DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38

Thread: Going from Liberty GB to CM7

  1. Master Droid
    havens1515's Avatar
    Member #
    158481
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    613
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    havens1515
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #11
    It doesn't actually have to be called "update.zip". You can select "Choose zip from SD Card" and choose a zip with any name, so renaming is unnecessary.
  2. Droid
    Mike Lazaga's Avatar
    Member #
    198820
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #12
    Thank you for your reply.
  3. Master Droid
    TheSwaggeR's Avatar
    Member #
    159353
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    744
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2 2.3.20.A955
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by havens1515 View Post
    It doesn't actually have to be called "update.zip". You can select "Choose zip from SD Card" and choose a zip with any name, so renaming is unnecessary.
    The source of info, that I obtained my instructions from, clearly recommended doing it the "update.zip" way the first time flashing to CM7 from another ROM. After that, it's no longer required.

    CM7... it's what James Bond never had.
    Funny how some people complain more than my 2 year old daughter does.
  4. Droid
    ILikeWaffles's Avatar
    Member #
    124030
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Western Mass
    Posts
    62
    Phone
    Droid 2, 3, 4
    #14
    When loading this I got an error something like this...

    blah blah blah
    Installing RADIO
    error (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    I tried it the update.zip way and install from sd card way. Was getting that error no matter what. So I stayed in CMR the whole time thinking of what to do. Then I flashed the monster GB leak and same thing happened.

    I then went back to flashing the CM7 file and still got the error. So I just rebooted and everything seems fine. Radio works fine. Any ideas?
  5. Master Droid
    havens1515's Avatar
    Member #
    158481
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    613
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    havens1515
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by TheSwaggeR View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by havens1515 View Post
    It doesn't actually have to be called "update.zip". You can select "Choose zip from SD Card" and choose a zip with any name, so renaming is unnecessary.
    The source of info, that I obtained my instructions from, clearly recommended doing it the "update.zip" way the first time flashing to CM7 from another ROM. After that, it's no longer required.

    CM7... it's what James Bond never had.
    I have never named my zip file "update.zip" when installing ANY ROM, and I have never had any problems.
  6. Master Droid
    havens1515's Avatar
    Member #
    158481
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    613
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    havens1515
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by ILikeWaffles View Post
    When loading this I got an error something like this...

    blah blah blah
    Installing RADIO
    error (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    I tried it the update.zip way and install from sd card way. Was getting that error no matter what. So I stayed in CMR the whole time thinking of what to do. Then I flashed the monster GB leak and same thing happened.

    I then went back to flashing the CM7 file and still got the error. So I just rebooted and everything seems fine. Radio works fine. Any ideas?
    I've seen other people have this error too, and from what I can tell it doesn't really cause any issues. If you see that you have problems with phone calls or any of the other wireless radios, you may want to wipe and install again though.
  7. Droid Sensei
    droid2drummer's Avatar
    Member #
    188401
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ga...
    Posts
    2,591
    Liked
    50 times
    Phone
    Droid 2 liberty and anything
    #17
    Quote Originally Posted by havens1515 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ILikeWaffles View Post
    When loading this I got an error something like this...

    blah blah blah
    Installing RADIO
    error (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    I tried it the update.zip way and install from sd card way. Was getting that error no matter what. So I stayed in CMR the whole time thinking of what to do. Then I flashed the monster GB leak and same thing happened.

    I then went back to flashing the CM7 file and still got the error. So I just rebooted and everything seems fine. Radio works fine. Any ideas?
    I've seen other people have this error too, and from what I can tell it doesn't really cause any issues. If you see that you have problems with phone calls or any of the other wireless radios, you may want to wipe and install again though.
    I got the error and just installed google apps and rebooted and all was fine. I think that's what's getting some people confused. I was waiting for it because I read people stating it would happen.. but just act like it said install complete and go...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. Junior Droid
    nhugh406's Avatar
    Member #
    186514
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X
    #18
    i have looked and looked and looked. just a basic/simple question (and possibly a stupid one), will this method work on the droid x as well?
  9. Master Droid
    havens1515's Avatar
    Member #
    158481
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    613
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    havens1515
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #19
    You may want to go to the Droid X forums and ask there. Personally, I would advise against these all-in-one zips anyways. I've seen A LOT of people having problems after using them. Simplest way to KNOW you won't have problems:

    1) sbf
    2) re-root
    3) re-bootstrap
    4) wipe data, wipe cache, wipe dalvik cache
    5) install latest nightly
  10. Junior Droid
    nhugh406's Avatar
    Member #
    186514
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X
    #20
    thank you for the link and the advice. guess i'll be trying CM soon!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. From Liberty 2.0.1, Stock, Apex, CM7, etc. (ANY ROM) to Liberty GB
    By Kasey Krehbiel in forum Liberty ROM DX
    Replies: 196
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 06:53 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 09:37 PM
  3. Liberty Flashing Failed - Stuck on Liberty Screen!
    By Hockenz in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 07:15 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2011, 05:34 PM
  5. New Theme for Liberty 1.0! Dark Liberty by AKAlias
    By Akalias01 in forum Droid X Themes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-27-2011, 06:59 PM

Search tags for this page

cm7 from liberty gb
,

cm7 vs liberty

,
cyanogenmod 7 vs liberty
,

cyanogenmod vs liberty

,
d2 cm7 gapps
,
d2-cm7-build7.zip
,
droid 2 cyanogenmod 7 error status 7
,
from liberty to cm7
,
going from liberty gb to cm7
,

install cm7 over liberty

,

liberty gb 1.0

,
liberty gb 1.0 update soon?
,

liberty gb to cm7

,

liberty gb to cm7 droid x

,
liberty to cm7
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+