DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: No temperature Reading?

  1. Master Droid
    wseyller's Avatar
    Member #
    121920
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    736
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #1

    No temperature Reading?

    I have a motorola droid with android 2.2 and kernel 2.6.32-lowV-1.0Ghz Chevyno1@ubuntu-froyo #2

    I and using SetCPU but I have never seen temperature in the widget change from 25C/77F.

    Are there some other requirements need to monitor the temperature correctly.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    Larry_ThaGr81's Avatar
    Member #
    55936
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hesperia
    Posts
    1,031
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Larry_ThaGr81
    Phone
    rooted Droid 1 & Thunderbolt
    #2
    Did you allow SetCPU to automatically detect your phone settings? If so, then download the free version temp monitor and see if you get different readings within this app.
    Simply Stunning rooted OGD
    Sent from the Bolt powered by Thunder on
    SkyRaider Zeus
  4. Master Droid
    wseyller's Avatar
    Member #
    121920
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    736
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Larry_ThaGr81 View Post
    Did you allow SetCPU to automatically detect your phone settings? If so, then download the free version temp monitor and see if you get different readings within this app.

    SetCPU I installed this before I installed the chevy kernal. I don't remember if it asked me anything about automatic detection. But it does show text at the bottom saying "SetCPU 2.0.3 autodetect". There are no settings though for autodetect that I can find anywhere in the app.



    I installed Temp Monitor and it says "Showing system stored data, waiting for real time data"

    It shows the same temperatures I mentioned before for several minutes now.

    It also says "AK8973 temperature sensor, vendor: asahi kasei, version: 1, Type: 7, max range: 115.0
  5. Droid Ninja
    Larry_ThaGr81's Avatar
    Member #
    55936
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hesperia
    Posts
    1,031
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Larry_ThaGr81
    Phone
    rooted Droid 1 & Thunderbolt
    #4
    Press the soft menu key to bring up your option menu at the bottom. Choose device selection and select Autodetect Speeds Recommended. I think this option is done by default but it doesn't hurt to select it anyways.
    Simply Stunning rooted OGD
    Sent from the Bolt powered by Thunder on
    SkyRaider Zeus
  6. Droid Ninja
    Larry_ThaGr81's Avatar
    Member #
    55936
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hesperia
    Posts
    1,031
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Larry_ThaGr81
    Phone
    rooted Droid 1 & Thunderbolt
    #5
    Have you tried a different kernel? Can you provide the link you select to download the kernel?
    Simply Stunning rooted OGD
    Sent from the Bolt powered by Thunder on
    SkyRaider Zeus
  7. Droid Ninja
    Larry_ThaGr81's Avatar
    Member #
    55936
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hesperia
    Posts
    1,031
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Larry_ThaGr81
    Phone
    rooted Droid 1 & Thunderbolt
    #6
    Assuming that you downloaded a kernel that can monitor temps there aren't any other requirements other than to install the kernel.
    Simply Stunning rooted OGD
    Sent from the Bolt powered by Thunder on
    SkyRaider Zeus
  8. Master Droid
    wseyller's Avatar
    Member #
    121920
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    736
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #7
    I did try the autodetect as you mentioned. I did not make any difference. I have not tried another kernel yet, but thinking about it. I just don't know which one to go for yet. I understand overclocking, voltages, fully understand concepts in SetCPU, just have not looked into other kernel yet.

    Link to the post where my kernel came from which is a sticky in this forum section.
    [8-1-2010] New Froyo Kernels - CPU Temp Monitoring is Back!

    From the first post on that thread was a link to the kernels.
    Smoked Energy 1.3 theme for SimplyStunning 4.6
  9. Droid Ninja
    Larry_ThaGr81's Avatar
    Member #
    55936
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hesperia
    Posts
    1,031
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Larry_ThaGr81
    Phone
    rooted Droid 1 & Thunderbolt
    #8
    Try out the kernels from this link, I don't think too much has changed but it could make a difference. These are Chevy's latest kernels, but he hasn't made them a sticky.

    9/23/10 - New Kernels
    Last edited by Larry_ThaGr81; 10-06-2010 at 08:33 AM. Reason: added more info
    Simply Stunning rooted OGD
    Sent from the Bolt powered by Thunder on
    SkyRaider Zeus
  10. Droid Ninja
    Larry_ThaGr81's Avatar
    Member #
    55936
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hesperia
    Posts
    1,031
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    Larry_ThaGr81
    Phone
    rooted Droid 1 & Thunderbolt
    #9
    Be careful of the themes you use, because some theme by themselves can't break kernel functions. If you aren't using the standard theme, make sure the developer of the theme validates its compatibility with SS4.8.
    Simply Stunning rooted OGD
    Sent from the Bolt powered by Thunder on
    SkyRaider Zeus
  11. Master Droid
    wseyller's Avatar
    Member #
    121920
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    736
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #10
    I don't have any theme or custom rom installed. I do use the launcher pro is all. I installed the kernel you linked. After reboot. the temp in the SetCPU widget was about a degree and a half higher. I ran a benchmark for a couple min and afterwards I notice the temp was back at 25C/77F. I can't get it to change. Temp Monitor also still shows the same temperature.

    During a benchmark section I did notice another sensor for the OMAP3 was detected and you could see it's temp change.

    Now the temp sensor we are discussing is for the battery right? Where is the sensor located? It is in the battery? I mean to get an accurate reading on battery temp you would think the sensor it self would have to be inside of the battery. Maybe the battery is somewhat faulty? It is an aftermarket, but I have an oem coming in a day or two to replace it with because I really don't trust it fully.
    Last edited by wseyller; 10-06-2010 at 09:29 AM.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Temperature
    By rjm5151 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-03-2013, 10:27 AM
  2. CPU Temperature on BB v.3?
    By spiceditup in forum Bugless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 06:03 PM
  3. Help with temperature.
    By vtec93 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 71
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 03:49 PM
  4. Battery Temperature App?
    By huskur in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 10:55 AM
  5. temperature
    By QuickSilver98 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 12:41 PM

Search tags for this page

ak8973 temperature sensor

,

asahi kasei corp. ak8973 temperature temperature

,
battery temperature android 77
,
battery temperature for android no temp sensor
,
droid x temperature sensor not working
,
htc incredible temperature sensor
,
incredible 2 temperature sensor
,

temperature droid pro

,

thunderbolt temperature sensor

,
where does verizon get there temp readings from
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+