under Privacy"

    My question is, if I choose to delete the account from the phone and reset to factory defaults, will I lose personal things such as contacts, pictures, videos, etc.?
  2. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #2
    Pictures and videos are stored on your sd card so they will be fine. As for contacts they should be stored by google or backup assistant. You will however lose your apps.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. Droid Newbie
    somorgannsays's Avatar
    Member #
    141548
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    When you say "should be" does that mean it was automatically saved so that if I reset I won't lose them?
  4. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #4
    Well the should be was more for google than backup assistant. I have done several factory data resets and only the most recent one had google restoring my contacts. What you could do is go in to contacts and hit the menu key and then select more and then import/export and export contacts to sd. Now before you get in to it do you have another gmail acct to have tied to your phone? If so try syncing that one and then see if you can remove the first one. I'm not to sure about whether that would work or not but its worth a shot cause its easier than a factory reset.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. Droid
    ebruot's Avatar
    Member #
    41601
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    45
    Phone
    motorola droid2
    #5
    You can't change the default account without the factory reset. Unless you do as the previous post says about exporting your contacts you will lose your google contacts unless all the contacts in your new gmail account are the same as your existing account because when the new gmail account syncs with google it is going to pull the contacts in from that account.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Resetting defaults
    By wyzzerdd in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-24-2010, 09:05 PM
  2. Resetting Milestone to Factory Settings?
    By Kam5lc in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 10:42 AM
  3. Resetting the phone to factory default question!!
    By Orangetruck94 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 10:23 AM
  4. Restore to factory defaults
    By apastuszak in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 07:56 AM
  5. defaults
    By jharris in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 03:27 PM

Search tags for this page

android this account is required by some applications. you c
,
droid eris reset to factory default
,
droid pro reset factory default
,
how to put a droid eris back to factory settings
,
how to set droid 2 back to factory settings
,

how to set droid eris to factory default

,

how to set htc incredible to factory settings

,
manufacturer settings droid incredible 2
,

this account is required by some applications. you can only

,
will restoring to factory defaults erase pictures
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+