DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Dropped wifi

  1. Senior Droid
    joshoid's Avatar
    Member #
    146775
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    191
    Twitter
    @J_G_Sanderson
    Phone
    DROID 2 GLOBAL
    #1

    Dropped wifi

    Have been running cyanogen 7 rc4 on d1. For some reason I can log into wifi everywhere but home. I thought it was my internet setup but when I got my d2g I have had no wifi issues. I recently un rooted my d1 and returned it to stock image. I still cannot get wifi to connect. Does anybody have any suggestions? Is it possible my phone is storing old passwords?

    Thanks

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Since you're running a custom ROM I think your post may be better off over here. You may want to search in this area to see if anyone else has that issue.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Junior Droid
    airsoftsoldrecn9's Avatar
    Member #
    199571
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    What protocol and encryption type are you using on your WiFi network (if you are using any)?
  5. Senior Droid
    joshoid's Avatar
    Member #
    146775
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    191
    Twitter
    @J_G_Sanderson
    Phone
    DROID 2 GLOBAL
    #4
    I'm not very wise when it comes to internet security. When I scan from the phone it says "WPA/WPA2 PSK" I know I can connect because it used to work. I can currently connect with my D2G...
  6. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #5
    Josh,

    The normal first step for ROM users is to go into wifi settings and "forget" the home network. Then set it up again. Been so long since I have seen stock, not even sure it is an option, but I would look and try if available.

    Craig
  7. Senior Droid
    joshoid's Avatar
    Member #
    146775
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    191
    Twitter
    @J_G_Sanderson
    Phone
    DROID 2 GLOBAL
    #6
    Thanks for the tip! I completely forgot about that route! I'll give it a whirl and let you know what happens.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  8. Senior Droid
    joshoid's Avatar
    Member #
    146775
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    191
    Twitter
    @J_G_Sanderson
    Phone
    DROID 2 GLOBAL
    #7
    Alright, I found my network and selected to forgot network. The droid rediscovered the network and I re-entered my PW. It went thought the normal steps of connecting but after authenticating, it says disabled, secured WPA/WPA2 PSK.... I have tried and tried and nothing seems to work. I even reset all my home network / interent settings to defaults. It has to be something wrong with the phone...

    Flashed back to unrooted 2.2 from rooted / cm7 rc4. I would like to add that I couldn't connect at home even with cm7.... But I could connect in other wifi hot spots. Doing nothing different at home I can connect my D2G to wifi with no problem....
  9. Senior Droid
    joshoid's Avatar
    Member #
    146775
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    191
    Twitter
    @J_G_Sanderson
    Phone
    DROID 2 GLOBAL
    #8
    Here is my latest update. disable wifi security, the cell connects and I can browse and DL all I want. The second its secured its all over... I just don't get it.
  10. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #9
    Ive had this happen to me several times running various nightlies. For some reason if I wait a few days everything starts working again. I have no idea why. The forget network trick never worked for me. I guess you could try rebooting the router. Who knows?
  11. Junior Droid
    airsoftsoldrecn9's Avatar
    Member #
    199571
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #10
    The original droid roms seem to have trouble with wpa2 especially AES encryption. Try using WPA with TKIP.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Dropped my X!
    By dansamy in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 09:24 AM
  2. 6.1 RC5 has dropped
    By droidkevlar in forum Koush
    Replies: 182
    Last Post: 12-03-2010, 11:39 AM
  3. Just dropped in......
    By Foxfire in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-23-2010, 08:37 PM
  4. Dropped X
    By fishstick600 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 12:55 PM
  5. So... have you dropped it yet?
    By Big Lou in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 09:04 AM

Search tags for this page

android unforget wifi

,
cm mod looses wifi
,
cyanogenmod drops wifi
,
droid 2 global drops wifi
,
droid 3 connect to wifi disabled, wps available
,
how to unforget wifi android
,

unforget wifi android

,

wi-fi network disabled, wps available, secured with wpa/wpa2

,
wpa2 used to work
,

wps available secured with wpa/wpa2 psk

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+