DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Cyanogenmod

1. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    droid 2

Cyanogenmod

I know that this may sound like a silly question, but I've googled it and can't fine an answer. Why is cyanogenmod not available for the droid 2. I've read that the bootloader is locked, but I thought that there was a way around that. Forgive me if I sound silly, but I'm an accountant not a developer.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
    Running the lastest version of fission and loving it.

3. Master Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    It is because of the bootloader. Cyanogen ROM's really need access to the whole phone. We have a way around recovery, called bootstrapping, but the bootloader and kernel is something different which we haven't actually tackled yet, but it is getting close I hear. But we have overclocking and ROMs and custom recovery for D2, which is a big step, but we still need bootloader and kernel, which is the big 2.
  4. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    droid 2
    Thanks that answers my question. Thanks for the quick reply.

5. RS Admin
    Member #
    Liked
    1682 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    Quote Originally Posted by mjones1052 View Post
    It is because of the bootloader. Cyanogen ROM's really need access to the whole phone. We have a way around recovery, called bootstrapping, but the bootloader and kernel is something different which we haven't actually tackled yet, but it is getting close I hear. But we have overclocking and ROMs and custom recovery for D2, which is a big step, but we still need bootloader and kernel, which is the big 2.

THe only way we can get around the bootloader is if moto give us the key...the group that was tackling unlocking the bootloader packed it in.
  6. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here