DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Increase VM Heap Size?

  1. Developer
    jeffv2's Avatar
    Member #
    151962
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,241
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    galaxy nexus
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #11
    It just makes each heap size larger. which sucks for devices like ours with 256mb of ram...

    Sent From My Droid Without Spell Checker
  2. Droid Ninja
    jaycemiskel's Avatar
    Member #
    74156
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,382
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #12
    Ok that's what I thought. So really that wouldn't make the phone have more free memory like the op suggested.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. Developer
    jeffv2's Avatar
    Member #
    151962
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,241
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    galaxy nexus
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #13
    Its worse when you put the heap size up... I get fc's if a app even begins to slow down.

    Sent From My Droid Without Spell Checker
  4. Junior Droid
    1slyez's Avatar
    Member #
    80677
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Moto Droid w/v.2.2
    #14
    well then for whatever reason PE and Liquid both seemed to have significantly more free memory than CM7. They are just not as smooth on my D1.
  5. Developer
    jeffv2's Avatar
    Member #
    151962
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,241
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    galaxy nexus
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #15
    idk i keep my heap size @ 24m because it seems thats whats best. we dont have alot of memory and i think the dx with 512mb has 40m heap sizes
  6. Developer
    WugFresh's Avatar
    Member #
    124122
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    594
    Liked
    33 times
    Twitter
    @wugfresh
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus (CDMA)
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #16
    I have a DX... I think I set mine to 48

    {{ WugFresh }}
    Unlocking, rooting, relocking and unrooting simplified! (and much more!):
    +Nexus Root Toolkit v1.6.0

    ..:: Follow me on twitter @WugFresh::..
  7. Developer
    jeffv2's Avatar
    Member #
    151962
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,241
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    galaxy nexus
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #17
    yeah... we have 256mb of ram and the dx has 512. they have double the ram and double the heap size, i really dont see why people think the bigger the better, im sure thats not the case.

    IMO i would keep it at 24m
  8. Developer
    WugFresh's Avatar
    Member #
    124122
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    594
    Liked
    33 times
    Twitter
    @wugfresh
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus (CDMA)
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #18
    ....
    Edit; silly comment.

    {{ WugFresh }}
    Unlocking, rooting, relocking and unrooting simplified! (and much more!):
    +Nexus Root Toolkit v1.6.0

    ..:: Follow me on twitter @WugFresh::..
  9. Developer
    jeffv2's Avatar
    Member #
    151962
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,241
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    galaxy nexus
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #19
    vm heap size just allows the jvm to have larger heap sizes, as far as multitasking it hurts performance with a device on lower memory like the d1. but its better if you're only running one app... which is never the case.
  10. Junior Droid
    KevonnnAPV's Avatar
    Member #
    96312
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Rooted
    #20
    Try using VM Heap Tool from the market. Its free and works flawlessly.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Compcache RAM Usage and VM Heap Size
    By SteveONCSU in forum Bugless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-13-2011, 02:42 PM
  2. Change dalvik heap size?
    By Benny in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2010, 04:34 PM
  3. Dalvik heap size?
    By Jboxen in forum Droid 2 Roms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 08:18 AM
  4. VM heap size doesnt change??
    By droidkevlar in forum Koush
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 08:24 AM
  5. Increase VM heap
    By destroyerbmx in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 05:18 PM

Search tags for this page

cm7 vm heap size

,
cyanogen vm heap size
,
dalvik cache heap size
,

dalvik heap size

,
dalvik.vm.heap size 512m
,
increase vm heap size android
,
vm heap size
,

vm heap size cm7

,
vm heap size cyanogenmod
,
what is vm heap size cyanogen
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+