DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Switching from one ROM to another

  1. Droid
    topgungoose's Avatar
    Member #
    190057
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Arleta
    Posts
    32
    Twitter
    topgun_goose
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #1

    Switching from one ROM to another

    I hope I am posting this in the right area. If not, my apologies. I was wondering if I would be able to switch from a froyo based ROM to a gingerbread based one simply by going to clockworkMod recovery and restoring the ROM that I want to use
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    lizard's Avatar
    Member #
    133755
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    347
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid2, Rooted, CM7
    #2
    Pretty sure you have to be on gingerbread for a gingerbread based rom to work right.
    Sent from my rooted, CM7 rommed, Droid 2, using Droid Forums app.
  4. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #3
    I haven't installed a GB rom yet but my understanding is if a rom exists for your phone you should be able to flash it. Back up your apps, Back up your current install, wipe cache/data, install new rom, restore apps. If you get messed up go and reinstall the backed up rom.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
  5. Master Droid
    lizard's Avatar
    Member #
    133755
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    347
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid2, Rooted, CM7
    #4
    To install MIUI you need to be coming from CM7. Some roms require wiping when coming from one certain rom but not others. And there are different versions of the same rom. I would post in the thread for the rom you want to install. I guarantee someone there has already done what you want to do.
    Sent from my rooted, CM7 rommed, Droid 2, using Droid Forums app.
  6. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #5
    It depends on which GB rom you are trying to go to. All the roms that use 2nd-init (liquid, MIUI, and CM7) you need to be on the froyo kernel to boot off of so if you are still on a froyo ROM, like you said you are, you can install them normally. If it is a ROM that is based off of and requires you to be on the monster GB leak for the D2 (such as Apex, Squid, or Liberty GB), then you will need to get on the GB leak first.

    Best thing to do is carefully read the OP of the release thread for the ROM you want to install. They normally have instructions for the necessary steps for installation.
  7. Droid
    topgungoose's Avatar
    Member #
    190057
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Arleta
    Posts
    32
    Twitter
    topgun_goose
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #6
    Maybe I didn't explain it right. One of my backups on my sd is a gingerbread based ROM. The other backup that I have on my sd is a froyo based one. Can I enter clockworkMod and jump from one backup to another without having to sbf my droid?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. Master Droid
    simon_lefisch's Avatar
    Member #
    165370
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    388
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    LG-VS980
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by topgungoose View Post
    Maybe I didn't explain it right. One of my backups on my sd is a gingerbread based ROM. The other backup that I have on my sd is a froyo based one. Can I enter clockworkMod and jump from one backup to another without having to sbf my droid?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
    I wouldn't jump back and forth to be on the safe side. Froyo and GB have different radios so you could have probs with phone/data, not to mention the file system itself. You could always dl the tbh stock 2.3.20.zip file and the GB Monster.zip file on your sd card so you can flash between froyo and GB without a computer, then restore your backup for whichever one you're on.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  9. Droid
    topgungoose's Avatar
    Member #
    190057
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Arleta
    Posts
    32
    Twitter
    topgun_goose
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #8
    So kind of like sbfing my phone before doing the backup of my choice?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. Master Droid
    simon_lefisch's Avatar
    Member #
    165370
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    388
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    LG-VS980
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by topgungoose View Post
    So kind of like sbfing my phone before doing the backup of my choice?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
    Yes sir, only not having to use a computer/rsdlite

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  11. Droid
    topgungoose's Avatar
    Member #
    190057
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Arleta
    Posts
    32
    Twitter
    topgun_goose
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #10
    Can u point me in the right direction to download that or where it explains how I put it on my sdcard please?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Maybe Switching to CM7?
    By ccsoccer03 in forum Droid X Roms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-26-2011, 03:24 PM
  2. switching over
    By Derek32 in forum HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 03:35 AM
  3. Switching to a used D1
    By Blayzejlm in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-04-2011, 11:13 PM
  4. what to do when switching from D1 to X
    By ronjr123 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 05:24 PM
  5. Anyone switching to N1?
    By coupon in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 08:10 AM

Search tags for this page

changing from one rom to another android
,

flashing from one rom to another

,
how go from one rom to anotherondroidx
,
how to change from one rom to another
,

how to flash from one rom to another

,

how to switch from one rom to another

,

how to switch from one rom to another android

,
switch from one rom to another
,
switching between roms thunderbolt
,

switching from one rom to another

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+