DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help! installed fission lost all of data including backup assissant

  1. Junior Droid
    spartanboy12's Avatar
    Member #
    155425
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    Exclamation Help! installed fission lost all of data including backup assissant

    Hi,

    I installed the fission rom and of course made a backup before but I cannot find backup assistant anywhere? i tried downloaded a droid 2 system dump that had backup assistant in it but every time i try to install it it just says application not installed. I dont know what to do? I can go back to my nandroid backup but i like this rom I just want my contacts back! gmail didn't sync my contacts before so thats out the window! I also tried Titaniumbackup but for some reason my contacts are not restored.

    Please help me out here this is my first rom I have installed. love it though!
  2. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #2
    Its an aosp rom so it doesn't have backup assistant. If you can't get them from Google I would suggest restoring your backup and exporting them to the SD card.

    tappin and a talkin
  3. Junior Droid
    spartanboy12's Avatar
    Member #
    155425
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    thank you so much I was thinking about that. so let me ask if this is what i should do:

    1. restore nandroid backup

    2. backup using titanium everything

    3. re install fission rom

    4. re install titanium backup

    5. restore with titanium backup
  4. Beta Team
    Tanknspank's Avatar
    Member #
    27138
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,548
    Phone
    Droid 1
    Premium Member
    #4
    That is right, but I would skip out on /system data at all cost, especially since you are going from a blur to a stock rom. Maybe look onto the market for something that can help you out.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    -----------------------------------
    Rom: CyanogenMod 7 Winner00's Nightly #85
    Recovery: ClockworkMod 3.1.0.2
    Kernel: Prime's deprimed_test
    Theme: Stock
    Launcher: ADW EX 1.2.2
    Launcher Theme: Gingerbread
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/ihaztehwingz

    -----------------------------------
  5. Junior Droid
    spartanboy12's Avatar
    Member #
    155425
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #5
    ok thanks, and i think you mean by skip out on the system is do not backup the system in titanium? i just restored so far so good

    I'm backing up as we speak
  6. Beta Team
    Tanknspank's Avatar
    Member #
    27138
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,548
    Phone
    Droid 1
    Premium Member
    #6
    Well, restoring system data in between roms is a no-no, but if it's working fine now then have at it. XD

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    -----------------------------------
    Rom: CyanogenMod 7 Winner00's Nightly #85
    Recovery: ClockworkMod 3.1.0.2
    Kernel: Prime's deprimed_test
    Theme: Stock
    Launcher: ADW EX 1.2.2
    Launcher Theme: Gingerbread
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/ihaztehwingz

    -----------------------------------
  7. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #7
    You missed the most important step. While your back to stock blur open your contacts app and hit menu, and then import/export and then export contacts to SD.

    tappin and a talkin
  8. Junior Droid
    spartanboy12's Avatar
    Member #
    155425
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #8
    i can still do that. so what will i do after i have exported my contacts to my sd and reinstalled fission?
  9. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #9
    Once you have fission all loaded up, you'll open your contacts app and hit menu and then import/export and then choose import from SD. It will scan the SD card and find the file you exported. Then you can just restore em.

    tappin and a talkin
  10. Junior Droid
    spartanboy12's Avatar
    Member #
    155425
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #10
    wow haha thanks a lot guys this is HUGE help! i thought that would be really hard but turns out its pretty easy!

    Fission here I come!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for a backup program that will backup data
    By wmscottmc in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-04-2011, 07:59 PM
  2. Installed Fission - Where did my phone contacts go???/
    By andyliberty in forum Droid 2 Roms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 12:22 AM
  3. UD 5.00 installed and now lost root access!
    By blackhat in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 05:41 PM
  4. Best Backup App that does everything including backup apps?
    By Shadez in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 09:08 AM
  5. Lost my droid, can't remember which locator app I had installed
    By N55_NOLE in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 10:31 PM

Search tags for this page

android rom doesnt have backup assistant

,

backup assisgtant app is not installed

,

backup assistant lost my contacts

,

backup assistant on a aosp rom

,

fission rom backup assistant

,

i lost backup assistant when i downloaded a new rom

,

installed new rom and lost all my data

,

lost all data installing new rom

,

lost backup of stock rom what do i do

,

new rom doesnt have backup assistant

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+