DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Original Kernel Restore

1. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC DINC 2

Original Kernel Restore

Ok, I'm a noob at this in some cases but am learning. Yesterday I flashed a deprimed kernel under CM7 using kernel manager lite on my OG Droid. After doing this I wondered what I would have to do if I needed to restore my original kernel. Like a noob, I didn't make a nandroid backup before doing this. Is this the step I should have taken if I wanted to restore my stock kernel? Or what do I do in that case? Thanks again for the help!

3. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet) ;-)
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Razr Maxx HD
    Look to see if the stock kernel is available. You should be able to flash it the same way you did the new one (after you backup of course). If you aren't experiencing any problems now with the new kernel just make a backup of what you have. Then you can flash whatever you want and still have the backup to fall back on if something gets screwed up or you start into a bootloop. Hope that answers your question. Good luck!

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC DINC 2
    Quote Originally Posted by Droid Firefighter View Post
    Look to see if the stock kernel is available. You should be able to flash it the same way you did the new one (after you backup of course). If you aren't experiencing any problems now with the new kernel just make a backup of what you have. Then you can flash whatever you want and still have the backup to fall back on if something gets screwed up or you start into a bootloop. Hope that answers your question. Good luck!