DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Problems installing CM7

  1. Droid
    Lastb0isct's Avatar
    Member #
    138284
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    Problems installing CM7

    Hello all,

    I have installed CM7 ~4 times now and it's been awesome for me. I have a titanium backup of everything and want to do a full restore after I get CM7 installed again with the latest update. But I have a problem. I have attempted installing the two latest builds about 4 times each which each time giving me a bootloop @ the Motorola "M" when booting up. It just stays there and never moves on.

    I have followed the steps in the main thread to the T but I keep getting this boot problem after I flash CM7. Is there any specific reason this could be happening? Is there a new step i'm missing or a simple step that i'm forgetting?

    Please help...thank you
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    afrchutch's Avatar
    Member #
    226226
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Lastb0isct View Post
    Hello all,

    I have installed CM7 ~4 times now and it's been awesome for me. I have a titanium backup of everything and want to do a full restore after I get CM7 installed again with the latest update. But I have a problem. I have attempted installing the two latest builds about 4 times each which each time giving me a bootloop @ the Motorola "M" when booting up. It just stays there and never moves on.

    I have followed the steps in the main thread to the T but I keep getting this boot problem after I flash CM7. Is there any specific reason this could be happening? Is there a new step i'm missing or a simple step that i'm forgetting?

    Please help...thank you
    How long has it been sitting on that boot screen before (I'm assuming) you did a battery pull?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  4. Droid
    Lastb0isct's Avatar
    Member #
    138284
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by afrchutch View Post
    How long has it been sitting on that boot screen before (I'm assuming) you did a battery pull?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    I let it sit for 10 minutes once, the rest of the times i'd let it sit for ~5 minutes. Do you think I'm not giving it enough time? I don't ever remember it taking more than 2 minutes with all the other updates I had done before.
  5. Master Droid
    havens1515's Avatar
    Member #
    158481
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    613
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    havens1515
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    That should be more than enough time at the M. Sometimes it'll sit at the CM logo for 5-10 minutes upon initial flash, but usually mine gets past the M within a minute or 2 tops.

    Are you installing the official builds from the CM site, or Rev's unofficial builds from Rom Toolbox or Rootzwiki? If you're doing unofficial, are you installing over the OTA? I'm 99% sure there's a kernel check that would fail if you weren't on the OTA, but just making sure. And if you're doing the official, you need to be on stock Froyo before flashing.
  6. Droid
    Lastb0isct's Avatar
    Member #
    138284
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #5
    The steps I take are sbfing back to stock froyo, then flash the GB OTA, then i root/install CWMod and flash the rootzwiki build. It was working everytime before this but not anymore =(
  7. Master Droid
    havens1515's Avatar
    Member #
    158481
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    613
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    havens1515
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    A couple pieces of just FYI:

    1) There is a newer build in ROM Toolbox than the one on Rootz. If you decide to try that build, use ROM Toolbox to DL it, but then boot into recovery to install it. Last I heard, ROM Toolbox was written to work with CWM 2.5.x, but Idk if the update changed that.
    2) You don't need to sbf, flash the OTA, etc. every time you install a new build. If you are just installing a newer build of the same ROM you can usually just flash cache and dalvik cache in recovery, then flash the new build.

    Couple more questions about your install process... did you wipe data between OTA and CM? Are you doing ANYTHING other than just flashing the ROM in recovery before booting CM? (restoring a back-up, flashing jakesmod or some other zip, etc.)

    EDIT: If you didn't wipe data (or even if you did, you can try it again) you can boot into the stock recovery by holding the 'x' key on the keyboard while powering on. When it gets to the android with the '!' press BOTH volume buttons simultaneously to enter the stock recovery. From there you can wipe data/factory reset. See if that works.
    Last edited by havens1515; 11-01-2011 at 01:12 PM.
  8. Droid
    Lastb0isct's Avatar
    Member #
    138284
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by havens1515 View Post
    A couple pieces of just FYI:

    1) There is a newer build in ROM Toolbox than the one on Rootz. If you decide to try that build, use ROM Toolbox to DL it, but then boot into recovery to install it. Last I heard, ROM Toolbox was written to work with CWM 2.5.x, but Idk if the update changed that.
    2) You don't need to sbf, flash the OTA, etc. every time you install a new build. If you are just installing a newer build of the same ROM you can usually just flash cache and dalvik cache in recovery, then flash the new build.

