DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Use SetCPU with CM 7.0.3?

  1. Senior Droid
    Benny's Avatar
    Member #
    33559
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    110
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Use SetCPU with CM 7.0.3?

    Hi,
    So I'm new to Cyanogen mod and I found out that overclocking and underclocking are done in the Cyanogen mod settings. In my opinion, I like setcpu better and was wondering if it's a good idea to use it with CM. If I do use it, will the two conflict? Is there a way of preventing CM settings from controlling the CPU?
    Thanks
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Soulless Droid
    zerosouls's Avatar
    Member #
    67853
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Menzoberranzan
    Posts
    1,100
    Twitter
    zerosouls
    Phone
    Razr
    Premium Member
    #2
    CyanogenMod 7 has built in CPU governor... the only thing you would use SetCPU for would be for profiles, which is actually pretty handy.
    Feel like a geek?: http://gplus.to/GeekPlus
  4. Master Droid
    droidkevlar's Avatar
    Member #
    61270
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    457
    Phone
    r00ted D1
    #3
    I use setcpu and have no issues. I did not set anything up in CM settings. I would recommend only using 1. Not both. So if you use setcpu like I do, you dont need to use that setting in CM.
    Thunderbolt r00ted
    Transformer r00ted
  5. Senior Droid
    Benny's Avatar
    Member #
    33559
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    110
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    I can't disable the setting in CM though...
  6. Soulless Droid
    zerosouls's Avatar
    Member #
    67853
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Menzoberranzan
    Posts
    1,100
    Twitter
    zerosouls
    Phone
    Razr
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by droidkevlar View Post
    I use setcpu and have no issues. I did not set anything up in CM settings. I would recommend only using 1. Not both. So if you use setcpu like I do, you dont need to use that setting in CM.
    Now, I'm not in CM7 at the moment, but I believe the CM CPU governor is always on and there is no way to turn it off... maybe there is an option to turn off CPU scaling in CM7 but to my memory I do not think there is one.
    Feel like a geek?: http://gplus.to/GeekPlus
  7. Soulless Droid
    zerosouls's Avatar
    Member #
    67853
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Menzoberranzan
    Posts
    1,100
    Twitter
    zerosouls
    Phone
    Razr
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Benny View Post
    I can't disable the setting in CM though...
    Right. If you use profiles in SetCPU then it comes in handy. But if you are ONLY using SetCPU to set the speed then I would stick with the default CM scaling options.

    The profiles are pretty handy. I have it set so if the screen is off the CPU scales down to 700mhz to conserve battery. Also have a setting if battery temp goes above 40 degrees Celsius.
    Feel like a geek?: http://gplus.to/GeekPlus
  8. Master Droid
    nlinecomputers's Avatar
    Member #
    58346
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    450
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Benny View Post
    I can't disable the setting in CM though...
    Mine has a check box for "Set on Boot" You need to turn that off. You also need to set the min and max you plan on using. SetCPU will go no higher then what you set here. But you can set it lower here or use profiles in SetCPU to set lower. The settings in the Cynogenmod menues are just the min/max limits.
  9. Master Droid
    droidkevlar's Avatar
    Member #
    61270
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    457
    Phone
    r00ted D1
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Benny View Post
    I can't disable the setting in CM though...
    Quote Originally Posted by zerosouls View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by droidkevlar View Post
    I use setcpu and have no issues. I did not set anything up in CM settings. I would recommend only using 1. Not both. So if you use setcpu like I do, you dont need to use that setting in CM.
    Now, I'm not in CM7 at the moment, but I believe the CM CPU governor is always on and there is no way to turn it off... maybe there is an option to turn off CPU scaling in CM7 but to my memory I do not think there is one.
    There is an option in CM for set on boot. I have have that unchecked. All the settings I have in Setcpu stay after I reboot and CM doesnt take control at all. I have a few profiles like screen off, under 50%, heat over 44 degrees and they all work.
    Thunderbolt r00ted
    Transformer r00ted
  10. Soulless Droid
    zerosouls's Avatar
    Member #
    67853
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Menzoberranzan
    Posts
    1,100
    Twitter
    zerosouls
    Phone
    Razr
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by droidkevlar View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Benny View Post
    I can't disable the setting in CM though...
    Quote Originally Posted by zerosouls View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by droidkevlar View Post
    I use setcpu and have no issues. I did not set anything up in CM settings. I would recommend only using 1. Not both. So if you use setcpu like I do, you dont need to use that setting in CM.
    Now, I'm not in CM7 at the moment, but I believe the CM CPU governor is always on and there is no way to turn it off... maybe there is an option to turn off CPU scaling in CM7 but to my memory I do not think there is one.
    There is an option in CM for set on boot. I have have that unchecked. All the settings I have in Setcpu stay after I reboot and CM doesnt take control at all. I have a few profiles like screen off, under 50%, heat over 44 degrees and they all work.
    Ah right, forgot the set on boot option.
    Feel like a geek?: http://gplus.to/GeekPlus
  11. Master Droid
    droidkevlar's Avatar
    Member #
    61270
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    457
    Phone
    r00ted D1
    #10
    NP. Enjoy CM....to me its what makes owning a D1 still great. And the other dev support for this out dated phone.
    Thunderbolt r00ted
    Transformer r00ted

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. SetCPU
    By ObieNobie in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 06:49 PM
  2. SetCPU bug?
    By bpyazel in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 11:53 AM
  3. SetCPU Help!!!
    By cochraca in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 11:11 AM
  4. SetCPU help
    By Slntagent in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 11:28 PM
  5. SetCPU 1.50 bug?
    By ViciousCircle in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 11:45 PM

Search tags for this page

cyanogen cpu set on boot
,
cyanogen set on boot cpu
,
cyanogen setcpu
,
cyanogenmod 7 cpu settings
,
cyanogenmod cpu governors
,
cyanogenmod set cpu
,
cyanogenmod set on boot
,

cyanogenmod setcpu

,
how to use set cpu
,

how to use setcpu

,

setcpu cyanogenmod

,

setcpu cyanogenmod 7

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+