DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Home screen issue. Any thoughts???

  1. Droid
    K1K's Avatar
    Member #
    11854
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    St.Louis,MO
    Posts
    66
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #1

    Home screen issue. Any thoughts???

    I have been using Launcher Pro and I really like it. My problem is that when I hit my home button it takes back to my home screen but 9 out of 10 times the screen is blank and it takes 10sec to reload the screen (widgets, shortcuts, etc).
    I tried going back to the standard home in Froyo and it does the same thing. I just reset it as the default home, i did not uninstall Launcher Pro.

    Any ideas??? I had this problem with 2.1 unrooted but not quite as bad.

    other than that I love the sapphire 0.8.4 rom on my droid. running 1.0LV kernel.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    leftbrain99's Avatar
    Member #
    26924
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    Similar experience here. It happens with the app drawer, as well.
  4. Droid Ninja
    pdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    43531
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    2,253
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    #3
    Try playing with the memory settings in Launcher Pro.

    I don't run that launcher - you might get better support in the thread dedicated to it, from its users.
  5. Senior Droid
    leftbrain99's Avatar
    Member #
    26924
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #4
    I should clarify, I'm not using Launcher Pro. I have the same issue with the stock launcher. I think OP said he has it with the stock launcher as well.
  6. Master Droid
    bje1982's Avatar
    Member #
    53481
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    534
    Phone
    Droid hacked
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by K1K View Post
    I have been using Launcher Pro and I really like it. My problem is that when I hit my home button it takes back to my home screen but 9 out of 10 times the screen is blank and it takes 10sec to reload the screen (widgets, shortcuts, etc).
    I tried going back to the standard home in Froyo and it does the same thing. I just reset it as the default home, i did not uninstall Launcher Pro.

    Any ideas??? I had this problem with 2.1 unrooted but not quite as bad.

    other than that I love the sapphire 0.8.4 rom on my droid. running 1.0LV kernel.
    Take the Set cpu widget off and see.. If you dont have that then try the memory settings like already stated.
    Sent from my computer with my keyboard.
  7. Droid Ninja
    pdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    43531
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    2,253
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by leftbrain99 View Post
    I should clarify, I'm not using Launcher Pro. I have the same issue with the stock launcher. I think OP said he has it with the stock launcher as well.
    These problems can be hard to debug. Are you running any task killers or memory managers? Or run one of the freemem scripts from scriptybox?

    Any launcher will get killed from time to time (this is why you get the redraws) when memory is low, but I grant you that this seems excessive.
  8. Senior Droid
    306stang's Avatar
    Member #
    15676
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ATL
    Posts
    129
    Phone
    Bionic
    #7
    this is one reason why i switched from ver 7 to UD. in the few days of week that i ran UD it never did this. i'm going to give it another shot.

    if it starts doing this again i'll check out the setcpu widget.

    anyone else have any luck with this???
  9. Master Droid
    bje1982's Avatar
    Member #
    53481
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    534
    Phone
    Droid hacked
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by 306stang View Post
    this is one reason why i switched from ver 7 to UD. in the few days of week that i ran UD it never did this. i'm going to give it another shot.

    if it starts doing this again i'll check out the setcpu widget.

    anyone else have any luck with this???
    if your running the set cpu widget im almost %100 that thats the problem. Trust me I switched between 10 different roms thinking that was the problem when I was a newbie and finally did process of elimination and found that it was that widget.
    Sent from my computer with my keyboard.
  10. Rescue Squad
    Tallica's Avatar
    Member #
    48266
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Middleboro, MA
    Posts
    3,259
    Liked
    6 times
    Twitter
    Tallica21
    Phone
    GSIII-Rooted
    Premium Member
    #9
    Anyone having redraw issues regardless of launcher should read this:

    Can't take the home screen redraws anymore

    Fixed my issues.

    It's not a widget issue, some people with 2 widgets are having this problem
  11. Master Droid
    gatewayad's Avatar
    Member #
    1144
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    521
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    Just posted this on another of the same threads
    give it a try

    Here is what i have found works really well for me at least... I'm guessing if your not rooted skip steps 1 and 2 and try 3 setup like below

    I have no lag or redraw at all

    1st. REMOVE SetCPU widget!!!
    2nd. Set your memory manager program to aggressive
    3rd. go to LauncherPro preferences
    General settings... keep in memory and enable scrollable widgets checked
    Advanced Settings... memory usage settings...memory preset High ...homescreen caches checked...homescreen cache type compressed last 3 boxes unchecked high quality scrolling unchecked scrolling speed 25

    OH! if this works for you go to the bottom of launcherpro preferences and do a homescreen backup to save them
    Set all opening speeds to 2
    Thunderbolt

    Why Root? - Because I Can




Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 12:05 PM
  2. Thoughts on Home++
    By dirtysanchez in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 10:51 AM
  3. Home Issue
    By Caldrumr in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 04:45 PM
  4. Any way in Home++ to always return to your home screen?
    By DurangoJim in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 10:17 AM
  5. Home screen - add quick calling to your S/O and directions home
    By TheCleaner in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 07:34 AM

Search tags for this page

android launcher 100% cpu

,
android low memory killer launcher
,
bug with pro launcher blank home screen
,
directions for fixing htc rezound screen
,
droid pro black home screen
,
homescreen cache type
,
htc home button not using launcher pro default
,
launcher pro hit home blank screen
,
motorola droid home black screen problems
,

scriptybox using freemem

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+