    Couple more questions about your install process... did you wipe data between OTA and CM? Are you doing ANYTHING other than just flashing the ROM in recovery before booting CM? (restoring a back-up, flashing jakesmod or some other zip, etc.)

    EDIT: If you didn't wipe data (or even if you did, you can try it again) you can boot into the stock recovery by holding the 'x' key on the keyboard while powering on. When it gets to the android with the '!' press BOTH volume buttons simultaneously to enter the stock recovery. From there you can wipe data/factory reset. See if that works.
    I don't have the paid version of ROM Toolbox so i can't download the nightlies through it, right?

    Everytime I have tried to flash the latest build i've just gone into the ROM Toolbox and said "install rom from SD" and has it wipe dalvik cache(only option besides data). And everytime I do that I get stuck on the "M". So I have to start from the beginning, sbf/ota/root/flash. That has worked in the past, but ever since I got stuck on the last one I haven't been able to get a successful CM7 install.

    I have tried it with and without wiping the data btwn OTA & CM. Nothing else is taking place between flashing. I have tried wiping data/factory resetting after and it didn't make a difference.
  9. Master Droid
    havens1515's Avatar
    Member #
    158481
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    613
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    havens1515
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #8
    ROM Toolbox by JRummy16 allows you to download ROMs, ROM Manager by ClockworkMod does not (confusing, I know)

    Don't flash from within ROM Toolbox, just use it to download the ROM. Last I heard, it was built to use recovery Version 2.5.x, and is incompatible with recovery Version 5.x. Idk if what version the new ROM Toolbox uses, but I would not use it to flash anything. Flash straight from recovery.
  10. Droid
    afrchutch's Avatar
    Member #
    226226
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Lastb0isct View Post
    I don't have the paid version of ROM Toolbox so i can't download the nightlies through it, right?

    Everytime I have tried to flash the latest build i've just gone into the ROM Toolbox and said "install rom from SD" and has it wipe dalvik cache(only option besides data). And everytime I do that I get stuck on the "M". So I have to start from the beginning, sbf/ota/root/flash. That has worked in the past, but ever since I got stuck on the last one I haven't been able to get a successful CM7 install.

    I have tried it with and without wiping the data btwn OTA & CM. Nothing else is taking place between flashing. I have tried wiping data/factory resetting after and it didn't make a difference.
    When I put CM7 on my bolt for the first time it did the same thing. I panicked for a few minutes but then forced myself to be patient. After more than 20 minutes later it booted up. I dunno if it would do that again or even if I updated it. But now I'm running bamf. I would let it do its thing for a few more minutes and I'd say once a half hour has gone by (god forbid) then look into it more.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  11. Droid
    Lastb0isct's Avatar
    Member #
    138284
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by havens1515 View Post
    ROM Toolbox by JRummy16 allows you to download ROMs, ROM Manager by ClockworkMod does not (confusing, I know)

    Don't flash from within ROM Toolbox, just use it to download the ROM. Last I heard, it was built to use recovery Version 2.5.x, and is incompatible with recovery Version 5.x. Idk if what version the new ROM Toolbox uses, but I would not use it to flash anything. Flash straight from recovery.
    So from within ROM Toolbox have it reboot into recovery, then go through the steps to flash from that? Thanks for all the quick help you are giving me, i'll probably have to wait until tomorrow or the day after to try this.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Problems Installing Apps
    By dannyro in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2011, 02:00 PM
  2. Problems ever since installing 2.2
    By JTinHB in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-27-2010, 09:35 AM
  3. problems installing 1.1 bb
    By dragont123 in forum Bugless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 09:05 PM
  4. Problems installing
    By Se7enLC in forum cvpcs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-29-2010, 10:03 AM

Search tags for this page

cm7 for droid x2
,
cm7 rom for droid x2
,
cm7 wipe cache
,
cm7 wiping cache
,
cm7+complet+action using
,

droid x2 cm7 download

,

how to install cm7 on droid incredible

,
how to install cm7 on droid x2
,
how to wipe data cm7
,
install cm7 on droid 2
,
install cm7 on droid 3
,
install cm7 using rom toolbox
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+