DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Interesting Problem with SS4.8

  1. Master Droid
    drpaul07's Avatar
    Member #
    94042
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    361
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy SIII
    #1

    Interesting Problem with SS4.8

    So I installed SS4.8 from CM6 without wiping and everything has been working perfectly. And now that i've set up everything the way i like it, I tried to make a nandroid backup before i do anything else. So it starts the backup process and then while its 'dumping system.tar' it gets stuck. So i pulled the battery and tried it again. Same thing: while 'dumping system.tar' it gets stuck in the same spot... ???

    Anyone know a way to fix this? I'm using sprecovery by the way. Would using clockwork maybe make a full backup? I have never used clockwork before. This is kinda weird. I haven't heard of anyone having an issue like this.

    I attempted to backup while typing this, and there has been no progress at all. Its been stuck like this for at least 15 minutes.
    Last edited by drpaul07; 09-24-2010 at 03:28 AM.
    Samsung Galaxy SIII / Stock
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    Mohawk3's Avatar
    Member #
    11427
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    148
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    I was able to make a backup with clockwork. I have not tried SPR yet.
  4. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #3
    spr worked great here
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  5. Beta Team
    dr0idg0d23's Avatar
    Member #
    46085
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    296
    Liked
    10 times
    Twitter
    @dr0idg0d23
    Phone
    Droid Bionic & Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    I would try reinstalling after a data wipe this time. That should fix your problem. 9 times out of 10 with s.s. roms a data wipe is not required but, there is no way of predicting how well that will work from phone to phone. Phones are like snowflakes no two are the same.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    DROID BIONIC
    droidth3ory's KIN3XT v1.0
    GALAXY NEXUS
    droidth3ory's AXIOM v2.3
    NEED HELP???
    email droidgod23@gmail.com
    Twitter: @dr0idg0d23


  6. Master Droid
    drpaul07's Avatar
    Member #
    94042
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    361
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy SIII
    #5
    hmm thanks for the info.

    I tried 3 times last night, and backup got stuck every time (i was trying advanced nandroid backup). i tried again today using the simple nandroid backup option, and it worked. Then i tried the advanced nandroid backup again, and that worked too. Hmmm, i don't know why it didn't want to backup last night. I've never ever had a problem making a backup until then. I don't think i did anything different either. Oh well, weird. Thanks.
    Samsung Galaxy SIII / Stock
  7. Master Droid
    tbone73's Avatar
    Member #
    76865
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    791
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #6
    I just tried installing SS4.8 and got stuck on a boot loop. Restored SS4.7 and I'm trying it again, anyone get this whiling installing 4.8?
  8. Master Droid
    drpaul07's Avatar
    Member #
    94042
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    361
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy SIII
    #7
    well i went from CM6 to SS4.8 w/o wiping and luckily all worked fine.

    SS Android • View topic - SS 4.8 - More Statusbar Options - Music Controls Incl. BT

    On chevy's page, it says if you have issues without a wipe, you install the bkapps.zip to your old rom, then wipe everything, then install the rom, then rstapps. Maybe the LV Chevy 1.0GHz kernel it comes with causes the bootloop. I'm not sure how you'd change the kernel if you get a bootloop immediately after installing the rom though.

    Have you fixed the bootloop yet?
    Samsung Galaxy SIII / Stock
  9. Master Droid
    Phreaker47's Avatar
    Member #
    58110
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    743
    Liked
    20 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #8
    The weird thing is, the rom you have installed should have no effect or bearing on whether SPRecovery should be able to make a backup, since recovery is entirely independent of the Android OS. You may have a physically corrupted area on your card though. I'd try mounting USBMass, then run a chkdsk on it from your PC and see if it finds any errors.
  10. Theme Developer
    yakitori's Avatar
    Member #
    114890
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    DFW Texas
    Posts
    2,591
    Liked
    90 times
    Twitter
    THE_Yakitori
    Phone
    TBolt, D1
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by drpaul07 View Post
    well i went from CM6 to SS4.8 w/o wiping and luckily all worked fine.

    SS Android • View topic - SS 4.8 - More Statusbar Options - Music Controls Incl. BT

    On chevy's page, it says if you have issues without a wipe, you install the bkapps.zip to your old rom, then wipe everything, then install the rom, then rstapps. Maybe the LV Chevy 1.0GHz kernel it comes with causes the bootloop. I'm not sure how you'd change the kernel if you get a bootloop immediately after installing the rom though.

    Have you fixed the bootloop yet?
    What you do is...go to partitions menu (at least in CWR), and select mount usb while still in recovery (this is after you have installed the ROM zip already), then you move the kernel zip file to your SD card, then back out to choose the SD file you want to install...install the kernel after the ROM...then reboot.
  11. Master Droid
    tbone73's Avatar
    Member #
    76865
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    791
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by drpaul07 View Post
    well i went from CM6 to SS4.8 w/o wiping and luckily all worked fine.

    SS Android • View topic - SS 4.8 - More Statusbar Options - Music Controls Incl. BT

    On chevy's page, it says if you have issues without a wipe, you install the bkapps.zip to your old rom, then wipe everything, then install the rom, then rstapps. Maybe the LV Chevy 1.0GHz kernel it comes with causes the bootloop. I'm not sure how you'd change the kernel if you get a bootloop immediately after installing the rom though.

    Have you fixed the bootloop yet?
    OK, it worked this time, I didn't wipe and so far alls well. get back to you all in 30 minutes.
    Thanks
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Interesting problem.
    By Ascendroid in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 08:41 PM
  2. Interesting Android Market Problem. Need assistance.
    By joker2019 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 11:42 PM
  3. This can be interesting
    By Diordna in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2010, 03:43 PM
  4. interesting potential problem
    By Weapondrift in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 04:14 AM
  5. Interesting article the problem with Android Gaming
    By Silverwing in forum Android Games
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 07:04 AM

Search tags for this page

bete ss4.8 data
,
rom kin3xt v1.0 bionic
,
samsung ss4 problem
,
ss-4 8a
,

ss4 forward 8

,
ss4 phone samsung
,
what is ss 4 for android?
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+