DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cannot Install an older BusyBox on CM7.1 - No Root?

  1. Junior Droid
    bjy20716's Avatar
    Member #
    109348
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    DROID 1
    #1

    Cannot Install an older BusyBox on CM7.1 - No Root?

    Hello,

    I am trying to install an older busybox on CM7.1 so I can run the V6 Supercharger Script.

    It appears that I do not have root enabled because I keep getting an error in both BusyBox installers from the android market.

    The installer by Jrummy16 says no root access.

    The installer by Stephen says /system/xbin could not be mounted as RW. The Install will fail.

    I have SuperUser installed. The installer by Stephen popups up the Superload Allow box.

    The installer by JRummy16 does not pop up SuperUser.

    How do I make sure I have root access?

    I am using an Original Droid.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    DanDroidX's Avatar
    Member #
    87034
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, The Land of Entrapment
    Posts
    415
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus CDMA, OG Droid
    #2
    go into terminal emulator and type
    su

    That will request root access for the terminal emulator. If you are lacking root access you can download Superuser from XDA or Rom Mananger and flash that in recovery.

    Sync your files online and across computers and your Android with Dropbox. Instant photo uploads and cloud galleries. Share uploaded files with a link or collaborate documents with other Dropbox users. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/BOgwUVW


    I don't have a DX, it's just a name. Made it before the DX existed,oops
    !
  4. Junior Droid
    bjy20716's Avatar
    Member #
    109348
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    DROID 1
    #3
    It appears CM7 locks the /system/xbin folder?

    Can anyone confirm that?
  5. Master Droid
    DanDroidX's Avatar
    Member #
    87034
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, The Land of Entrapment
    Posts
    415
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus CDMA, OG Droid
    #4
    That makes no sense to me. I don't know why your system would be doing that. I have never experienced any issue like you are describing.

    If I were you, I would:
    • wipe data/cache
    • format system and boot (in the partitions menu in CWM) and install CM7 fresh.
    • Install the Rom only and boot into it. There will be no market installed with out the GAPPS so there is no need to log-in.
    • After it boots up properly, install the GAPPS, Kernel and what ever other mods that you wish.
    I have found this to be the most fail-safe method to flash a ROM. I don't know the actual reason that booting the ROM by alone helps, but in my experience of flashing every ROM known to man, this method has shown the best results.
    Although I assume this is not the answer you were looking for, I believe it will solve your problem and help you avoid similar issues in the future.

    Also, if you don't have the newest SU installed you ought to do that also.

    I don't know your level of experience in Android-modding, and I am sorry if this is remedial sounding.
    Last edited by DanDroidX; 10-25-2011 at 08:26 PM. Reason: toe soup with split pees

    Sync your files online and across computers and your Android with Dropbox. Instant photo uploads and cloud galleries. Share uploaded files with a link or collaborate documents with other Dropbox users. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/BOgwUVW


    I don't have a DX, it's just a name. Made it before the DX existed,oops
    !
  6. Junior Droid
    551280jjj's Avatar
    Member #
    308660
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    6
    #5
    Get root checker if it says you dont have it reroot and try again

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 08:24 PM
  2. install busybox...
    By spacemanps in forum Droid Incredible Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 02:09 PM
  3. how do i install busybox?
    By Chris0311 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2010, 11:01 AM
  4. Droid Root helper Install /Busybox Probs
    By maverick45 in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 09:36 AM
  5. Can you install new OC kernals on older ROM's?
    By hellabooya in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 02:49 PM

Search tags for this page

busybox cm7

,

busybox installer no root access

,
busybox on cm7
,
busybox problema root
,
busybox root
,
cannot install busybox android
,

cm7 busybox

,
cyanogenmod busybox
,
no root access busybox
,
system xbin could not be mounted as rw
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+