DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Search button doesn't activate google search

  1. Senior Droid
    Diab210's Avatar
    Member #
    92212
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    35 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Search button doesn't activate google search

    I noticed after running Sapphire for a week that the search button didn't work. After doing a little playing around, I also noticed that google search and google voice apps were not installed on my phone so I reinstalled them from the market and they seem to work fine however neither are bound to the search button on the front screen of my droid. I just did a fresh install (wiped -> insalled sapphire -> installed the gapps file) and still needed to grab search and voice from the market; they still are not tied to the search softkey. Is anyone else having a similar issue and is there a way to fix it or is this just a side affect of running Sapphire?
  2. Junior Droid
    Kinetik's Avatar
    Member #
    66857
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Droid
    #2
    I have this issue on 1.1.4
  3. Droid Ninja
    captdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    83020
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,797
    Liked
    61 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Diab210 View Post
    I noticed after running Sapphire for a week that the search button didn't work. After doing a little playing around, I also noticed that google search and google voice apps were not installed on my phone so I reinstalled them from the market and they seem to work fine however neither are bound to the search button on the front screen of my droid. I just did a fresh install (wiped -> insalled sapphire -> installed the gapps file) and still needed to grab search and voice from the market; they still are not tied to the search softkey. Is anyone else having a similar issue and is there a way to fix it or is this just a side affect of running Sapphire?
    You have to move the google voice search apk to /system/app

    Use root explorer and set permissions same as other apps in this /system/app folder

    There is another way to create a symbolic link so it works but I don't bother with that since I am usually in root explorer moving and cleaning things up anyways Once you move the apk, clear dalvik cache using clockworkmod under advanced menu and reboot.
    Last edited by captdroid; 11-21-2010 at 12:40 PM.
    My first smartphone was a Droid 1. Then I found the Nexus... Galaxy Nexus LTE unlocked & rooted...
    AOKP JB build ROM, IMO JB exp Kernel,
    Root Apps - Titanium Backup, Root Explorer, SetCPU, ROM Toolbox, Rom Mangler/ClockworkMod, CWMR Touch, Lightflow, SD Maid, Nova Launcher
  4. Senior Droid
    Diab210's Avatar
    Member #
    92212
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    35 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    I've never played around with root explorer but it sounds simple enough. I will have to give it a shot when I get home tonight. I'm guessing you would do the same type of thing for google search so it works on short press and google voice so it works on on long press?

    This could be a silly question but if you don't have clockworkmod (using spr recovery) how can you go clearing the davlik cache? Regardless thanks for the help Captdroid!



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. Senior Droid
    maslan's Avatar
    Member #
    37821
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    I have same issue now that i check. Search button on front of phone does nothing now?? There a fix for this for 1.1.1??
  6. Senior Droid
    maslan's Avatar
    Member #
    37821
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    Just looked in Bug Tracker and see this has been reported over 2 months ago and still not fixed?? These guys are normally on top of bugs like this -- maybe they should say why taking so long?
  7. Droid Ninja
    captdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    83020
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,797
    Liked
    61 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Diab210 View Post
    I've never played around with root explorer but it sounds simple enough. I will have to give it a shot when I get home tonight. I'm guessing you would do the same type of thing for google search so it works on short press and google voice so it works on on long press?

    This could be a silly question but if you don't have clockworkmod (using spr recovery) how can you go clearing the davlik cache? Regardless thanks for the help Captdroid!



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    The Google search app you downloaded from the market which needs to be moved from /data/app to /system/app is called GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk or something very close to that name. Here is the other way to accomplish without moving it: google search button is broken

    Any apps can be moved from /data/app to /system/app just keep in mind that when those moved apps get updated from the market it will update a new one to /data/app not /system/app so you will have to move it again.

    Here is another way to clear Dalvik cache: Wipe dalvik cache in Terminal, Andriod.

    Make a backup before tinkering
    My first smartphone was a Droid 1. Then I found the Nexus... Galaxy Nexus LTE unlocked & rooted...
    AOKP JB build ROM, IMO JB exp Kernel,
    Root Apps - Titanium Backup, Root Explorer, SetCPU, ROM Toolbox, Rom Mangler/ClockworkMod, CWMR Touch, Lightflow, SD Maid, Nova Launcher

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Search button doesn't work (but long-press does!) Help =)
    By lifebringer in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2010, 06:06 PM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 10:50 AM
  3. Search button doesn't work
    By dbronstein in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 06:37 AM
  4. Search button doesn't work
    By dbronstein in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 09:00 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 10:02 AM

Search tags for this page

activate google cache
,
android google search button doesn't work
,
android search button doesn't work
,
google search button does not work
,
google search button doesn t work
,

google search button doesn't work

,
google search button doesnt work
,
search button doesn't work
,
search key doesn't work on.incredible
,
why google search button doesn't work
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+