DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Update from 0.7.0 to current--wipe required?

  1. Droid
    Mishael's Avatar
    Member #
    84376
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    40
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Update from 0.7.0 to current--wipe required?

    ok so i have 0.7.0 and i want to update. if i were to wipe would all my app data be kept if i used titanium backup or something like that?

    ALSO ON A SIDE NOTE
    i have SetCpu and i was wondering what happens if i have my frequencies at say...800-1000 mHz as opposed to 125-1000. ive never seen anyone have a high, low setting so i was wondering why that was as well
    Last edited by Mishael; 09-11-2010 at 05:10 PM. Reason: didnt finish
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    pdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    43531
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    2,253
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    #2
    You should absolutely wipe data+cache before installing the newest Sapphire. You are many versions behind. You can definitely use TB to restore your apps if you want.

    Nothing wrong with setting 800/1000 as your default profile if you want.
  4. Droid Ninja
    wingdo's Avatar
    Member #
    38467
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,037
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #3
    Well you can certainly use 800/1000 as your speed settings, but an 800 min speed is going to chew through your battery.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

    Galaxy S4: Stock 4.2.2
    Transformer Infinity TF700: Rooted / CromiX 4.5 (4.2.1)

    D1 -> POS ThunderBolt -> Bionic -> RAZR MAXX -> Galaxy S4
  5. Droid Ninja
    pdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    43531
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    2,253
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by wingdo View Post
    Well you can certainly use 800/1000 as your speed settings, but an 800 min speed is going to chew through your battery.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    It's not as bad as you think; I ran that for a while. As long as you have a good sleep/screen off profile you should still get good batt life.
  6. Theme Developer
    carlz28's Avatar
    Member #
    42280
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    820
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    DROID X
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by pdroid View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wingdo View Post
    Well you can certainly use 800/1000 as your speed settings, but an 800 min speed is going to chew through your battery.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    It's not as bad as you think; I ran that for a while. As long as you have a good sleep/screen off profile you should still get good batt life.
    +1
    Though it could/will depend on what governor is being used as well. OnDemand/Interactive usually works best for general phone usage. Performance if you're watching videos or playing intensive games.

    But like you said, a lower Screen-off profile (maybe min. of 125-250 and max of 550) would keep the battery from being used too fast.
    My name "IS" carl-- z28 is just what I drive.
    But I respond to anything....call me Tom, Richard or Harry.
  7. Droid
    Mishael's Avatar
    Member #
    84376
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    40
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    oh good cause thats what i do. different screen-off.

    another problem! if i backup using titanium backup, and i restore, is app data kept?
  8. Theme Developer
    carlz28's Avatar
    Member #
    42280
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    820
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    DROID X
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Mishael View Post
    oh good cause thats what i do. different screen-off.

    another problem! if i backup using titanium backup, and i restore, is app data kept?
    In most cases, yes.
    However, it's possible that apps may have changed (been updated) dramatically enough since you were first on 0.7.0 that data may be stored/used differently now which could cause data for that app to become corrupt or non-usable/restoreable.
    But if you back up right now, then update to the latest Sapphire, your current apps should restore without any major issues.
    My name "IS" carl-- z28 is just what I drive.
    But I respond to anything....call me Tom, Richard or Harry.
  9. Droid
    Mishael's Avatar
    Member #
    84376
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    40
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    you are my hero

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Will 2.2 update wipe out rooted tether?
    By raindog in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 07:50 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 10:57 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-09-2010, 10:16 PM
  4. Will update.zip from 7.8 bd to 8 wipe system
    By hoing in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 05:55 PM
  5. DROID Newbie. Can't Update or Wipe my new phone
    By robEstyles in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2010, 02:17 PM

Search tags for this page

do i have to wipe data when updating

,

do you have to wipe system before installing sapphire

,

latest droid update phone wiped

,

when updating a rom do you have to wipe?

,

wiping droid before update

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+