DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cant update

  1. Droid
    AceDaPig's Avatar
    Member #
    159930
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    36
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    Cant update

    I tried updating to a new nightly of cmgb because my phone bugged out and started doing horrible things. The update failed and it wouldn't get passed the moto screen, so I used a boot disc for my computer to sbf(I can never get sbf to work) which got me back to froyo. Then I was able to try to use the update again, it failed, used the disc again. Now im at froyo. And can't even use the ota update to get to gingerbread, nor can I download it, name it update.zip and it takes it. It always give me an error. Should I just sbf using that disc again?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #2
    Dont quote me since I have not used it but I am pretty sure the boot disc does not change your radio which may be why the update fails. And I know you said you can never get it to work but I would try SBFing your phone. I just did it to my brother's D2 and was able to roll right into taking the OTA without any issues.
  4. Droid
    AceDaPig's Avatar
    Member #
    159930
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    36
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    I've only gotten an sbf to work once, a long time ago, that's why I use that disc because I read it was just like an sbf for your phone.

    Any tips on getting an actual sbf to work?
  5. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #4
    It does do the same thing minus the radio change. There is a really good guide on this site that has a great step by step. It is for aa Droid 1 but the steps are the same. I will try to find it real quick and link it for you.
    Also you need to make sure you use the correct file. That I can not link you to as per regulations here. If you search for "mydroidworld triple threat" it has the stuff you need. Use the full sbf, not the system only one.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  6. Droid
    AceDaPig's Avatar
    Member #
    159930
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    36
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #5
    I understand the process, but I can never hit the Start button. It never lets me. The phone's connected, I've even tried booting into the bootloader and then trying again. No matter what I try it won't let me hit that damn start button
  7. Droid
    AceDaPig's Avatar
    Member #
    159930
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    36
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #6
    Got an SBF to work,

    Had the blue triangle in the notification bar

    Now i'm unable to program my phone.

    Says to call a 800 number from a landline

    URGENT HELP PLEASE!
  8. Droid
    AceDaPig's Avatar
    Member #
    159930
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    36
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #7
    Rebooted. tried *228 again, it worked this time, 3G just activated. But the SBF I don't think was successful, even though RSD lite said it was.

    I booted right back into FROYO where I was before. All the same data and homescreens.
  9. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #8
    You should be on froyo. That's what you would need to be on to take the ota. And its like you had it before meaning the customizations and stuff you made were in place?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  10. Droid
    AceDaPig's Avatar
    Member #
    159930
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    36
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #9
    It worked, and I mean my messages were still available and my homescreens were at the same positions.

    Also I was able to update to gingerbread.
  11. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #10
    Well at least you were able to get up to gb. Not sure why that stuff was left behind though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [ROM][3/4/11] DarkREVENGE v3.0 Beta- UPDATE: CWR prob fixed! Big update! [EB01]
    By TAPOUT27 in forum Samsung Fascinate Development
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 10:51 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 01:18 PM
  3. Problem with gps after ea28 update and/or google maps update?
    By fordee11 in forum Samsung Fascinate
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 07:35 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 06:25 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 06:24 PM

Search tags for this page

cannot download or update droid 2
,

cant update droid 2

,
download update.zip gingerbread ota pro
,
droid 3 cannot update at this time error
,
fascinate ota gingerbread update zip download
,
google maps update won't download
,
update.zip gingerbread fascinate official ota
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+